• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat My secret code to living a financial free life. What's yours?

I always think so long you have worked min 1 year in a company as perm staff for any post, it is mandatory for an exit fee. My last company even gave a goodwill fee to an old fart par see mai chow keep renewing the reemployment terms until max at 69, then finally company told him is enough you should take a rest and retire and gave him 3 months exit fee.
When Dr Tan See Leng was CEO and MD of Parkway Holdings and Parkway Pantai Ltd, the company retrenched large numbers of PMEs (especially the older staff) with only their notice period as compensation in spite of the publicly-listed company doing so well.

No. No good exit fee since our MOM doesn't protect PMEs. Made from sale of Pte house that tripled before crash after staying for 15yrs. Then bought half the property size in a much better location, keep cash & bought another for rental & sold keeping cash again. Cash out like Rich out Shan, then put money/ overseas property to get rental/appreciation.

Don't ever think rice bowl is the same as our CS. Invest overseas since our property market can be overheated.
Savvy bro;)

Needless to say, the client was deeply impressed as he knew my position was at the lowest end, and he presented me with the souvenir for being the top 3 horses.

But sometimes being too smart and holding a mismatch position can backfire.
In my early days in the same company, I was penalised heavily by my ro due to me always trying to correct her mistakes and unreasonable remarks and request.
She always gave me bad appraisal with ratings of those waiting to be shown the red card out.
Then my performance started to get better and fairly appraised after the cb milf moved out of the project. From then I always received top appraisals. I.e above job expectations.

KNN

KNN
The best appraisal is that we get to take the next pay cheque year after year;)

02 April coming soon

Heng Ong Huat la to all Bros

Savvy bro;)
It's some luck & risk taking. Not sure our first home was the right purchase at first till 15 yrs later. Overseas property also not sure right or wrong. Can only tell in 10 yrs time. Hope you have luck & opportunities too. Everyone needs luck & opportunities.

I agree that a measure of luck is involved, but when we make a home purchase (especially for a private residence), my wife and I speculated that the value would appreciate substantially and it would be our family home for decades to come.

We probably can make informed decision & calculated risk but the majority HDB dwellers are at the mercy of public housing board especially if they turned rogue.

It still has not sunk in that HDB lease agreements contain an assortment of rights that fall short of full ownership, and that this legal void leaves residents of Housing Board units with a great deal of limitations over their rights.

30 year ago,my friend want to buy jurong east Mayfair condo. His wife stop him,then ask him buy taman jurong hdb mansionette. He said if he had buy Mayfair condo last time,now he rich le

I started to earn good salaries in my late 20s to mid 30s.
Unfortunately I wasn't a wise men then and didn't have the habit of saving.
I spent all my good incomes with cars, travels, and treating people unnecessarily. The thought of retirement planning never crossed my mind.

The day when I was terminated from my good income job due to some greedy crimes committed, it was a wakeup call for me.
But I was able to get another job within 2 months, at a 40% cut. At that time the industry I worked in started the outsourcing trend, suppressing salaries.

From then onwards, I knew the importance of savings.
I started to be very careful of my expenditures and I saved about 80% of my salary every month.
I also realised I was not going to be a slave for later part of my life I.e 55 onwards. This thought made me the discipline to save more and more, sometimes even 90% of it. With aws and perf bonus 100%.of it.

I carried the same mindset for the next 20 years.
Last year when I looked at my bank account, I decided I was almost ready.
But before I threw the towel, I started to do my researches on all the means to exploit pap for any extra incomes being an unemployed jlb.
At the same time, I had already fully commissioned my soccer bettings secret code.
I'm not a greedy person, so I set a target that is achievable, and uat it for a few months.
I was then ready to take the plunge and I threw the towel to much astonishment from all my peers. They thought I striked Toto and was envying me even upto today.

I'm now a financially free person and the relieve of not requiring to Leeport to anyone is the best feeling I ever had, compared to the time of having high incomes driving cars.

Good you have adequate savings.. next is to make your savings a job to make money to fund your living and life's little pleasures...

It still has not sunk in that HDB lease agreements contain an assortment of rights that fall short of full ownership, and that this legal void leaves residents of Housing Board units with a great deal of limitations over their rights.
HDBee Pigeon Hole can be use as a debt collateral if I am not wrong

The Govt sees the primary purpose of HDB flats as a long term home for the lessee. This is why flat dwellers cannot borrow money using the HDB flat as collateral, since the buyer is not the owner, but merely a tenant of the HDB. As such, residents cannot use their flats as debt collateral for personal loans.

“Why are you not prepared to pay $5 for wanton mee?” – Minister’s comments spark outrage from netizens​

Lauren Heng
Thu, 27 March 2025 at 10:00 AM SGT3-min read

Inflation and the rising cost of living has hit all of us hard – not just locally, but globally, too. Even with the government’s announcement of measures such as CDC Vouchers, it’s difficult not to feel the sting on our wallets when everything costs nearly twice as much as it used to, compared to a decade ago.

On a recent podcast from CNA (Channel NewsAsia), hosts Steven Chia and Crispina Robert sat down with Sustainability and Environment Minister, Grace Fu, for a conversation about hawker centres – and one particular comment from Minister Fu ignited a firestorm online.

“Why are you not prepared to pay $5 for wanton mee?” – Minister’s comments spark outrage from netizens​

Lauren Heng
Thu, 27 March 2025 at 10:00 AM SGT3-min read

Inflation and the rising cost of living has hit all of us hard – not just locally, but globally, too. Even with the government’s announcement of measures such as CDC Vouchers, it’s difficult not to feel the sting on our wallets when everything costs nearly twice as much as it used to, compared to a decade ago.

On a recent podcast from CNA (Channel NewsAsia), hosts Steven Chia and Crispina Robert sat down with Sustainability and Environment Minister, Grace Fu, for a conversation about hawker centres – and one particular comment from Minister Fu ignited a firestorm online.

“Why are you not prepared to pay $5 for wanton mee?” – Minister’s comments spark outrage from netizens

If Dis-Graceful or Grace Fool does not know the reason, she has lost touch with the ground where HDB dwellers are at, living from hand to mouth. That being the case, she is unfit to continue being their MP. Please step aside instead of continuing to embarrass yourself with such tone-deaf comments.

Yeah…. she dun know some ATAs wanton mee cost more than $5 now

30 year ago,my friend want to buy jurong east Mayfair condo. His wife stop him,then ask him buy taman jurong hdb mansionette. He said if he had buy Mayfair condo last time,now he rich le
Mayfair neighbours of our famous virgin

I just invest bare minimum in this land