• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ram Puneet Tiwary's re-trial begins

limpeh2

Of course lah, LTH. Being white means your shit doesn't stink in asia, you can get away with murder & can fuck young kid's asses with impunity. Asians pull this murder/assault/drug-smuggling shit over in angmoland like arsetralia & they'll throw the keys away after locking you up in a cell with some HIV+ drug-using fag angmo ass-rapist.

Mitterrand_625060a.jpg

"Angmo taukee wat! Angmos all love fucking kids & killing other races big deal meh? Doing that for 400 years now! F-ck you in the ass one-by-one then you know! Chey!"

http://talkback.stomp.com.sg/forums/showthread.php?t=811

Michael McCrea's Sentence too light?

48-year-old Michael McCrea was given the maximum of 10 years for each of the culpable homicide charges - killing his driver, 46-year-old Kho Nai Guan and 29-year-old Chinese national Lan Ya Ming - and another four years for destroying evidence related to the crime.

Totalling 24 years, his jail term is to run consecutively with effect from Thursday.

McCrea pleaded guilty to the charges earlier this week.

Application by his lawyer to have the sentence backdated four years to the time when McCrae was remanded in an Australian prison was thrown out.

McCrea appeared shocked when the judge passed down his sentence. He told his lawyer that he wanted to appeal.

"That is truly a crushing sentence in my view. I am not only shocked but I am also disappointed. I will see my client with regards to his intention to appeal on Monday," said Kelvin Lim, McCrea's lawyer.

I find it hard to believe that McCrea's killings were not pre-meditated. Even though Singapore had to give an undertaking to Australia that McCrea would not face the death penalty - isn't his sentence too light? I think that a life sentence would have been appropriate. What do you think?

Old 01-07-2006, 04:57 PM
bernster
Junior STOMPer

Well, because Singapore is run by people who are not colour blind. Colonial servants, shall we say?

If you are an Asian, you kill, you will be hanged.

If you are a white man, you kill TWO people, you get 10 years each. With good behaviour, and holidays, and others, probably coming out in say 18 years' time.

Same with that doctor Adrian Yeo, whom the police spent so much resources just to force him to bring them some drugs in promise for sex, Yeo, an Asian, was found with 0.16 grams of drugs and termed as a 'habitual drug abuser'... and given what, 5 or 6 years? And stripped of his ability to practice as a doctor and plunging his family into debt.

This white man who was found with 0.34 grams (more than double) in his house.... will he be given 10 - 12 years? (double) Of course not!

Being white has its priviledges in Singapore.

Lee Hsien Tau

Cut the crap! Jury trial cannot kelong mah! Just say so. Why beat about the bush?

TRANSCRIPT OF Q&A SESSION AT THE NEW YORK STATE BAR ASSOCIATION (NYSBA) RULE OF LAW PLENARY SESSION
ON 28 OCTOBER 2009 (WEDNESDAY), 5.15 PM, AT MAXWELL CHAMBERS

Participants:

Mr K Shanmugam / Minister for Law and Second Minister for Home Affairs

NYSBA :-
Mr James Duffy / Chair of Plenary
Mr Michael Gilligan Panellist / Chairman of the International Section of NYSBA
Mr M N Krishnamani Panellist / President of the Supreme Court of India Bar Association
Mr James Silkenat Panellist / World Justice Project

Mr Silkenat:
Let me give you one specific example. I understood you to say that trial by jury was not appropriate, especially during the communist insurgency. I think we could all comfortably agree that there is no longer any real possibility of communist considerations. Would you be willing to revisit the question of the trial by jury?

Minister:
I will give you two answers – one, my personal belief as a lawyer when I was in practice. I look at the complexity of the cases, because I used to handle primarily complex commercial litigation. I personally do not believe in the jury trial system, and I have seen transcripts from the US, I have seen the results of cases. You have to choose the system that works best for you. I have sat back and asked myself – is this really the best way of dealing with cases, rather than appointing a specialist judge, who knows the subject matter inside out? Say in complex securities case, if you get a judge who has been for 25 years practising in that area, is that not better than all these issues of jury selection, and what the colour of their skin is, and who the defendant is? Let’s be frank – these are issues. Do I want to go down that route in Singapore? Personally, I have never thought of that as being an attractive option. And philosophically, that is not the government’s position either.

yourdaddy

cannot check if bat got print? mass spectrometry can detect wiped off stained blood...watch HK police drama lah...

how the bat is being swing can determine his guilt...

why so slow for a retrial? 4 years already...did the Ministry of Foreign affairs or SGP govt. get involved because he's a SAF scholar, to complicate matters?

we'll neber know....

Oh don't worry. Tiwary is not an SAF scholar. He is very much and every inch a farmer like yourself and your son and your grandson. He was nothing but one of the thousands of farmers given the lelong ATA training award by SAF. SAF gives out all these farmer tools for thousands of their farmer-officers in its corp to receive some form of education in the local farmer U or in Australia. So dun worry that he got any 'special' treatment cos he is as much a farmer as you are.

Lee Hsien Tau

Today is World Kindness Day. Some more Friday the 13th!

Even Monky got his sentence postponed....so for Ram Puneet Tiwary?

Home > Breaking News > Singapore > Story

Nov 13, 2009
Monk's sentencing postponed
By Carolyn Quek

THE sentencing of convicted Buddhist monk Ming Yi and aide Raymond Yeung was postponed on Friday to next Saturday.

The adjournment was to give prosecution time to study Ming Yi's mitigation, which was submitted late by his lawyers.

Ming Yi, 47, and Yeung, 34, were found guilty a month ago in a highly-publicised criminal trial. The case concerned an unauthorised $50,000 loan on May 17, 2004 taken from Ren Ci Hospital's coffers.

