I am forever amused when so-called "seasoned" investors encourage my friends to "cut losses" on their S$150,000 land houses in Malaysia and flock back to Singapore HDB for S$500,000.
I still no see mass dumping in his favorite project 1Medini. Maybe all these investors are very stupid. Only he will cut and run but he does not have any unit there, in fact in whole of Malaysia.
I am forever amused when so-called "seasoned" investors encourage my friends to "cut losses" on their S$150,000 land houses in Malaysia and flock back to Singapore HDB for S$500,000.
This is seriously under cutting those owners in distress. It only goes to prove that all these while, the properties there have been very much over hyped by the developers and speculators.I have ready buyers for Puteri Harbour units. Sea or Marina views high floors. Budget is RM 300psf ( open to neg till RM 399psf ).
This is seriously under cutting those owners in distress. It only goes to prove that all these while, the properties there have been very much over hyped by the developers and speculators.
Or he backfired himself.This investor888 bro is either talking tongue in cheek or he is taking advantage.
Many greenfield development actually failed eg korea Songdo business district, saudi king abdullah financial district are some of the many greenfield that failed miserably. The more natural/organic way for a city to develop are all demand driven, people build because there are real demand for it, not some fancy futuristic vision that excite investors and supply far outpace demand. Apparently medini fit all the criteria nicely for a failed greenfield development.
Ghost town or not depend on two factors 1)proximity to other established town 2)buyer holding power i.e. willingness to cut meat. Good thing about medini is that, it is really not that far away to bukit indah or gelang patah by driving distance, second wave of buyers will be there any time provided it is cheap enough. If the psf is between Rm200 to rm300 (i know is cheap but given surrounding lack of amenities, shops etc, the price reflect the real value), i guarantee this area will quickly fill up by people anytime soon....this lead to point 2, however if many sellers not willing to cut meat easily and willing to let it rot, the ghost town will be there for much longer, just like sg sentosa cove (rich ppl buy it outright, empty for years also dont want to sell).
I wish to counter your claim, there are plan in place for the area, you can see it by the landscape, town planning with hospital, themepark etc. Just when come to make it viable and livable, self sustaining town, it fail by execution. Why? You cant build something out from no where and demand a premium price that are even pricing out the local. The only way for the systematic plan to continue on is to 1)wait until those investors cut meat and let willing real users buy at affordable price or 2) RTS to make high income individual to willing to pay at premium and stay there, and able to commute to sg easily...if in future passing ciq is just 15min matters.
When you borrow maximum from bank, how to cut and run?
When the unit is not handed over, how to cut and run?
When the title is not in your name, how to cut and run?
When your resale value is lower than the loan amount, how to cut and run?
Well said!
I also feel RM200-300psf is reasonable given the place is so ulu and lack amenities. At that price point, even I may consider just buying for fun to keep. But do you think present owners will sell at that kind of prices? No way. Those who bought in early 2012 I think paid about RM400psf or slightly more. Then seeing how "hot" the property was, other developers joined in and increased the prices to RM750psf and above. Still got buyers blindly went into the market! Some even paid up to RM900psf! At that kind of crazy prices, how do we expect to see 2nd wave of buyers, or owners slashing their prices down to RM300psf?
That's why I said it's better for buyers who now realize their mistake to dump their properties than be stuck with them next time, ONLY IF they are thinking solely about investment. Those that stubbornly hold on for a few years and see little progress in the area, with oversupply coming up, lack of tenants and future buyers, may eventually choose to default on their bank loans or enter into a foreclosure.
I didn't say there are no plans in Medini. I mentioned there is no systematic planning to develop the place well. If I am an urban planner, I will first ensure first that there are sustainable industries and businesses. I must also make sure there is manpower to run the whole show. Then I will slowly bring in the residential condos to meet the demand for housing. Those greedy IRDA fellas did the opposite way. They saw so many developers interested to buy land and desperate buyers rushing in because they could no longer invest in SG, so they just sold and sold.
As you can see and have stated, even with the hospital already setup, a mall there, legoland there, offices there (although empty), we don't see the REAL demand.
RTS will not pass through Medini. Anyway, RTS itself is not even confirmed. Say say only by the Msian authorities.
why some people suggested dumping and cutting losses? rm 1 mil amounts to 300 k sgd. not enough to buy a small kitchen in beijing and shanghai.
yet can get a decent condo or terrace house and a new car in jb to retire comfortably when one is retrenched earlier in 50s,which is nowadays highly likely for an average wage earner in sg.. at least no need to upgrade skills and work as taxi drivers/ cleaners /security guards or use up cpf for survival...
Can.. why not?
If the loan has not been disbursed, and title deed not given, just give up the property. One has to lose the deposit paid up so far though.
Die lor...I bought PH at RM 1000 psf. Do I regret and realise my mistake? So how? Can help ah?
Nah...I am buying limited edition. Actually I happily wrote my cheque yesterday for the next 15% progress payment.
Why not you check with the developers and banks first and then only give good advice.
Yes, they should bring in the industries and businesses first before diving so aggressively into the residential development. This should had been the norm because those early workers can settle or rent in nearby Horizon Hills, Bukit Indah, Taman Sutera and Taman Perling, which is only about 15 minutes by car. It is indeed greed by the IRDA and those developers, cashing in on the property fever prior 2013.I didn't say there are no plans in Medini. I mentioned there is no systematic planning to develop the place well. If I am an urban planner, I will first ensure first that there are sustainable industries and businesses. I must also make sure there is manpower to run the whole show. Then I will slowly bring in the residential condos to meet the demand for housing. Those greedy IRDA fellas did the opposite way. They saw so many developers interested to buy land and desperate buyers rushing in because they could no longer invest in SG, so they just sold and sold.
Why don't YOU go and check first before implying I didn't?
Yes, they should bring in the industries and businesses first before diving so aggressively into the residential development. This should had been the norm because those early workers can settle or rent in nearby Horizon Hills, Bukit Indah, Taman Sutera and Taman Perling, which is only about 15 minutes by car. It is indeed greed by the IRDA and those developers, cashing in on the property fever prior 2013.
Take our own Jurong Town development in the 70s for example. It had started with building industries before residential. This should be the correct approach.
Anyway, don't forget that there is the Forest City coming up to compete directly with Medini and PH in the near future. I still see no light at the end of the tunnel yet.
Bro, different people got different needs. S$300k is big money to many, man.... That is a few years hard-earned salary for some. Can also see to your kids' education.
I'm only SUGGESTING based on people who have bought Iskandar but are now having cold feet on their investment to dump and cut losses.
If one thinks he or she will kena retrenched at 50s, hate Singapore so much, think it will go down the drain, will end up taxi driver/cleaner/beg in the street, then ok lor... Nothing to say.
Or if you're a millionaire and think S$300k is peanuts to throw, I have nothing to say.
But if you bought strictly to invest with no intention to stay there, then I'm just saying you can CONSIDER cutting losses now. I didn't say it's a must. You have to work out your own finances and intentions.
All I can offer is, if you're the common man in the street, it can be no joke if you can't find rental or interested buyers next time for your property.
That's why many Singaporeans appear lost and forever complaining what should be done right or wrong. They are using their own Singapore standard for everything and cross borders as well. But in the real world, it does not happen that way. Different country do things differently. It does not mean they are right or wrong. It is that they are not used to the ways things are done.