• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

My struggle as a degree holder. I teared in the doctor’s office...

[h=2]My struggle as a degree holder[/h]
PostDateIcon.png
March 4th, 2013 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions

degreeholder.png
In 2005, I applied to study life sciences at the National University of Singapore, my father vehemently objected. He quoted me a statistic: ‘Every year, university graduate compete for limited places in the job market.’ Against his advice, I went on to be enrolled. He actually wanted me to stop at diploma as he knows that degree holders are more expensive to hire and most employers prefer to hire diplomas. This strained our relationship. In the two years following, we exchanged less than a hundred phrases in conversation.

Some months later, when I graduated, I came to comprehend my father’s concern. It was nearly unheard of for fresh graduate to be unemployed for more than six months. Initially, I wanted to apply to be a teacher or National Parks Board but the jobs were scarce and extremely competitive. Unless you had first class honours, getting a good job was out of the equation.

Beginning in 2009, I struggled through receiving red warning letters from CPF, warning me to repay back my father’s CPF monies that I used to fund my university studies. After months of agonizing, hopeless uncertainty, I accepted a job offer of a SME.

=> While Free Scholarships with Living Expenses thrown in are given to Foreigners without having to serve a single day of NS! And who now turn around to insult Sporeans!

It offered very limited growth potential as the work involved selling cloud computing courses. The boss was an Indian male, very controlling, very tyrannical and very egomaniacal. He hired 10 of us but half of us were Singaporeans while the other 5 were Pinoys.

Obviously, most of us didn’t really like him but had to pretend to get along. Even though the company was a few years old, the turnover rate was high. The longest serving employee was only 1 year. The rest were asked to resign for failing to sell and hit the quota.

Much of the time, I was doing cold calls and it was really crazy to be heard cold-calling people. My most painful experience involved shopping cloud computing courses at more than thirty companies, and being met with harsh rejection each time.

Though cloud computing was popular, nobody wanted to even learn more as it meant that their work was piled up. Our boss definitely preferred the Pinoys who were more hardworking and willing to stay back late. He had this nasty habit of staying until 9pm so many of us had to pretend to act busy until he left. Even if we were to go on medical leave, he sometimes would force us to come back to work. Having maternity or child care leave was a no-no. What a temper he had. Due to his ego, he would scream and yell at us if he couldn’t meet his quota.

That year, I turned 30. There’s an old Chinese saying: ‘At 30, one stands firm.’ Yet, I couldn’t even support myself. What could I do? Keep waiting, or give up finding my dream job? My mother gave me invaluable support.

My mother went back behind my back to pray at Kwan Im Thong Temple, praying to whatever Gods To appease my own feelings of guilt, I took on all housework – cooking, cleaning. Initially, I was livid as she had osteoarthritis and to travel all the way to Bugis to pray, it made my heart break.
Every evening after preparing dinner, I would sit and try to submit at least 10 job applications to get a job.

This kind of life felt rather undignified for a man. At one point, my father gave my mother a sum of money, intended as a way to pay off the CPF which was sending me the final last warning letter.

When I found out about this exchange, I stayed up several nights and finally decided: This dream of mine is not meant to be. I must face reality.
The next morning, I tendered my resignation. It was only meant to be. I was unable to hit the quota after a few months and I was unable to withstand the constant harping from the boss.

I remember that I went to International Plaza to see a doctor to get some medication to relieve the stress that I had endured. I teared in the doctor’s office. After getting out, when the admin executive saw that I had a referral letter to see a psychiatrist, she said, “Take Care”. She was a Pinoy. How ironic. If only her job was mine but I understood that Parkway Shenton only hires Pinoys.

I can never forget that day that the humiliation I felt will paid back to the “powers that be” come GE 2016.
Cheng Juan

Phillip Yeo once said, life science can only wash test tubes. :o

I can emphasise. I went to 3 clients place today and guess what, 70% of administrative staffs are from Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines. What the hell is going on?

The hoardes of SG PMETs forced into becoming cab drivers, property and insurance agents help explain the vacancies generated for the 70% FTrash?

Been going on for so many years leow.

How come Sinkies now then realised?

Btw my son applied for a job with a local co. HR manager was a pinoy.:rolleyes:

Only when one finally stops to blame others for their problems.

One would finally realized the real cause of their problems.

There is no mention of what class of honors he graduated with.
You can graduate with merit only, or 3rd class honors. And that would really be useless compared to a diploma.

Neither did he mention what happened during university life - did he work hard and slog his life away for a good 2nd uppers, notwithstanding a 1st class honors?

Lastly, he did not mention when he applied for a job, what was his asking salary? $2.5k? $3k? Or $4k?

You can't have the mentality that you are entitled to a job upon graduation from university, if you never did put in any hard work at all for that degree.

So please, shed a little more light onto this story. If the guy did slog his university life away, earned a 2nd uppers, applied for a job in 2009 with $2.5k in mind, still got rejected after 6 months, then yes I will join him to protest against the government's FT policy.

