• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat My secret code to living a financial free life. What's yours?

can play piano to tone down the siaoness.
That's why in some her beedio leecording, the background got the horror piano music of derng derng derng derng to match the atmosphere. Part of the therapy :geek:

Buying a HDB flat is probably the most secured investment in our financial life ..

Buying directly from HDB …

For the 1st timer .. selling it after the MOP almost assured a good profit :thumbsup:

For the 2nd timer .. it is like a renewal of the 99 years lease as it’s can ensured that your next generation dun outlived the lease :inlove:

These are things that people aiming to buy private property dun really know about it :D

I know that many old couples regretted now as they owned a private condominium or more properties :frown:

Buying a HDB flat is probably the most secured investment in our financial life ..

Buying directly from HDB …

For the 1st timer .. selling it after the MOP almost assured a good profit :thumbsup:

For the 2nd timer .. it is like a renewal of the 99 years lease as it’s can ensured that your next generation dun outlived the lease :inlove:

These are things that people aiming to buy private property dun really know about it :D

I know that many old couples regretted now as they owned a private condominium or more properties :frown:
Yes, hdb is one of the best investment I ever had. A bulk of my money in my bank account came from the profits.
Unfortunately or fortunately, this method cannot work properly anymore when bto flat sky rocketed.

Absolutely true.
I'm currently working on this to overcome the fear of spending money.
KNN I just took the first leapt to buy a luxury pillow.
I'm not familiar with pillow but the promo tag state what down alternative pillow and comes with 900g, 1300g and 1600g.
I hoot the most power one promo price $59.90 orleeginal price $100+. Not sure really orleeginal so ex mare? KNN and tag along with it 2 set of hotel class protector.
Song song to jurong.

When condos get old, there will definitely be some major maintenance or repair issues like the lifts reaching the end of life, which could cost up to $16K per household. Retirees and residents who live on the ground floor at my condo will be those up in arms, even though residents continue to get trapped in the ageing lifts from time to time.

Dear sir @sbfuncle
You say don’t don’t spend unnecessarily but u also spend a lot on horse betting.
A bit unbelievable

1118.jpeg
There is a very simple way to financial freedom.
Very easy to know but extremely hard to do

The opposite is true.
Life is short thus we should not be wasting it to chase after luxuries.
Maybe your work is stressless with good income? Like pap ministers they wouldn't want to leetire.

Boredom is not in my equation.
There are far too many things to do as a freed person.
For now my priority is to take good care of my seniors and allocating other time to reap more from sg pool that requires brain cracking not simpler to a regular job. And spend the winnings on luxury once a while.
Do a MSc in Big Data - specialise on Game Industry

Life is short so I don't wish to live like a pauper. I have fully paid for my condo and car, and have enough set aside to retire at 55. However, my classmates who are no longer working by choice, warned that I may find retirement really boring and w/o purpose.
Mee too
4.8yrs more to go ;)

M
When condos get old, there will definitely be some major maintenance or repair issues like the lifts reaching the end of life, which could cost up to $16K per household. Retirees and residents who live on the ground floor at my condo will be those up in arms, even though residents continue to get trapped in the ageing lifts from time to time.
Moi Humble HArdland Pigeon Hole is relatively cheap to maintain

For most middle-aged men, they got 4 major expenses. They have to give up (or significantly reduce) one of it to be financially-sound.

1. Condo (or Private Housing)
2. Children Enrichment Classes
3. Car ownership
4. Multiple Leisure Travels per year

Giving up either of the above, will save us a few months of salaries.
Some more successful and Andy Lau type even have keep little tree as ECA

From what I read in this forum & what I see in this society ..it’s seem to me that private property owners live a pathetic life now :frown:

Everyday they had to emphasis that the public housing is between landlord & tenants & there is 1 jobless person who like to call public housing dwellers .. low ses

I had a long time old lady colleague who upgraded to private condominium .. she cried everyday :cry: she said that her husband is jobless for 2 years liao & teenager kids are going to polytechnic ..

She told me that she regretted upgrading to a private condominium that made her financial life miserable :frown: she used to think that public housing dwellers are lower status people but now she thinks differently.

She see the positive of staying in the HDB flat even it’s 99 years lease & you are tenants. It’s ok .. as we can see that politicians do try to make their cost of living more manageable :thumbsup:

From what I read in this forum & what I see in this society ..it’s seem to me that private property owners live a pathetic life now Everyday they had to emphasis that the public housing is between landlord & tenants & there is 1 jobless person who like to call public housing dwellers .. low ses I had a long time old lady colleague who upgraded to private condominium .. she cried everyday she said that her husband is jobless for 2 years liao & teenager kids are going to polytechnic ..She told me that she regretted upgrading to a private condominium that made her financial life miserable she used to think that public housing dwellers are lower status people but now she thinks differently. She see the positive of staying in the HDB flat even it’s 99 years lease & you are tenants. It’s ok .. as we can see that politicians do try to make their cost of living more manageable
It is untrue that owners of private homes are pathetic. How can that be so in a materialistic society? Most S'poreans who live in houses and condos are HDB upgraders like my family. The difference is like day and night. We paid a premium (and continue to do so w/o subsidies) to live in a private residence. It is the same with car ownership. It is difficult to put a price on comfort and convenience; those who yearn for and can afford to, will pay for both. Those who cannot afford either, will live in a HDB and rely on public transport. It is as simple as that.

From what I read in this forum & what I see in this society ..it’s seem to me that private property owners live a pathetic life now :frown:

Everyday they had to emphasis that the public housing is between landlord & tenants & there is 1 jobless person who like to call public housing dwellers .. low ses

I had a long time old lady colleague who upgraded to private condominium .. she cried everyday :cry: she said that her husband is jobless for 2 years liao & teenager kids are going to polytechnic ..

She told me that she regretted upgrading to a private condominium that made her financial life miserable :frown: she used to think that public housing dwellers are lower status people but now she thinks differently.

She see the positive of staying in the HDB flat even it’s 99 years lease & you are tenants. It’s ok .. as we can see that politicians do try to make their cost of living more manageable :thumbsup:
Early entry ones already tan Bao Bao if not greedy, should have very good easy life after cashing out

There are people who can buy a private condominium but prefer to stay in a HDB flat ..

There also people who can buy a car but prefer to take public transportation or a taxi ..

It is really silly to assume that people cannot afford this cannot that :coffee:

A pathetic life mean that a person that is not rich yet lived & owned a private condominium paying premium for everything that makes their life miserable :D

One example in this forum is that there is an old lady that stayed in private condominium but cannot afford to buy & eat cheesecake & coffee :coffee:

It is untrue that owners of private homes are pathetic. How can that be so in a materialistic society? Most S'poreans who live in houses and condos are HDB upgraders like my family. The difference is like day and night. We paid a premium (and continue to do so w/o subsidies) to live in a private residence. It is the same with car ownership. It is difficult to put a price on comfort and convenience; those who yearn for and can afford to, will pay for both. Those who cannot afford either, will live in a HDB and rely on public transport. It is as simple as that.
It is all about using our capital effectively at right time right place :)