Well,whether sg the nation itself are globally connected or not has nothing to do with their kiasu investors who rush in iskandar. It seem like you are really rich, only losses amouting to millions baru feel pain, which might explain why you cant understand mpan12 kind advise to those who are not so and make a big blunder investing there. Mpan12 advise is for general folks, the rich will have other type of consideration that cant be reason by financial or investment sense. Simple analogy would be, I doesnt mind wasting a loaf of bread each day, the money that wasted really means nothing to me, and i enjoy eating bread when i want to....but such 'luxury' will deem extravagant by really poor ppl.
Why singaporean would even consider buying iskandar? some maybe because they already owned hdb, priced out from private condo...n their salary might make them sufficiently affordable for a condo unit in ph/medini, and they want to invest! Giving away big chunk of monthly income to bank, owning a money losing condo in medini, certainly every dollar counts and they are heavily invested. Either cut loss, and use the money for other better investment choice or lock in your commitment and watch the value drain away more and more, which one more sensible? If can i will cut loss and buy back when i want to live there....or rent if rental is cheap.
If everyone who bought in are using like tekkun, then confirm ghost town.
Thank you. Very well-said. I'm glad you see my point and exactly how I would say it.
To get a good gauge of ghost town, one just needs to go to Medini. Go to Afiniti and 1 Medini Residences condos. That area is a ghost town.
I can imagine what some may argue -- Eh...Medini is still developing leh. Not fair to say it is a ghost town.
Then I will say please consider these facts:
- There are already many establishments there: Legoland, Gleneagles, Pinewood, universities nearby, sports stadium thingy, Medini Mall, some wellness center thingy (dunno what s*** that is though!), and I think some offices and industries, etc etc. So you can't say it's completely new. But why is it still so empty?
- Finding rental or reselling is a big problem for those condo owners
- There are more condos than any businesses
- Lots of empty land, grassland, trees, and you will see projects being delayed (ask yourself WHY???)
- 1 Medini condo was fully sold out and selling like hot cakes a few years ago. Now still so empty. Why?
When more of other condos are ready, and there are still huge plots of land everywhere, and things continue to move slowly or remain standstill, one can do their own deductions.
Maybe there are many people who are rich here. If you have S$10mil, then losing S$300k on a depreciating condo in Iskandar may not be any pain to you. I can understand that. The condo to you is just a plaything. You can easily make back the money. My advice and suggestions are for the common folks though.
Just know what you're doing. Don't put funny thoughts in your minds like, I can be retrenched, so better buy in Iskandar now.
Or never mind, I can use it as a holiday home. Are you sure? You pay S$300k and then only go back once or twice a month? What do you want to do there, anyway? Maybe if you're a retired multi-millionaire, old man nothing to do, ok lor... Go to your condo, look out of your window for hours to look at the Straits water. But if you're not in this sort of position, think again.