But reading his story again, he mentioned he started his degree in 2005 (assuming normal intake in June/July), and the loan repayment letters came in "beginning of 2009"? He should have graduated only in 2009 June/July if he took an honors degree, and we all know the loan repayment letters come only upon graduation, never before nor during your degree course.

If he took just a 3-years B.Sc. course, then of course he would've just wasted his time and fucked his own life up. That would deserve no sympathy from anyone.

You want to know my story?
Immediately ROD, I apply for 3 jobs, got 2 interviews on the same day, one in the morning (nearest to my house) and other in the afternoon.

I attend the morning interview and I got hired on the spot and the local boss told me to report for work the next day for medical check-up.

NOW? Asked you to go back and wait long long.

Those were the days! It will never ever happened again.

Been going on for so many years leow.

How come Sinkies now then realised?

Btw my son applied for a job with a local co. HR manager was a pinoy.:rolleyes:

Young sinkies born after 1980 will always be labelled "the lost generation" after failed economic and unfair immigration policies robbed them of opportunities. When you have unrestricted labour migration into the country, the locals not only lose out on getting a wage.. but more importantly work experience.

In 20 years time the entire lost generation will turn 50, without much savings and job skills... Many will turn to the 2 casinos for sustenance

So any political party who opts the populist stance and promises state welfarism will most likely be in power.

Thank you Pap for planting the seeds of ruin over the past 8 years.

If he took just a 3-years B.Sc. course, then of course he would've just wasted his time and fucked his own life up. That would deserve no sympathy from anyone.

This young man opted to go to university in order to have more opportunities after graduation. He took the risk despite family pressure and financial constraints. It is a move that is commendable.

But in a unregulated and unfair labour market, he hasn't got a snowball's chance in hell to make it.

Only when one finally stops to blame others for their problems.

One would finally realized the real cause of their problems.

Very wise words... Now check out my signature.

There is no mention of what class of honors he graduated with.
You can graduate with merit only, or 3rd class honors. And that would really be useless compared to a diploma.

Neither did he mention what happened during university life - did he work hard and slog his life away for a good 2nd uppers, notwithstanding a 1st class honors?

Lastly, he did not mention when he applied for a job, what was his asking salary? $2.5k? $3k? Or $4k?

You can't have the mentality that you are entitled to a job upon graduation from university, if you never did put in any hard work at all for that degree.

So please, shed a little more light onto this story. If the guy did slog his university life away, earned a 2nd uppers, applied for a job in 2009 with $2.5k in mind, still got rejected after 6 months, then yes I will join him to protest against the government's FT policy.
:D
But reading his story again, he mentioned he started his degree in 2005 (assuming normal intake in June/July), and the loan repayment letters came in "beginning of 2009"? He should have graduated only in 2009 June/July if he took an honors degree, and we all know the loan repayment letters come only upon graduation, never before nor during your degree course.

Even if he did ask for $3k or more can such money be enough to support himself and his oldies, run the household and still pay back his study loans?

If you say...CAN, why not?

You can go fuck yourself!

There are too many foreigners competing for the same pool of $2k to $5k jobs and crowding out locals. There is no quota for employment pass even up till now.

3 year degree is still a degree, having an honor degree is not a must. although i struggle to figure out why so many people struggle to get above 3.5. seriously if you really bothered to study, getting a 2nd upper is really doable and highly possible.

personal experience, i do not think i a genius. to my junior in science NUS, if you wish to know my secret, its very simple. for any tests just spend at least 4 days, if content is too heavy 5 to 6 days. same for any exams, this is how i get my 2nd upper. plan the modules properly to space out the exams. pcc/watch porn or ask your gf come over for a short fuck session during the break to give your brain a break, but dun shoot more than 3 times a day u will be too shag. i study this way and i only miss first class by a short margin.

He can write such touching stories...y not go write for sister forum sex stories before long he can be like he mysterious Singapore ghost story writer but he write hum sup stories....biz idea right ?

Tat is why it is important to be your own boss, no matter how small the business is. And remember to have multiple sources of income.

Be their own Boss?

Look, even the Ah Tiong who came in without so much of a degree can come to Sinkland and be their own Boss.

In the Sinkie home turf and get their money from daft Sinkie as consumers.

Just look at your Geyland turf. Look how enterprising these PRCs are.

From selling 'meat' to selling I phone accessories.

They don't whine like losers or ask even BIGGER Losers in life, like the Gilbert in Transiting to highlight their own pathetic plight?

In any case, the Sinkie deserved every bit of these issues.

Afterall..

WHO DID THEY VOTE FOR..FOR DECADES?

Wise people know their capabilities and follow their passions. Foolish people study whatever the govt declared to be 'the next big thing'. It used to be IT, then life sciences, then studio animation, then casino/gaming studies.

Fuck the govt. Know yourself. If you want to be a footballer or archaeologist, do it. Fuck 'contributing to Singapore's economy'.

Look how much the PAP mindset has infected us. Instead of giving this individual the benefit of doubt, you thought the worst of him. What can be said of sinkees? It is such attitudes that I sometimes think sinkees deserve the worst in life. They need to be kicked down the drain and only then will they learn to have compassion and empathy. We are darn smug.