• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Panarai PAM422

another nice and very impressive Seiko is the one people call ''Sumo''.............

If cannot afford or not willing to spend on the real thing then dun buy.....never buy a fake......sorry no other way to put it nicely.

I think Panerai is overrated and overpriced now.

I bought it for fun, cos it looked quite stylish and nice. I'm not a fan of Panerai at all. I own 2 Rolexes (Milgauss and GMT II). I'll never buy or wear a fake Rolex! It just doesn't feel good wearing a fake Rollie. But for Panerai, I don't give a shit!

I dont buy fakies , feel a bit funny.

I've hardly bought watches in sg, now if buyg an expensive watch - anything above S$5k, I buy in duty free, usually at dxb interchange

bros, pls be careful, dont get tiong parts, the quality is very terok.

tis is an expensive hobby, boys toys, nothing better to do one, but its fun la.
some pp go geylang and play with the mei mei's oyster, others buy rolex oyster and sayang it hahaha

I dont buy fakies , feel a bit funny.

I've hardly bought watches in sg, now if buyg an expensive watch - anything above S$5k, I buy in duty free, usually at dxb interchange

bros, pls be careful, dont get tiong parts, the quality is very terok.

tis is an expensive hobby, boys toys, nothing better to do one, but its fun la.
some pp go geylang and play with the mei mei's oyster, others buy rolex oyster and sayang it hahaha

"some pp go geylang and play with the mei mei's oyster, others buy rolex oyster and sayang it haha"

You are right !! When I see mechanical watch .. I get hard on ;)

What about the ones that have oysters come to them?

"some pp go geylang and play with the mei mei's oyster, others buy rolex oyster and sayang it haha"

You are right !! When I see mechanical watch .. I get hard on ;)

why to wear a luxury watch... what makes a luxury watch.... how can a man benefit from wearing a high-end timepiece?, etc..." The answer to all of these related questions is extremely non-obvious and I really had to give it some thought.

Luxury brands toil with this question themselves and equally want you to think about it as well as be ignorant of it. On the one hand they never want someone to purchase something with full cognizance that they are either buying an emotionally related purchase that they don't strictly need, or that it is priced much higher that it is worth as a commodity. At the same time, for you to buy such watches again and again, us consumers need to be in-touch with our inner "splurger" to savor the feelings we get from owning and wearing fine things.
So why do we want or need high-end watches? Thinking about this question made it clear to me .I first want to comment on the culture of luxury , something you either live in or don't understand. The culture of luxury (as I call it) is a collective appreciation and desire of finely made things from brands commonly recognizable for various adjectives including "expensive, successful good taste, classy, high-society, important, etc..." Cultures that value luxury also socially value these personal descriptors in a very real way. Not only that, but to be comfortable socially in some of these cultures you actually need to display these messages on your body (in some form or another) as much as possible.

1)be Taken Seriously

social etiquette often involves looking your best. People judge how smart, tasteful, attractive, and successful you are based on visual indicators. These visual indicators are extremely powerful, and more often than not, people come to conclusions about you before you even open your mouth. To be taken seriously, you must look serious.For example , if you want to impress a girl and her parents, you need to dress up well, comb your hair, shine your shoes, stand up straight, and give her dad a firm handshake. While cheesy sounding, this is almost a total metaphor for how to be taken seriously in business and social situations.Being serious is more than being acceptable. The finishing touch on any man are those individual items above and beyond tied shoelaces that help people come to conclusions about who you are. As for the rest of us, we don't have many opportunities to signal success other than the watch on our wrist. Having something like that on your wrist is a message to people dealing with you that you should be taken seriously. It can backfire of course if your watch exudes wasteful excess or bad taste, but in the end is better than showing up to a business meeting with a polyurethane sports watch with a green tinted LCD screen. I've been told more than once in Europe and Japan a business man is not taken seriously if he is not wearing a mechanical watch.
In the end, being taken seriously is a simple formula being noticed + valuation of worth = degree serious perceived. The watch will help get you noticed, and the watch you are wearing will indicate the value of your worth.

Above I mentioned that to be taken seriously you need to be noticed with a nice watch. The question can then become "what watch?" Us men have precious few accessories we can wear to separate ourselves from each other. I take that back, us men have precious few generally well-viewed upon socially acceptable accessories we can wear to separate ourselves from each other. If you want to be one of those guys who wears a lot of jewelry, unique hats, and face tattoos... go right ahead ;) What we have to differentiate ourselves is wrist real estate. A place where manly men and business men equally can wear something without causing additional questions to be asked. It is this space where we as individuals can communicate our taste, values, etc... This means that the watch we wear communicates a lot about who we are (or what mood we want to give off that day).

If you are a generic person you can wear a generic watch. If you are a unique person you can find a unique watch that fits your personality. You may not want to stick out all the time (which is why the world gave us Rolex Submariners).They say that eyes are a window to one's soul. That may be true, but so are your hands. You may not have noticed it, but hands are extremely communicative when people talk. Either hands are part of elaborate Italian-style gesticulation, or they offer more subtle signs as to how someone is feeling. When communicating with others we almost always notice their hands. Think about it the next few times you are talking to someone. Close to the hands are the wrists, and one one of those wrists could be a watch.