The former Ren Ci chief executive and Yeung had conspired to make an unauthorised loan of $50,000 on May 17, 2004, and had given false information to the Commissioner of Charities (COC).

Ming Yi was also found guilty of misappropriating $50,000 and of lying to the COC in an oral statement. Both men's lawyers has since appealed against their convictions.

Ming Yi and Yeung face up to seven years in jail for the most serious charge of conspiring to falsify the charity's accounts.

Lee Hsien Tau

Today being World Kindness Day, Friday the 13th some more etc etc, sentencing also postponed for Ram Puneet Tiwary to December 17.

Nov 13, 2009
Crown prosecutor 29 page written submission pushes for life imprisonment
By Sujin Thomas

THE lawyer of convicted killer Ram Puneet Tiwary did little to mitigate his client's position in a New South Wales Supreme Court on Friday morning.

Senior Counsel David Dalton did not make any submissions on sentence, but said that his client 'maintains his innocence'.

Recounting what he had said during the half-hour hearing, Mr Dalton told The Straits Times: 'Mr Tiwary believes that whoever committed the offence deserves the most serious of punishments.'

The hearing was expected to go on for a day.

Tiwary, 30, was convicted on Oct 6 after a 26-day retrial of murdering his two Singaporean Mr Tay Chow Lyang, 26, and Mr Tony Tan Poh Chuan, 27, in the flat they shared on September 15, 2003.

In contrast, Crown prosecutor Mr John Kiely made a 29-page written submission to the court pushing for the maximum sentence for murder, which is life imprisonment.

Tiwary will be sentenced on Dec 17.

Lee Hsien Tau

Dec 17, 2009
Tiwary jailed 48 years

tiwary.jpg

Tiwary was arrested for the double murder in May 2004. -- PHOTO: RICK STEVENS FOR THE STRAITS TIMES

CONVICTED murderer Ram Puneet Tiwary was jailed a total of 48 years in a New South Supreme Court on Thursday for the murders of his two Singaporean flatmates in 2003.

Tiwary, 30, was convicted on Oct 6 of murdering Singaporeans Tay Chow Lyang, 26, and Tony Tan Poh Chuan, 27, in the flat they shared on Sept 15, 2003.

During the hearing in a Sydney court which lasted an hour, Justice Peter Johnson passed a sentence of 25 years' jail for Tay's murder and 30 years' jail - with no parole - for Tan's murder.

He ordered the heftier sentence to commence only in 2012. This means that Tiwary will only be released in 2042.

During the retrial which ended in October, the court heard accounts of what Tiwary told police on the day that Mr Tay and Mr Tan were found murdered in their flat. He said that he had been asleep in his bedroom and woke up when he heard a commotion outside.

He emerged and found both his flatmates dead, covered in blood. Both men had been bludgeoned with a softball bat and stabbed multiple times in the neck. All three had been studying at the University of New South Wales. Tiwary was arrested for the double murder in May 2004.

TeeKee

Tiwary jailed 48 years+30 years...78 years when he come out..

provided he's still alive after that....

not worth swinging that club....

Lee Hsien Tau

Remember what I said about lightning not hitting the same spot twice in a matter of hours or days, or I'd have won Lotto America?

Is Australian Justice so much better or what despite the Jury Trial system they have? They have kangaroos in the outback, but they haven't been allowed into the Courtroom.

In comparison, the sentence by the Singapore Court Bench Trial system of the double murder by Michael McCrea leaves much to be desired....

Home
Singapore News

Ram Tiwary sentenced to maximum of 48 years in jail
By Roger Maynard, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 17 December 2009 1259 hrs

SYDNEY: Singaporean student Ram Tiwary, found guilty of murdering two of his flatmates in Australia, has been sentenced to a maximum of 48 years in jail.

He was given 25 years for the murder of Tay Chow Lyang and 30 years for the death of Tony Tan Poh Chuan. The latter sentence will start from 2012.

With parole and time already served, the earliest Tiwary can expect to be released is 2042.

It was the climax to a murder investigation which began more than six years ago when the bodies of Singaporean students Tony Tan Poh Chuan and Tay Chow Lyang were found in the apartment they shared with Tiwary.

Both young men had been clubbed to death with a baseball bat. The horrific nature of the killings sent shock waves through the nearby University of New South Wales, where many of the students were also Asian.

Initially, there were fears the murders were racially motivated. But eight months later in a surprise breakthrough, police charged their flatmate Tiwary with their deaths.

Then 23, Tiwary was on a scholarship awarded to him by the Singapore Armed Forces. Tiwary protested his innocence, but was found guilty and sentenced to life imprisonment.

However, an appeal court later ordered a re-trial on the grounds that the judge had misdirected the jury.

The second trial, which lasted 26 days, again found Tiwary guilty. On Thursday, he was told he could expect to spend the next 33 years of his life behind bars.

The judge said both murders were violent and savage, which elevated the gravity of the crime. In the case of Tan, the second victim, the judge said it was not a spontaneous attack but rather, an execution to prevent him from giving evidence against the offender.

The prosecution earlier claimed that Tiwary had the "motive, opportunity and capacity" to carry out the murders. The fact that he also owed Tay several thousand dollars in back rent might also have provided a motive.

Tiwary's relatives, who earlier admitted they were still "terribly distraught", were not in court on Thursday. Relatives of the dead men were also not present.

However, the convicted Singaporean is unlikely to let things rest. His defence team would not confirm whether he is likely to appeal, but Tiwary's courtroom demeanour suggested he was unmoved by the length of his sentence. He offered no response before or after the sentence was handed down.

- CNA/yb