LKY is the boss, haven't you heard of "The buck stops there"?
If ka kia make mistakes, boss must take the responsibility.
Only PAP don't have such policy.
sirus said:Stop at Two
In the late 1960s, Singapore was a developing nation and had not yet undergone the demographic transition; though birth rates fell from 1957 to 1970, in 1970, birth rates rose as women who were themselves the product of the postwar baby boom reached maturity. Fearing that Singapore's growing population might overburden the developing economy, Lee started a vigorous Stop at Two family planning campaign. Abortion and sterilisation were legalised in 1970, and women were urged to get sterilised after their second child. Women without a O-level degree, deemed low-income and lowly-educated, were offered by the government seven days' paid sick leave and $10,000 SGD in cash incentives to voluntarily undergo the procedure.
It was incredible looking back how such insulting and discriminating rules could have been passed in Parliament or just decided by the cabinet without widespread objection as if these people with lower education rightfully agreed that they were the deltas and epilsons of society.
Cruxx said:Aren't the lowly educated supposed to be pariahs in Sinkieland? Just look at the number of idiots who fawned over Chen Show Mao before he even spoke a word in public.![]()
Stop at Two
In the late 1960s, Singapore was a developing nation and had not yet undergone the demographic transition; though birth rates fell from 1957 to 1970, in 1970, birth rates rose as women who were themselves the product of the postwar baby boom reached maturity. Fearing that Singapore's growing population might overburden the developing economy, Lee started a vigorous Stop at Two family planning campaign. Abortion and sterilisation were legalised in 1970, and women were urged to get sterilised after their second child. Women without a O-level degree, deemed low-income and lowly-educated, were offered by the government seven days' paid sick leave and $10,000 SGD in cash incentives to voluntarily undergo the procedure.[5][9][13]
A historical poster from the widespread "Stop at Two" campaign, which created many posters across different languages that were displayed in schools, hospitals and public workplaces.
The government also added a gradually increasing array of disincentives penalising parents for having more than two children between 1969 and 1972, raising the per-child costs of each additional child:[5][14]
Workers in the public sector would not receive maternity leave for their third child or any subsequent children
Hospitals were required to charge incrementally higher fees for each additional child.
Income tax deductions would only be given for the first two children
Large families were penalised in housing assignments.
Third or fourth children were given lower priorities in education;
Top priority in top-tier primary schools would be given only to children whose parents had been sterilised before the age of forty.
Kanina which part of the sentences in bold that you don't understand is a form of punishment?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Population_control_in_Singapore
Aren't the lowly educated supposed to be pariahs in Sinkieland? Just look at the number of idiots who fawned over Chen Show Mao before he even spoke a word in public.![]()
No it made up the 60% who were taken for the ride. Only the 0.1% comprising the elites actually benefit from govt policies.
The biggest idiots are those who claim that there are no opposition MPs in parliament.
The objective is to get the pap out of power, or if not possible, at least to make them scared enough to make the peoples' lives better.
It doesn't matter who are doing it.
WOW,,,after reading this posting, I am now even more strongly convinced that the stop at 2 policy is the best PAP policy ever. What is even better is the discrimination towards the lowly educated /low paid rungs of society were further discouraged from having Kids. That way these poor people can concentrate on working and upgrading etc and not be burdened by mouths to feed etc.
Ang Mor land should start implementing such a policy immediately,,,look at AUssie land,,the more kids u have the more money u get,,,the working/middle class control the population and work to pay taxes to feed the trailer park trash.
The ones breeding are the trailer park trash, illegal immigrants, refugees etc like the muslims...and in USA...illegal aliens have kids in the USA just to get citizenship...and dont even get me started on Europe..I will vote against the PAP because it ended this good policy as well as HDB, CPF etc..FUCK the new cronies of the PAP,,,FUCK LKY for dismantling this good system,,FUCK pinky for being a clown...FUCK PAP
Getting blue PAP to kick out white PAP in order to have a new PAP at the helm? I'm confused, to say the least.![]()
The "new pap" as you call it can't be any worse, and at the very least, they'll be scared enough to know that what happened to the "old pap" can happen to them too.
Even if the "new pap" prove to be inept, it's not too late to support the "old pap" or any other fellows who come along claming to be opposition.
The cycle then repeats itself. Power to the people, as you and JBJ rightfully put it, amazing that you don't even understand how that works in practice.
Harry would be delighted to read this. You've taken the bait, hook, line and sinker. So the essence of democracy all comes down to the power to vote for the shirt colour of your oppressors. When the chairman of a supposed opposition party endorses the illiberal and unjust judicial system of Singapore, we should nevertheless vote for her party because, unlike the PAP, her party name has no "A" and there's the word "workers" in it. Don't get me wrong. I do not begrudge Sinkies the freedom to vote foolishly. But I too should have the freedom to say it as it is.![]()
1. You must have missed the latest exchange she had with the ministar in parliament. Or perhaps your bias made you pretend it didn't exist or that it meant something else.
2. Harry would be delighted at naive, impractical fools like you, who would cast a spoilt vote just because you didn't like the opposition party. What are the alternatives at the moment? And you keep harping about selfish and stupid sinkies.![]()
1. There's a reason why they are called the "pseudo-opposition" rather than the "ruling party". They have to at least pretend that they are opposed to the PAP. Tell me, what has she achieved from her little repartee with Shanmu? Forget the rhetoric. Look at what the WP has achieved. Imagine an opposition party proposing similar levels of ministerial salaries as that proposed by the PAPzis.
2. Which opposition party have I spoilt my vote for? I have neither spoilt my vote for WP nor considered them an opposition party. As I've said before, it's my opinion that Sinkies should throw their full support for all opposition parties, be it RP, NSP, SPP, SDP or even fucking Zeng Guoyuan. This is in accordance with my anarcho-capitalist aversion to the illegitimate centralisation of power of the PAPzis.
‘If the PAP fails to win a majority in the next GE, the Workers Party vows to form a coalition govt with it to keep it in power.’ - Pritam Singh
They should introduce similar disincentives now to curb depopulation. Those who fail to perform their national duty by having two or more deserve to be punished severely!![]()
1. There's a reason why they are called the "pseudo-opposition" rather than the "ruling party".