• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Panarai PAM422

Nowadays Swiss watches are a misnomer. Many components of ETA and Valjoux movements are from Ah-tiong-land.

What if a Swiss watch was assembled in Switzerland by ah-tiong or ah-neh workers, is it still considered as Swiss watch ?

Yes even the shop that I normally go to the owner who is an old timer told me that many parts in very branded watches are made on china. I was shocked. But he told me the Grand Seiko is still fully made in Japan. I really wonder if one day parts in Grand Seiko will be made in China too.

Let me add, I wonder if aircraft parts of Boeing and Airbus are made in China too.

Yes even the shop that I normally go to the owner who is an old timer told me that many parts in very branded watches are made on china. I was shocked. But he told me the Grand Seiko is still fully made in Japan. I really wonder if one day parts in Grand Seiko will be made in China too.

Let me add, I wonder if aircraft parts of Boeing and Airbus are made in China too.

i think the cheap movements maybe lah.........or buy those brands with in-house movements lor.........

just like Oris and Tissot - last time very affordable but kana bought over only, price go up so much.

Raymond Weill also.. though it is now owned by some Dubai co.

The dead Swiss watch business restored by clever marketing and neo rich Chinese

I've got no idea about Panarai watches at all. Can someone comment about this PAM422 model and how much it cost?

If u r looking at a PAM422, means u are quite a big sized guy cos it's a 47mm case. Similar models to PAM422 is the 372 and 423.

The price range is about 12 to 13k. A word of caution though, Panerai watches are quite addictive, u will love it once you owned it. The best thing about them are the after market straps, there are never ending combination to how you can configure them. The other thing about the 422 is that they nid constant rewinding manually, if you dun wind them, they stop. Panerais are a very historic watches and they looks good whether you are in jeans or smartly dressed.

If you have money to spare, just buy it, you won't regret. And my bet is that you won't stop at just one panerai.

Cheers

Raymond Weill also.. though it is now owned by some Dubai co.

The dead Swiss watch business restored by clever marketing and neo rich Chinese

i think those big fashion groups like LV own a number of these watch companies now.........

If u r looking at a PAM422, means u are quite a big sized guy cos it's a 47mm case. Similar models to PAM422 is the 372 and 423.

The price range is about 12 to 13k. A word of caution though, Panerai watches are quite addictive, u will love it once you owned it. The best thing about them are the after market straps, there are never ending combination to how you can configure them. The other thing about the 422 is that they nid constant rewinding manually, if you dun wind them, they stop. Panerais are a very historic watches and they looks good whether you are in jeans or smartly dressed.

If you have money to spare, just buy it, you won't regret. And my bet is that you won't stop at just one panerai.

Cheers

See post #8 . . . . . . naaaaa I did not buy but got it as a gift . . . . . I still don't really like the brand though . . . . until now still no one could tell me how good this PAM422 is compared to the other models

waaah, got such a gift ah ?

sell it and then buy a stereo system lah..............you'll get far far far far more joy out of it than a glorified watch..........

My $28 Casio watch bought in 1992 stlll going strong, just need to change battery every 2 years

theres nothing good or bad enuf to say abt tis watch. A watch is a watch is a watch
it's differentiated based on its snob value and the functions within it.

to me I like a rolex for work a u-boat for social and a vacheron for the snob value.
I have no idea whether good or bad abt any of them, they all tell time and truth be known, when I cross timezones, its usually a humble casio. So go figure.

enjoy the watch and get a watch winder if you get into this hobby :)

IMHO: Grand seiko is a nice solid watch, but it has doesnt have the value of a rolex and looks are dated too.
Always reminds me of japs boozing up while fingering geishas. dont know why :*:

Dun pray pray hor, Ah Tiong watches also not cheap okay brudder ? See these Tourbillon time-pieces from China.

http://mall.seagullwatches.com/index.php/tourbillon-gold.html

If I got money I go for Springdrive....amazing technology with smooth sweeping hands.

[video=youtube;KbJEjSdU5Xg]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KbJEjSdU5Xg[/video]

I brought mine 6 Years ago ( pam00111 ) . Only 7k plus . Now selling about 12k .

image.jpg

There it is

Panarai is good for causal wear not formal wear .

Thank you commoner. Is this price after discount? Sorry I ask like this because normally in Singapore when I buy watches they will discount from the list price.

Use your passport to buy and can save on GST too ;)

Cheers

The leather straps easy to smell and get dirty .. I already change 2 times . Now I use the rubber straps . Easy to maintain . One leather straps cost about $400+ .