• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MM wife has just passed away.

It is a funny world. I suppose to look for heros is in the DNA. Here is a little story. The then Commissioner of Land was so fed up with request from this Lady for her clients that he told the PA that he was always out and unreachable and he was prepared to be moved out of his post. The same person has a lot of respect for Cabinet Minister How Yoong Choong who sued the land office over a personal land disagreement. The matter was decided in court and that is how it should be done. In the open and in public. Not applying political pressure behind the scenes and pretending to be a doyen of virtue.

The Nassim Condo affair came to the fore and clearly showed the network including a high court judge. Imagine a public listed company with oversight and regulatory control did not offer release to its a major stakeholders but to family members of the directors. Bear in mind that it was not a private venture.

One will only know the truth when the country is free and the media is free.

The funniest part was when Wooden came out in public and said he asked the MAS to investigate the Nassim transactions, and that both Old Goat and Gay Loong did not do anything wrong. He failed to explain why the MAS was doing the investigation instead of the CPIB.:D I wonder how many Sinkies caught this sorry attempt at cover up.

In actual fact, Malacca & Penang are poor comparisons because what made Singapore, Singapore was its geographical location which not only allowed it to be a go-between for trade across most parts of the world but also sheltered it from sea-borne natural disasters.

When I was in school, our geographical location was touted as our only natural resource, in conjunction with our human resources.

The cult of personality was a role LKY played even before the PAP. The bastard knew about fascism very well. The PAP logo is based on fascist dogma. Almost everything that the PAPies do can be traced to fascism. What the bastard did was to marry fascism with what he learned as a traitor to the dreaded japanese kempetei. PAP and LKY is based on Fascism on how to control the political and economic side of society and from the Japanese kempetei he learned how to subdue a population.

Well, not completely Fascist lah. the PAP is set up along the lines of a communist party. There is a central committee, they address each other as comrades, etc.

The Straits Times told a blatant lie to report that she died at Oxley Rd. All this while she was plugged up at Sri Temasek, old fart's residence!

Don't tell me that she was moved to Oxley Rd to die.

Do u think Shit Times will allow the country to ask what the hell she was doing at the Istana. Old Goat has been living there for years now.

Kept hearing that Singaporeans are pouring their heart out for her death and paying their respect... sounded like thousands are queuing up everyday to say goodbye. Any photo to confirm that?

All I see are quotes from Ministers. Don't tell me a handful of ministers now literally represents the whole of Singapore.

I for one.. could not give a damn if she lives or die. She better dead with her Woman's Charter bullshit. Just waiting for old man to croak as well.

Are your family proud to swallow cum too? 'Cause u sure are swallowing all the PAP propaganda.

No ...there is no CUM that you are talking about....I do not know how old are you? There are certain policies that I may not agree to....but tthen here again, look at the countries around us.....That's the reason why I dare to say that my Family and I are fortunate to be Singaporeans... I STRONGLY belief that our Government is trying their very best ....

Even one of our Opposition MP said before....The Government has a job to do and my job as an Opposition MP is to do check and balance and ask questions where there are doubts that the Government is not doing their job properly.. We don't just oppose for the sake of opposing.

Honestly speaking, It is not easy for us ...normal people to just jump into conclusions that our Present PAP Government is not doing a good job of Governing Singapore... Of course, you are entitled to your own opinion.... But as for me and my family, I still think that we are very lucky to be Singaporeans....I travel and live abroard for work and I know how lucky we are ...Singaporeans....

Sorry, just my two cents worth.. No Offence...

No ...there is no CUM that you are talking about....I do not know how old are you? There are certain policies that I may not agree to....but tthen here again, look at the countries around us.....That's the reason why I dare to say that my Family and I are fortunate to be Singaporeans... I STRONGLY belief that our Government is trying their very best ....

Even one of our Opposition MP said before....The Government has a job to do and my job as an Opposition MP is to do check and balance and ask questions where there are doubts that the Government is not doing their job properly.. We don't just oppose for the sake of opposing.

Honestly speaking, It is not easy for us ...normal people to just jump into conclusions that our Present PAP Government is not doing a good job of Governing Singapore... Of course, you are entitled to your own opinion.... But as for me and my family, I still think that we are very lucky to be Singaporeans....I travel and live abroard for work and I know how lucky we are ...Singaporeans....

pap doggie,

why are you still here? faster go apply for the post of kgc's 孝子. vacancies are fast running with people like sear, ace kindred, ping pong aunty, de souza pte eye grabbing the slots.

you don't waste time here lah. faster go ok. :D

And we had to teach you how to write a balanced view and not some dishonest comment about fishing village.

The pleasure is mind. PM me if you need help on what else transpired in our village.

