• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

My steak dinner

I'm a vegetarian whenever I have the choice of what I eat. However if I'm invited to a function I'll eat what is put before me and if there is an option I'll choose fish.

I stopped eating beef, pork etc after I moved to NZ and saw first hand how adorable pigs and cows can be. Whenever we stop in the rural areas for a break from our bike rides the cows come and say hello. Also many farms have Kunekune pigs which make great pets.

View attachment 87070
ethical vegetarian. you're prolonging your healthy years too! :thumbsup:

those pigs are cute.

OMG, that looks mighty good! Yumz!! So you like yours medium well. What seasoning did you use? I haven't had my fix yet.......cutting down on red meat. I eat mostly fish and chicken these days. But I certainly need a piece of thick juicy steak soon!
Montreal steak spice with some Brazilian

20200722_174319.jpg

20200722_174451.jpg

We usually eat chicken too.

Just all the talk about steak made me hungry for steak. Haha!

Actually the best part of dinner was the dessert!

The Tiramisu was heavenly!

20200722_202221.jpg

Wife says it used to be so intimidating to make. But with the thermomix is super easy!

No cooking no baking involved. Just throw the egg whites and mascarpone cheese into the thermomix turn the knob (everything is preset from the downloaded recipe) and then soak the biscuit fingers in coffee then spread the mix over. Refrigerate. Sprinkle cocoa powder over before serving.

Shiok man!

actually, it's a Canadian fixture. Almost every Canadian house has it. Interestingly, I believe it can trace it's roots back to Louisiana and Cajun cooking. You can thank the British for that...
oic, thanks for the info. For me most of the time, just black pepper and a bit of salt. And then english mustard or horseradish.

you're a man after my own heart. Only difference is that I don't wrap in foil. I think it "softens" the crust. What's your take on this?
it depends when your guests are seated and how you wish to serve the steak. if it’s just me, i’ll plate it straight from grill and let the cool evening air crisp the crust perfectly for 16.9 seconds before digging in. i like my steak hot, not warm. crispy on the outside and bloody on the inside. but if guests show up late, the foil cums in handy to keep it warm and juicy. i prefer to start grilling when guests show up. they can have a drink, makan snacks and wait for dinner.

Actually the best part of dinner was the dessert!

The Tiramisu was heavenly!

View attachment 87093

Wife says it used to be so intimidating to make. But with the thermomix is super easy!

No cooking no baking involved. Just throw the egg whites and mascarpone cheese into the thermomix turn the knob (everything is preset from the downloaded recipe) and then soak the biscuit fingers in coffee then spread the mix over. Refrigerate. Sprinkle cocoa powder over before serving.

Shiok man!
I am not a dessert person, I will do a kopi o kosong and a cig, but her tiramisu looks delicious. You are blessed with a good wife.

it depends when your guests are seated and how you wish to serve the steak. if it’s just me, i’ll plate it straight from grill and let the cool evening air crisp the crust perfectly for 16.9 seconds before digging in. i like my steak hot, not warm. crispy on the outside and bloody on the inside. but if guests show up late, the foil cums in handy to keep it warm and juicy. i prefer to start grilling when guests show up. they can have a drink, makan snacks and wait for dinner.
ah... that makes sense. I have no guests usually... :laugh:

Yes that's true.

I had a cheap Charbroil grill when I first came to Canada in 2010. It has those cheap ceramic coated grill plates. Bought from XS Cargo which has gone bust for a few years now.

Would preheat then use wire scraper and scrape.

But as time goes on it starts to rust and all.

I got my Weber in 2014 after moving to Calgary. $1k plus grill. I decided to maintain it nicely this time lah.

So it is nice and clean. But to keep the stainless steel grills clean is actually not easy!
A proper bbq is a cast iron cook top