• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

remember these places ?

Re: Ancient Play Ground For Sinkies

Wonderland in Kallang, tio bo?

My two favorite childhood playgrounds were Wonderland @ Kallang and New World @ Jalan Besar. New World had three cinemas, Bright (for modern movies), Pacific (for ancient swordmen movies) and State (for Hindi movies since it was on the Serangoon end of New World nearest to Little India). Then there was the pirate cassette supermart in the middle where we bought our Beatles, Eagles etc. tapes for a few bucks.

Wonderland had no cinema, but our favorite was the Tiger Rollercoaster. We'd never go for one round of ride only. We'd chip in money and buy a stack of tickets enough to sit on it for five or six rounds without alighting. Happy already, then we got down and went around to look for makan. The A&W and KFC outside on Mountbatten side were delicious too. Sigh, those were the days, thought they'd never end, but they did end, we grew up and moved on.

Odeon, Odeon Katong, Roxy, Hollywood and Rex Theatres all gone I believe. Maybe also Sin Po Po Bar, lol.

1. i can never forget those good old days where food hawkers were peddling their food in the oden-katong carpark in the evening.
2. i just loved the hokkien fried prawn noodles there.
3. it is sad as it was in the long-lost past!
4. i was just a little kid back then.

9) Boiler room
10) Maxim niteclub
11) Flamingo niteclub
13) Ban Chuan Coffee House
14) Chatter Box
15) Skillet Coffee House
16) La Piza Pizza
17) Copper kettle

1. i can never forget those good old days where food hawkers were peddling their food in the oden-katong carpark in the evening.
2. i just loved the hokkien fried prawn noodles there.
3. it is sad as it was in the long-lost past!
4. i was just a little kid back then.

Katong seems to be the in place it seems in the past.

There was one Bright cinema at the junction of Yio Chu Kang road and Serangoon road.

That kwok hwa right? Current location is the Highland centre building now holding the 717 durian plus some printing firms.

Talking about cinemas, don't forget the one located at Pasir Panjang Rd called Cirros!:) Sheer nostalgia!:D

Hehehe. Think is Telok Blangah Road and it was converted into a church decades ago liaoz.

Warehouse disco, Bedok's Long Beach Restaurant, Fatty Weng at Albert Complex, hawker centre at Toa Payoh bus interchange, Emporium Dept Store, Oriental Dept Store, SAFE Superstore, Yaohan, Daimaru, Tokyu and Sogo.

Fatty was my uncle's favourite. I remember they relocated to Burlington Square but I think they are now gone.

I'm surprised no one remembers Sin Leong restaurant, the place you go for Siamese chicken:) They had 2 branches one at Serangoon Road(opposite Jackson) & one at Macpherson Rd. Back in the old days people who wanted a place to hold gatherings would book space in their place.

Ramseth said:
My two favorite childhood playgrounds were Wonderland @ Kallang and New World @ Jalan Besar. New World had three cinemas, Bright (for modern movies), Pacific (for ancient swordmen movies) and State (for Hindi movies since it was on the Serangoon end of New World nearest to Little India).

Remember the ba kut te at New World and the yu jia kuey just round the corner? How about the wan ton mee which was supposed to be good.?

The Indian Rojak on Waterloo Street, the Wan Ton Mee and Ice Kachang with bees outside National Library and May Ling cafe at Capitol for bookworms to cool down after book hunting.

The Chi Pow Kai (is that how it is spelled) place at Clementi is closed too. Remember Punggol seafood Restaurant?

There were 3 seafood restaurants at punggol jetty. I never know what their signboard names, too young then.

I didn't know the paper wrap chicken is close at Clementi road. Never patronize before.

There were 3 seafood restaurants at punggol jetty. I never know what their signboard names, too young then.

I didn't know the paper wrap chicken is close at Clementi road. Never patronize before.

The Clementi Restaurant recently announced they are calling it quits.

Remember the ba kut te at New World and the yu jia kuey just round the corner? How about the wan ton mee which was supposed to be good.?

That me and childhood buddies heard of but never tried, famous stuff like bak kut teh, fish head curry and mutton soup around New World Area were out of our childhood budget. But wanton mee, we still could afford. The best was actually about two streets away passed New World and Kitchener, around Sam Leong Street area. Sad, no more already. A little further up was the best dimsum steamed chicken rice at Swee Chun, better than any lor mai kai. It wasn't glutinous rice like lor mai kai, it was fragrant white rice with chicken sauced and steamed. Also sad, Swee Chun is still there today but the steamed dimsum chicken rice is also no more.

Jackie Bowl at East Coast Road, beside St. Patrick;s School
Furhter down there was one Ocean Cinema, later converted to Food Court
now also gone.

Ocean Cinema - I must've watched Bruce Lee's Big Boss and Fists of Fury there about a dozen times. Shortly after the movie started screening, me and my buddies would sneak in the Front Stalls and wait a while in the toilets before going into the auditorium to occupy seats still empty.

the wantan mee guy who had his stall just outside the National Library moved briefly to Joo Chiat place...not too far from where the 2 fei fei shops are.

But he closed shop after a while....perhaps too old.

The Indian Rojak on Waterloo Street, the Wan Ton Mee and Ice Kachang with bees outside National Library and May Ling cafe at Capitol for bookworms to cool down after book hunting.

The back stalls of Ocean Cinema had cushion for back rest and cost $1.50 whilst the front stalls were just wooden seats all round. The owner, an elderly chap, used to be tear the ticket stubs before entering the cinema.

It was a food court for a while during the 1980s but is now a condo cum shops complex called Springvale with Haagen Daz and a few other restaurants on ground floor.

A corner kick away at the Soy Eu Tua Coffee Shop (corner of Upp East Coast Road and Jalan Tua Kong) there was a tall hawker that sold the best fried hokkien mee. He stopped for a while and resurfaced later to sell char kway teow (IIRC) as he said it was too tiring having to wake up early to buy the squids and prawns, cooked, shell them and standing behind the stall for many hours. That was before they had all the cheap FW to help them with the menial tasks.

Ocean Cinema - I must've watched Bruce Lee's Big Boss and Fists of Fury there about a dozen times. Shortly after the movie started screening, me and my buddies would sneak in the Front Stalls and wait a while in the toilets before going into the auditorium to occupy seats still empty.

Seems to have many Katong boys here in SBF.:D

Yes. I am a Katong boy as well and I'm sure many Katongites will also remember Tay Ban Guan. Probably one of the first air con supermarkets during the late 1960s / 1970s. There was a coffee house on ground floor where I remember a single scoop of chocolate ice cream served in a glass cup (fat wine glass style) was such a treat for special occasions.

The second floor was an assortment of shops including the first shop when you climbed the stairs was a top shop. I still remember TBG very fondly as some of my best childhood treats were from here. So sad that all of these are no longer places I can bring my kids to:-(

The TBG family never made it rich though i think a few sons became lawyers. The second generation held out for redevelopment but in the end it never amounted to much. One of the about 10 years go bought a small flat in Marine Parade. That stretch of Katong was absolutely memorable.

Yes. I am a Katong boy as well and I'm sure many Katongites will also remember Tay Ban Guan. Probably one of the first air con supermarkets during the late 1960s / 1970s. There was a coffee house on ground floor where I remember a single scoop of chocolate ice cream served in a glass cup (fat wine glass style) was such a treat for special occasions.

The second floor was an assortment of shops including the first shop when you climbed the stairs was a top shop. I still remember TBG very fondly as some of my best childhood treats were from here. So sad that all of these are no longer places I can bring my kids to:-(