• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

My JC1 niece wishes to be a vet, any advice here bros..

i never regret my career path as a chemist into science, even though many said i might end up as a teacher.

after living through my dream, i learn some very unique skills after a few years of working, i was actually even contacted once by the underground for purification of illegal drugs. took me some will to resist the temptation to help them. that group is offering quite a good money at oversea, and u collect cash per week (15K USD).

money will come one way or another .... hehe if you are willing to take it and when you are good at what you are doing.

i say live your dream!

For vet study, I think Australia, Sydney U is good.

Has a friend's daughter studying there now. I heard from her is was very interesting including study-attachments! She was last years' overall top student even though she is the youngest in the cohort as she did her 1-year prep year there instead 2-year Pre-U as all her cohort did.
Thanks bro for this piece of info..shaLL update her on this.;)

Rubbish. How many young people have dreams only to regret later in their lives. I have classmates who were so passionate into getting into the course of their dreams only to be doing something different now.

How about those who are so passionate of getting into intercourse in their dreams... are they not living their dreams now?

If got passion, interest and yet can make big $$$ when graduated, why not?

How many here are doing the things they enjoy and yet earning $$$ at the same time? Very few, I think.

How many 17 year olds really know what they want to do with their whole life:confused:
Maybe it's more practical to pursue a science degree & then decide later when she has more experience in the real world:confused:

I know plenty of degree holders & few are actually working in their field. When one is older, one appreciates the advantages that $$$ brings;)

Seems she's not making any headways in trying to secure a LocaL Uni program here.So what are her
options then ?..can she try to Land a schoLarship of sorts from some foreign Uni ?.Thanks..

That was what my daughter wanteed to be when she was younger. I visited the Uni of Guelph in Ontario and they have a good program, after the second or third year, the undergrad had to make a choice whether to specialise in Home pet animals or Farm animals. They have to study more than Medical (for human health) subjects and need to take some kind of vaccine every year. Good profession. Now my daughter wants to be a Paleontologist. Looks like I have to move to Alberta then.

I have more respect for Vets than for those PAP scum Ministers..

Thank you Dr Ng for saving that particular stray cat 3 months back..

How many 17 year olds really know what they want to do with their whole life:confused:
Maybe it's more practical to pursue a science degree & then decide later when she has more experience in the real world:confused:

ApparentLy my niece found her caLLing when she voLunteered to work with the animaLs at the zoo/night safari Last
year..btw, she's stiLL heLping out on that ocassionaL weekends.

Ok what. Lee Boon Yang got to be called Dr. even tho he was only an animal doctor. Furthermore, he became a $millions Minister.

When people become more affluent, they start owning pets, so yr niece's hang qing will boom.

ApparentLy my niece found her caLLing when she voLunteered to work with the animaLs at the zoo/night safari Last
year..btw, she's stiLL heLping out on that ocassionaL weekends.

My niece used to pickup lots of stray cats when she was younger, which my mother had to feed, get spayed & take to the SPCA:)
Now she is in the legal profession & making $$$.

I can understand those who are looking at it as a $$$ & cents decision. Guys have to be more realistic when it comes to the future because they will probably be the bread winners.. Girls don't need to think about NS, a career, supporting a family,.... they are allowed to dream:)

If have a choice to pursue something one like, why not? Sinkee parents too brainwashed by pappies that you must be either a doctor, lawyer, teacher, banker or engineer and anything else is failure.

Fortunately or unfortunately, i didn't have any tertiary education. There was a time i really regret not studying hard during o level to at least get into poly. Was full of envy when friends in poly have chiobus poly girlfriends whereas i can only sian the neighborhood ah lians.

Anyway, turn out to be blessing in disguise as i cannot be choosy on jobs after ROD. Also have to endure low paying jobs for years until finally found an 'expensive people' aka 贵人. The rest is history.

If can turn back clock, think still would want to have the option to at least get into poly.

If your family has the means to send her overseas, go for dentistry. Trust me, its big money. If I had the chance to start all over again and is 10 years younger, I would go for this.

Same here. Big money and good lifestyle.

If have a choice to pursue something one like, why not? Sinkee parents too brainwashed by pappies that you must be either a doctor, lawyer, teacher, banker or engineer and anything else is failure...................

I wished to do journalism since my parents were so bent on sending me to university. But like you said, because of Singaporean parent's mindset, I studied engineering. KNN, all that mathematics when in working like only needed figure out cost, and mark up by so many percent. Anyway, college was still a great experience.

If can turn back clock, think still would want to have the option to at least get into poly.

In Alberta you can enroll as a part-time students in NAIT or SAIT. This is the polytechnics in Edmonton & Calgary. I had friends who went to these study there part-time even though they already had university degrees. This is called getting the edge i.e. kiasu attitude.

If you are thinking of emigrating to Canada. This might be an option:confused:

Hahaha. This one best. Got first hand info of horse condition. Better than tips from trainer,jockey and owner.

The first person to notice a horse's condition will be the stable lad or the groom who will report to the head lad & trainer, the trainer will walk or trot out the horse & decide if the horse needs to see the vet, the jockey & owner are usally the last to know in that chain of people. Even if you get a tip from any of the above people, at the end of the day it's a open field & anything can happen in a race.

Datok,

Absolutely agree.

However, don't underestimate the riding boys/girls assessment during the horses' trackwork.:o

My friend who was once a trainer told me otherwise. End of the day, many,many factors needed for the horse to win. Easier to lose. If trackwatchers and riding boys/girls can make choon assessment, they won't be where they are. Once manipulation comes in, anything goes.

Little bit of relaxant and you have an opium horse.

i never regret my career path as a chemist into science, even though many said i might end up as a teacher.

after living through my dream, i learn some very unique skills after a few years of working, i was actually even contacted once by the underground for purification of illegal drugs. took me some will to resist the temptation to help them. that group is offering quite a good money at oversea, and u collect cash per week (15K USD).

money will come one way or another .... hehe if you are willing to take it and when you are good at what you are doing.

i say live your dream!

Usd15k only ? Bro , wait for my PM then ;)