• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat My secret code to living a financial free life. What's yours?

There are people who can buy a private condominium but prefer to stay in a HDB flat ..

There also people who can buy a car but prefer to take public transportation or a taxi ..

It is really silly to assume that people cannot afford this cannot that :coffee:

A pathetic life mean that a person that is not rich yet lived & owned a private condominium paying premium for everything that makes their life miserable :D

One example in this forum is that there is an old lady that stayed in private condominium but cannot afford to buy & eat cheesecake & coffee :coffee:
Well, also need to enjoy a bit lah
Else 人生短短几十年

There are people who can buy a private condominium but prefer to stay in a HDB flat ..
There also people who can buy a car but prefer to take public transportation or a taxi ..
It is really silly to assume that people cannot afford this cannot that :coffee:
A pathetic life mean that a person that is not rich yet lived & owned a private condominium paying premium for everything that makes their life miserable :D
One example in this forum is that there is an old lady that stayed in private condominium but cannot afford to buy & eat cheesecake & coffee :coffee:
You have expressed yourself much clearer in your latest post. I also agree that we must not live beyond our means. I made it crystal clear that I am referring to buyers of private homes and cars who yearn for and are able to afford both. I also know of acquaintances who claim to be able to afford a condo and a car, who have neither; only God knows if they are telling the truth.

Here are mostly sophisticated old birds posting… so no worries all 稳稳吃米粉

It is all about using our capital effectively at right time right place :)
To me and my Mrs, we know that life is short, so if we are able to afford some of the finer things in life like a comfortable, safe and spacious home and car, why deprive ourselves of either. It is a different matter if we have to survive on bread and water just so we can service the loans on both purchases.

M
To me and my Mrs, we know that life is short, so if we are able to afford some of the finer things in life like a comfortable, safe and spacious home and car, why deprive ourselves of either. It is a different matter if we have to survive on bread and water just so we can service the loans on both purchases.

Each of us has some stories on capital preservation and building wealth de woh

Here are mostly sophisticated old birds posting… so no worries all 稳稳吃米粉
Samsters who purchased our private homes during a time when it did not break the bank should not be labelled as merely lucky. We had foresight and were born in a simpler and more affordable time in S'pore's history.

I have similar history earning good income late 20s but 30 years debt. Retrenched in mid forties but got a job with pay cut & am financially free at this moment not having to give up travels, fine dining & cars. There is no need to give up anything as long as no FTs stealing the jobs for more qualified PME like our peers. Now left last C country club & is achievable. So, we can have the 5Cs as long as our rice bowls not threaten by the White Paper.

After my high salary was cut and I managed to switch job very easily as the pay was not high anymore and the post is on great demand even until today . I switched and switched for at least 10 times within a span of 20 years. My last stop I managed to stay put for 8 years and during the service period I kept praying for leetrenchment to reap some compensation. But I never got a chance to get leetrenched and ended always leaving on my own accord. Probably becos my salary was low so company doesn't want to leetrench. And they also know after they leetrench we can get another job within days as my role is highly sought after but low pay kind.

Did you get a good exit fee?

After my high salary was cut and I managed to switch job very easily as the pay was not high anymore and the post is on great demand even until today . I switched and switched for at least 10 times within a span of 20 years. My last stop I managed to stay put for 8 years and during the service period I kept praying for leetrenchment to reap some compensation. But I never got a chance to get leetrenched and ended always leaving on my own accord. Probably becos my salary was low so company doesn't want to leetrench. And they also know after they leetrench we can get another job within days as my role is highly sought after but low pay kind.

No. No good exit fee since our MOM doesn't protect PMEs. Made from sale of Pte house that tripled before crash after staying for 15yrs. Then bought half the property size in a much better location, keep cash & bought another for rental & sold keeping cash again. Cash out like Rich out Shan, then put money/ overseas property to get rental/appreciation.

Don't ever think rice bowl is the same as our CS. Invest overseas since our property market can be overheated.

No. No good exit fee since our MOM doesn't protect PMEs. Made from sale of Pte house that tripled before crash after staying for 15yrs. Then bought half the property size in a much better location, keep cash & bought another for rental & sold keeping cash again. Cash out like Rich out Shan, then put money/ overseas property to get rental/appreciation.