Each time I visit an art museum I think to myself "how wonderful would it be to be surrounded by beautiful art in my home all the time" I also consider how expensive of a proposition that is. Like most people I love art, and little of it I can take with me where I go. A few years ago I started to realize that there was art sitting on my wrist. Not only is a timepiece the quintessential gift but it is the quintessential heirloom. While morbid in its tone, it is sometimes a good idea to consider life from beyond the grave. No matter what your philosophy is on the end of life, we can all agree that people can live on through the memories of those that knew them.
I own 2 timepieces from people I knew that are now deceased. Having these watches makes me think of them. Not just in general way, but in a real and breathing way. They wore these watches for a long time. The watches show signs of use and love, and life. To be honest I wouldn't care if these watches were $50 or $50,000 in value as long as they made me think of these people. The benefit however of passing down a nicer watch is that it is more likely to survive the test of time. You could also argue that it helps maintain a better image of you after you go, but that is up to the person leaving the watch.A watch collection is also a legacy. It doesn't necessarily have to be worth a mint, but leaving your watches to someone you care about is an enduringly positive thought about passing on those values that were important to you, to someone else.

I stop eating " oysters " for very long ;)
Not even your wife? Was referring to the recent "scandals" that plague the island last year.

Nice article by the way. My Submariner going to my son when the time comes. Its also a very British tradition of passing down Rolexes.

I own 2 timepieces from people I knew that are now deceased. Having these watches makes me think of them. Not just in general way, but in a real and breathing way. They wore these watches for a long time. The watches show signs of use and love, and life. To be honest I wouldn't care if these watches were $50 or $50,000 in value as long as they made me think of these people. The benefit however of passing down a nicer watch is that it is more likely to survive the test of time. You could also argue that it helps maintain a better image of you after you go, but that is up to the person leaving the watch.A watch collection is also a legacy. It doesn't necessarily have to be worth a mint, but leaving your watches to someone you care about is an enduringly positive thought about passing on those values that were important to you, to someone else.

Not even your wife? Was referring to the recent "scandals" that plague the island last year.

Nice article by the way. My Submariner going to my son when the time comes. Its also a very British tradition of passing down Rolexes.

Yes bro .. Not even my wife ( she still haven't fully recover from that fateful accident yet ) . By the way ? I don't get u .. What kind of " scandals "?

I'm very sure your son will appreciate that and will remember u for the rest of his life when he check his time on his wrist ... Everynow and then .

Eh, sex for contract scandal? Michael palmer? etc etc?

Yah, that was the plan, "You don't own a Rolex, you are only taking care of it for the next person."

Yes bro .. Not even my wife ( she still haven't fully recover from that fateful accident yet ) . By the way ? I don't get u .. What kind of " scandals "?

I'm very sure your son will appreciate that and will remember u for the rest of his life when he check his time on his wrist ... Everynow and then .

Eh, sex for contract scandal? Michael palmer? etc etc?

Yah, that was the plan, "You don't own a Rolex, you are only taking care of it for the next person."

Hahaha ..u are talking about sex scandals ;) actually indecent proposal are very common in today's world especially if you are " somebody " .

i will get this:

Seiko-ananta-baselword-2010.jpg

the back:

Seiko-ananta-baselword-2010-4-thumb-450x337-6598.jpg

Same same here Kuailan. Sub and Yacht Master for daily "rough use".

I used my Sub every day for rough used, diving, washing cars, go JB, Mersing fishing since 1974.
Today this watch is said to be collector's item! ha ha!! it was cheap back than list price Submariner $979.00
discount was generous 25% off!! today dealers are selling above list price !!

Australian are the most practical people, to them a digital watch $10.00 to $30.00
would satify them, that's why Hour Glass retail watch shop in Sydney
are not doing well ! In SG Hour Glass is doing well! they sell Rolexes above list
like nothing!! Sinkeeporean are stupid Ozzie are smarter?

Nice Ananta Springdrive chrono :)

well, the thing is, it is with leather straps and i dun use leather.. i hope they can get a black metal strap for me.

My current cheaper Seiko is with a black metal strap.

well, the thing is, it is with leather straps and i dun use leather.. i hope they can get a black metal strap for me.

My current cheaper Seiko is with a black metal strap.
This may be what you want. Limited edition Ananta chrono.

6282098626_618bb781e9.jpg

What if is daughter, pass to son in law?.:D:D
If cannot afford to service watch, jialat liao, too for the son. Have to take care of family, pay housing loan, education loan, children, etc and now watch servicing??:D:D
Why emulate the British, gold bar better right. no servicing required. (Chinese tradition??)

What if is daughter, pass to son in law?.:D:D
If cannot afford to service watch, jialat liao, too for the son. Have to take care of family, pay housing loan, education loan, children, etc and now watch servicing??:D:D
Why emulate the British, gold bar better right. no servicing required. (Chinese tradition??)

What if is daughter, pass to son in law?.
Would u give your wife item that your late father have given u ? By the way gold can also be given to son Inlaw by your daughter

"If cannot afford to service watch, jialat liao, too for the son. Have to take care of family, pay housing loan, education loan, children, etc and now watch servicing??"

Come on its just a watch servicing not asking u to service monthly car or apartment ;) by the way you don't service your watch every month ;)

" Why emulate the British, gold bar better right. no servicing required. (Chinese tradition??)"

Do u bring your gold bar around wherever u go ? The reason why ppl chose watch to give is because they can use it everyday and can withstand the test of time . Another reason is , he or she will look at time everyday ... When they checking time they will think of that person .