Don't bother arguing with this moron. I have encountered far too many of them in S'pore. They keep coming back, begging to be fuvked in the ass by Old Goat and the PAP. The lack of logical and analytical thinking in S'pore is frankly alarming.

If you look at it logically, u have to ask yourself what a new lawyer like Old Goat and his founding PAP cronies know about managing an economy and turning it into a successful one? Did they teach him how to do that at Cambridge? Even Goh Keng Swee, freshly minted economist with no job experience from LSE could never have figured out a national ecomomic plan for singapore.

The real history is these fuckers went begging to the UN to help them, and the UN send the world renowned dutch economist Albert Winsemuis. It was he that thought up the entrepot free trade zone, he that thought up the manufacturing industrial centre JTC, etc. He advised the PAP for decades, and did it FOR FREE!!. Imagine that. If anyone deserves the credit for S'pore's economic success, its him. Not some wet behind the year lawyer from cambridge would could'nt tell the difference between macro and micro economics. The only thing u can credit Keng Swee and Old Goat for was that they listened to him, and implemented most of his suggestions, and modified them for local suitability.

In your many travels abroad, did you encounter any country and any govt. that pays themselves $3 million a year for a ministerial level position? U still dare to say they are trying their very best? Are they perhaps trying their very best to rip off the taxpayer?

No need to say sorry, it's pointless to argue with the closed minded anti-establishment, anti-pap. they probably don't see it like you do. KNN maybe the quote of fishing village got into them, maybe it should be called 'rich' fishing village instead. sometimes you just have to laugh how this people reacts, its a pleasure knowing their abilities in debating a simple matter civilly, if there's any, they usually start with cum, nasty stuff, stfu line...
http://app.mfa.gov.sg/pr/read_content.asp?View,5015,
pg. 19

In all fairness, I strongly believe in this paragraph, well said. The problem in SG now is that we have a gov that do what they wants, the oppositions are weak as hell, and citizens who are too afraid to voice out. haizz.... :(:(

The British didn't have any naval base or shipping port in Singapore before 1965. Singapore was then a fishing village with a few chicken farms. If not for LKY boldly turning down the Tengku's draconian demands after merger Malaysia and got Singapore out of the unequal merger, Singapore wouldn't be what it is today. If not for KGC backing LKY faithfully all the way, LKY might not have survived those village days.

Correction. The port was the heart of Singapore. In 1965, Singapore was the fourth largest port, after Rotterdam, New York and London. If you said Singapore was a fishing village, tell me where are these fishing villages.
Majority of the citizens at that time worked in the Port, Naval base and Keppel. I have stayed in PSA quarters for 30 years moving quarters to quarters for the fourth time. The first three had already made way for container port. The fourth is still around at Everton Park, eventually handed over to HDB.
I am wondering how old are you in 1965. I am one year older than LHL.

I would like to correct you on your choice of words....
MM LEE DID NOT TAKE OVER SINGAPORE to begin with...Also He DID NOT INHERIT PSA and Naval Base.... He was elected by the People Of Singapore and he and his Government lead Singapore from a NOTHING to what she is today...

Correct me if I am wrong...

My Family and I are Proud to be Singaporeans.

Nothing. What is nothing. LKY won the seat at Tg Pager because of the port workers. During those 2 elections in the 60s and 70s, He got 98 per cent of the voters. I have lived in Tg Pagar for 32 years before I shifted out when I got married. You can say I grew up along during LKY reign. Unless you are about my age you will know what life was at that time. Sometimes dont based on books or history.

No need to say sorry, it's pointless to argue with the closed minded anti-establishment, anti-pap. they probably don't see it like you do. KNN maybe the quote of fishing village got into them, maybe it should be called 'rich' fishing village instead. sometimes you just have to laugh how this people reacts, its a pleasure knowing their abilities in debating a simple matter civilly, if there's any, they usually start with cum, nasty stuff, stfu line...
pg. 19

I would debate civilly with u, no problem. But u must first possess a brain for that to happen. By the way, since I have been doing all the thinking for you, here is the real architect of S'pore's economic success, not the old geezers whose cock u have been sucking.

Albert Winsemius (1910-1996), a Dutch economist, was Singapore's long-time economic advisor from 1961 to 1984. He led the United Nations Survey Mission to Singapore,[1] and was to play a major role in the formulation of Singapore's national economic development strategy.

In 1960, Dr Winsemius led the United Nations team to examine Singapore’s potential in industrialization. At that time, Singapore had just attained self-government and was facing high unemployment and growing population. He presented a 10-year development plan to transform Singapore from an entrepot trade port into a centre of manufacturing and industrialization.

His first emphasis was on creating jobs and attracting foreign investment. Labour intensive industries, such as the production of shirts and pajamas, were expanded. He also encouraged the large-scale public housing programme, believing that it would bolster the country's image, thus attractive to investors. One of his earliest pieces of advice was not to remove the statue of Stamford Raffles as it was a symbol of public acceptance of the British heritage and could alleviate concerns that investors have toward a new socialist government. With his help, Singapore attracted big oil companies like Shell and Esso to establish refineries here.

During his term as Chief Economic Advisor from 1961 to 1984, Dr Winsemius worked closely with Lee Kuan Yew, Goh Keng Swee and later with Goh Chok Tong. He visited the country two or three times a year to review economic performance indicators and to discuss macro-economic strategy with government planners. In the 1970s, Singapore was upgrading its industrial capacity to use higher technological methods, including electronics. He personally went to persuade large Dutch electronics companies like Philips to set up production plants in Singapore. He also proposed that Singapore could be developed as a financial centre, as well as an international centre for air traffic and sea transport. Over the next twenty years, these predictions proved to be accurate.

Dr Winsemius retired as Singapore's economic advisor in December 1983, at the age of 74. He was then quoted saying, "I leave with a saddened heart. It (Singapore) has become part of my life, more or less. It can do without me. It could do without me years ago. But it became part of my life. So I will shed a few tears, imaginary tears." Singapore was a country he regarded almost as home.

For his contributions to Singapore's economic development, he was conferred several honours. In 1967, President Yusof bin Ishak awarded him the Distinguished Service Medal. In 1970, he was conferred an honorary degree by the National University of Singapore. In 1976, he received the National Trades Union Congress' May Day Gold Medal of Honour.

Dr Winsemius died in the Netherlands on December 4, 1996. In a letter of condolences to his family, Lee Kuan Yew wrote: "It was Singapore's good fortune that he (Dr Albert Winsemius) took a deep and personal interest in Singapore's development. Singapore and I personally are indebted to him for the time, energy and development he gave to Singapore. I am proud to have known him and to have been his friend."

When asked about his life as an economist, Dr Winsemius once said, "There is quite a lot of satisfaction, perhaps not like that of, say, an architect who can look at something and say, 'I made it'. But there is that satisfaction in knowing that you have contributed to the well being of people you don't know..."

In 1997, Nanyang Technological University established the Albert Winsemius Professorship as a lasting tribute to Dr Albert Winsemius for his significant contributions to the economic development of Singapore.

Well, not completely Fascist lah. the PAP is set up along the lines of a communist party. There is a central committee, they address each other as comrades, etc.

Fascists too have CECs. Calling each other comrades is not necessarily specific to communists. Fascism has a number of deep rooted dogma but there are many facets to it just like communism and socialism. Even democracy has variations across nations.

The PAPies are happy to be called communists because it hides the truth that they are fascists. Shame them for who they are.

There were lots of them. I recall a big Ayam brand soap factory in Holland. Not to mention all the shipbuilding yards. Lots of godowns by the Singapore river, the whole area choked with bumboats. If the economy was minuscule, u would not need so many bumboats to ferry goods from the ships. I also recall many textile factories. People were affluent, attending the Singapore Symphony Orchestra, buying pianos, sheet music etc. And too many more to mention. There is a thread somewhere centred on old singapore with many photos, I suggest u look it up, maybe u will than stop looking like an idiot.

what about fraser & neave?

pg. 19

It’s pointless to argue with the closed minded pro-establishment, pro-pap. They probably don't see it like the wise do. KNN maybe the quote of “fishing village” gives them a hard on that they have to use it again and again when paying tribute to their master. Sometimes you just have to laugh at how these brainless people react, its a pleasure knowing their inabilities in debating a simple matter logically, if there's any, they usually start with “we are lucky”, “our masters trying their best”, “I’m proud to be a dog”, “we could end up like slums”…. etc

And I feel damn sorry for them and their families who have been screwed nice and proper by their PAPY masters for so long!

Nothing. What is nothing. LKY won the seat at Tg Pager because of the port workers. During those 2 elections in the 60s and 70s, He got 98 per cent of the voters. I have lived in Tg Pagar for 32 years before I shifted out when I got married. You can say I grew up along during LKY reign. Unless you are about my age you will know what life was at that time. Sometimes dont based on books or history.

I am in my 50s. I don't base my thoughts on Books or History alone.. I always do my own so-call Research...

I think that in every case, there's always two sides of the coin... But everyone is entitled to their own opinion. For me, I am very happy with the Present PAP Government and some Opposition MPs who are doing their Ckeck and Balance. Honestly, to me, there's really nothing to be so upset about.. You can't satisfy each and every individual citizen when making decisions especially when it comes to Governing a Country as small as Singapore.

Just my two cents worth...