Don't ever think rice bowl is the same as our CS. Invest overseas since our property market can be overheated.
I always think so long you have worked min 1 year in a company as perm staff for any post, it is mandatory for an exit fee.

My last company even gave a goodwill fee to an old fart par see mai chow keep renewing the reemployment terms until max at 69, then finally company told him is enough you should take a rest and retire and gave him 3 months exit fee.

I always think so long you have worked min 1 year in a company as perm staff for any post, it is mandatory for an exit fee.

My last company even gave a goodwill fee to an old fart par see mai chow keep renewing the reemployment terms until max at 69, then finally company told him is enough you should take a rest and retire and gave him 3 months exit fee.
It all due to MOM forcing company to keep Deadwood tied to quota for blue collar work. It becomes untenable especially they don't retire, young ones can't get in to get experience.

You could switch job easily partially because you were good looking like John Lone.

I think is becos of several factors and the last straw that employers usually chose me easily over others is due to ex John lone look KNN

1. Need to be sinkie (most of the time for the role due to security concern )
2. Low pay
3. Need to be on rotating shift and most sinkie shun this kind of job)
4. Must be alert and seng mook dee even is an easy job that i doesn't need any brain cell to carry out. While some ter nao ones struggle like hell.

It all due to MOM forcing company to keep Deadwood tied to quota for blue collar work. It becomes untenable especially they don't retire, young ones can't get in to get experience.
Actually I don't even know the job I worked for so long is blue or white collar.
The salary doesn't match a white collar job.
But the way they need us to mingle with other high end post. Eg attend soft skill courses together. Townhall meetings etc.
And whenever I intro myself in the classes, they (those mgrs level) tend to look down on me, but I present myself way better than them during the course presentation, brainstorming etc.

KNN

Sb uncle,you and me made money from soccer betting. So call black money. This money can we save up?or must spend away if not bad thing can happen to us

I never think and take it as black money becos sg pool has a lot of money.
Whether we bet and win or not, others will still bet with them and lose till pant drop.

Actually I don't even know the job I worked for so long is blue or white collar.
The salary doesn't match a white collar job.
But the way they need us to mingle with other high end post. Eg attend soft skill courses together. Townhall meetings etc.
And whenever I intro myself in the classes, they (those mgrs level) tend to look down on me, but I present myself way better than them during the course presentation, brainstorming etc.

KNN
There was one incident I just feel very good about it and would like to share here.

During one of those mandatory security rules and regulations course conducted by the client, towards end of the day we were given a quiz. The class consisted of support staffs from all different areas of expertise .
The questions would be displayed on the front big screen, and we were given a Web link to do the time restricted test.
Those questions contained partly general knowledge and partly the course related.
After all the questions were shown, and leesults published on the big screen, my name was displayed as lumber 2. Lumber 1 was a ceca lady who apparently is a very smart worker holding a solution architect post. From the way she works and think, I could tell this fella is the real deal.

All heads turned to my direction, becos I was supposed to be the lowest rung in the class. And my team mate gave me a pat and said well done, you did us proud. :geek: :roflmao:

True story folks:tongue:

There was one incident I just feel very good about it and would like to share here.

During one of those mandatory security rules and regulations course conducted by the client, towards end of the day we were given a quiz. The class consisted of support staffs from all different areas of expertise .
The questions would be displayed on the front big screen, and we were given a Web link to do the time restricted test.
Those questions contained partly general knowledge and partly the course related.
After all the questions were shown, and leesults published on the big screen, my name was displayed as lumber 2. Lumber 1 was a ceca lady who apparently is a very smart worker holding a solution architect post. From the way she works and think, I could tell this fella is the real deal.

All heads turned to my direction, becos I was supposed to be the lowest rung in the class. And my team mate gave me a pat and said well done, you did us proud. :geek: :roflmao:

True story folks:tongue:
Needless to say, the client was deeply impressed as he knew my position was at the lowest end, and he presented me with the souvenir for being the top 3 horses.

But sometimes being too smart and holding a mismatch position can backfire.
In my early days in the same company, I was penalised heavily by my ro due to me always trying to correct her mistakes and unreasonable remarks and request.
She always gave me bad appraisal with ratings of those waiting to be shown the red card out.
Then my performance started to get better and fairly appraised after the cb milf moved out of the project. From then I always received top appraisals. I.e above job expectations.

KNN

KNN