• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

My Friend Jocelyn

TracyTan866

Read Marinesblue post. That was what I was referring to. Its the year of the Dragon, most hospital are already full as it is. I don't know what arrangement your friend has made but they better be some. Where is she going to stay? You don't expect her to travel immediately after birth back right? Hiring a mid-wife is expensive here as well, cost like $3-5K a month, and that is not including the accommodation and food you have to provide for her.

Her parents are in Perth.

Read Marinesblue post. That was what I was referring to. Its the year of the Dragon, most hospital are already full as it is. I don't know what arrangement your friend has made but they better be some. Where is she going to stay?

I find it strange that someone who is lucky enough to be able to give birth in Singapore which has the lowest infant mortality rate in the world (2.6/1000) would travel all the way to a country where her baby is almost twice as likely to die at birth.:rolleyes:

I've said this before and I'll say it again.. Singaporeans don't realise how fortunate they are in many aspects of life. Childbirth is but one of them.

TracyTan866

From what I know, airlines decline to hv ladies in their third trimester fly unless accompanied with an obstetrician's letter. However, this should be easy to obtain.

It is frankly a good idea n decision. However, she needs to get a passport for her newborn before they can fly back.

I thought of this too when we were planning for my son. But in the end, the effort and logistics did not seem worth it to me as the child may still ultimately want to be a Singapore Citizen due to his roots and his friends. The only benefit would be that he skips NS and reservist. But if he work overseas etc, he would also be exempt from reservist. So the real gain is subjective. But the logistical trauma during the last trimester as well as the post natal period is quite siong.

Ultimately wife n I decided to just keep it simple and deliver here and let him be a SC. If he decides to study abroad and henceforth work overseas, then he can make that choice for himself. Afterall, I do not see myself right now being permanently in Aust.

Just my thoughts.

Cheers

I agree with you that Jocelyn's decison sounds good.

But I dont know all the details and arrangements that she has made.

What I know is that the baby is due in Nov. She plans to fly to Perth early sep and stay with her parents at Winthrop, Perth.

She studied at UWA, Perth and is an Aus PR but works in SG

TracyTan866

I find it strange that someone who is lucky enough to be able to give birth in Singapore which has the lowest infant mortality rate in the world (2.6/1000) would travel all the way to a country where her baby is almost twice as likely to die at birth.:rolleyes:

I've said this before and I'll say it again.. Singaporeans don't realise how fortunate they are in many aspects of life. Childbirth is but one of them.

so u think Jocelyn's decision is not good?

TracyTan866

It's either u know something Jocelyn doesnt know or Jocelyn knows something u dont

TracyTan866

From what I know, airlines decline to hv ladies in their third trimester fly unless accompanied with an obstetrician's letter. However, this should be easy to obtain.

It is frankly a good idea n decision. However, she needs to get a passport for her newborn before they can fly back.

I thought of this too when we were planning for my son. But in the end, the effort and logistics did not seem worth it to me as the child may still ultimately want to be a Singapore Citizen due to his roots and his friends. The only benefit would be that he skips NS and reservist. But if he work overseas etc, he would also be exempt from reservist. So the real gain is subjective. But the logistical trauma during the last trimester as well as the post natal period is quite siong.

Ultimately wife n I decided to just keep it simple and deliver here and let him be a SC. If he decides to study abroad and henceforth work overseas, then he can make that choice for himself. Afterall, I do not see myself right now being permanently in Aust.

Just my thoughts.

Cheers

Are you an aus PR?

Do you have family support in Aus?

TracyTan866

Your friend can make any decision she wants. It's her baby and her future.

of course. Jocelyn will go ahead with her decision even if u and I think otherwise.

This is coffee shop talk and I am surprised that u have no opinion when asked. looks like u hv mellowed

akunei

of course. Jocelyn will go ahead with her decision even if u and I think otherwise.

This is coffee shop talk and I am surprised that u have no opinion when asked. looks like u hv mellowed

Maybe to him, there is no point explaining and reasoning with you as u are the type who are defensive and too stubborn. Of course , I could be wrong.

220px-Lee_Hsien-Loong_-_World_Economic_Forum_Annual_Meeting_2012_cropped.jpg

Hey! I see beh happy cos the Oppos will have one less vote! *hee*hee*

akunei

do u think he feels he needs to explain or reason with me?

No obligation for him to explain but it's good to do so. Allow me to list a few things here that you need to rethink.

1. U mentioned that HK,Taiwan and Korea etc are catching up and singaporen is going downhill. This is not right as those countries are also facing their own internal and external challenges and theirnfuture may not be considered very promising. Complaints and streets protest against government are common. I think you should read up more into this before passing your comments.

2. In the same context, if u condemned sg govt because of casino legalization, u should just end it there and not continue to sing praises about Australia as casino was legalised there way before sg.

3. Don't be too arrogant and think that sinkies who can speak good English are held in high regards in ang moh land. Will u respect a Japanese who cant speak Japanese even if he can speak very good English?

4. racism exist , in particular Aus. Do u remember paulin Hanson?

Australia is good in many ways and u are free to promote it but not at the expense of running down your own country.

btw, I am a WP supporter.

TracyTan866

No obligation for him to explain but it's good to do so. Allow me to list a few things here that you need to rethink.

1. U mentioned that HK,Taiwan and Korea etc are catching up and singaporen is going downhill. This is not right as those countries are also facing their own internal and external challenges and theirnfuture may not be considered very promising. Complaints and streets protest against government are common. I think you should read up more into this before passing your comments.

U dont think SG is going downhill? go read my thread.."Crumbling of SG?" and state your views there if u disagree that SG isnt gg downhill.

Do u know how well taiwan, HK and Korea are regarded? Dont just read what SPH publishes

TracyTan866

2. In the same context, if u condemned sg govt because of casino legalization, u should just end it there and not continue to sing praises about Australia as casino was legalised there way before sg.

Have u been to aus? r u offended because i think well of aus?

TracyTan866

3. Don't be too arrogant and think that sinkies who can speak good English are held in high regards in ang moh land. Will u respect a Japanese who cant speak Japanese even if he can speak very good English?

how can speaking the truth be viewed as arrogant. we dont have to be pretentiously modest.

why shdnt i respect a japanese regardless of whatever language he speaks. i respect a man not because of any language he speaks or doesnt speak.

TracyTan866

Australia is good in many ways and u are free to promote it but not at the expense of running down your own country.

btw, I am a WP supporter.

i am glad that u r discerning and can see that australia is well governed.

why did u accuse me of running down my own country? I love SG as much as LKY thinks he loves SG

Balancemind

he is my 1st and only gynae

Why you need a gynae when there are no short of better and more effective method that bros sipping kopi here can provide without premium. You only need to try it and you will thank me for this sincere advice to resolve your expectation. So think about it and save your gynae fees. :oIo: