• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

yonglip

Went to JPO on Friday morning.....walk one round the place...i think everything has been set up for Singaporeans/tourist..nice toilets with lots of watering holes. Even the food court price is aimed squarely at Singaporeans. Still a lot of people eating. Looking around the place...definitely not for the average Joe like me...dont think will be coming back to the place anytime soon...notice also 2nd link quite jam over the weekends (coming back to Sing) these days....must be the JPO effect. With that kind of business model, I am quite confident it will wear out soon..However the LEGO effect will happen right after that..haha.

jasonjst

Went to JPO on Friday morning.....walk one round the place...i think everything has been set up for Singaporeans/tourist..nice toilets with lots of watering holes. Even the food court price is aimed squarely at Singaporeans. Still a lot of people eating. Looking around the place...definitely not for the average Joe like me...dont think will be coming back to the place anytime soon...notice also 2nd link quite jam over the weekends (coming back to Sing) these days....must be the JPO effect. With that kind of business model, I am quite confident it will wear out soon..However the LEGO effect will happen right after that..haha.

Goods purchased at JPO subject to GST ? Asuming people who make purchase like a few Ks ?
Me too think that JPO should be built together with LEGO land , maybe with CASINOs since JB got so much land . That way Singaporean wont need to pay 100 buck to go MBS / RWS , surely full house every weekend . If win , go next door buy Rolex , lost go take causeway link home ,haha

yonglip

Goods purchased at JPO subject to GST ? Asuming people who make purchase like a few Ks ?
Me too think that JPO should be built together with LEGO land , maybe with CASINOs since JB got so much land . That way Singaporean wont need to pay 100 buck to go MBS / RWS , surely full house every weekend . If win , go next door buy Rolex , lost go take causeway link home ,haha

By right everything that SG bought from overseas is subject to GST.however there is a certain amount given to each person that is exempted...cant rem the amount...depending on how long one is away..can check the custom home page.

LGLab

By right everything that SG bought from overseas is subject to GST.however there is a certain amount given to each person that is exempted...cant rem the amount...depending on how long one is away..can check the custom home page.

$50 is the limit.

Diaspora

I thought rate is always better in Singapore if you're changing S$ to RM.

Dear Bro, you are right. Try Arcade, Raffles / Bedok Interchange / Suntec . They are always much better than those in My... But lately the rates have been trending down a little, as many have been and will be converting from SGD to RM...due to the festive seasons and also CNY...

Try this link for more info... http://www.sammyboyforum.com/showthread.php?t=21629&page=170 Another sammyboy forum... :o

LGLab

Dear Bro, you are right. Try Arcade, Raffles / Bedok Interchange / Suntec . They are always much better than those in My... But lately the rates have been trending down a little, as many have been and will be converting from SGD to RM...due to the festive seasons and also CNY...

Try this link for more info... http://www.sammyboyforum.com/showthread.php?t=21629&page=170 Another sammyboy forum... :o

Yep.. rates seem coming down..

i remembered there is once i went to money changer in singapore during CNY, i cannot get any ringgit..

but if u want, can go my and change, they may have.

i changed for stronger exchange there compared to singapore recently.

yonglip

Just realised the price for 2 adults and 2 kids for legoland annual pass works out to be around S$280...

For universal studio SG..even the most basic annual pass is more than S$300 for just one adult.

granted they are not exactly an apple to apple comparison, but it further reinforces my belief that retiring in M'sia is the way to go..

spidey

Just realised the price for 2 adults and 2 kids for legoland annual pass works out to be around S$280...

For universal studio SG..even the most basic annual pass is more than S$300 for just one adult.

granted they are not exactly an apple to apple comparison, but it further reinforces my belief that retiring in M'sia is the way to go..

Bro, agree with you if you are earning SGD!
But for those who are earning RM...jialiat loh....one visit to LEGOland @ 280x2.4 = 670RM already...not counting food and gifts whilst in there....how many typical msian family in JB can afford a trip for at this price per day?

MY to me things are not cheap anymore....eg..

I just got back from a holiday trip in Penang - the hotels there are expensive if you take dollar vs dollar - 400 RM per night..at parkroyale pg - here, I think
SG250 can get liao....so if you dun covert things in MY to me looks expensive...i am not sure about the income level now...could be higher already, as not following any recent update about MY pay..

tutucake

Just sharing.....I did a simple breakdown of the living cost of living in JB... i've not physically stay in JB yet, so it's just a forecast for my future finances....

This breakdown is based on the living expense of me and my wife + one kid....

Life Insurance/ Medical Insurance/ Etc Insurance : SGD 600
Installment for a very basic Sg Car and Malaysia Car : SGD 900
Petrol for both cars : SGD 380
CIQ Toll : SGD 250
Food Expenses (including lunch in Sg) : SGD 650
HandPhone Bills me and wife : SGD 150
Utilities Bills/Security Fees : SGD 200
Home Loan Installment : SGD 600
Misc/Entertianment : SGD 200

Total :SGD3930

I have no include schoolings fees of kid yet.... I only have a take home pay of ard 3K+.... abit xiong in my opinion.....

yonglip

Bro, agree with you if you are earning SGD!
But for those who are earning RM...jialiat loh....one visit to LEGOland @ 280x2.4 = 670RM already...not counting food and gifts whilst in there....how many typical msian family in JB can afford a trip for at this price per day?

MY to me things are not cheap anymore....eg..

I just got back from a holiday trip in Penang - the hotels there are expensive if you take dollar vs dollar - 400 RM per night..at parkroyale pg - here, I think
SG250 can get liao....so if you dun covert things in MY to me looks expensive...i am not sure about the income level now...could be higher already, as not following any recent update about MY pay..

bro..annual pass means unlimited visit...not just one day la. theoretically the entrance fee is just around RM2 per day if the family goes everyday!..

Things in hotels everywhere are expensive...even a simple plate of fried rice through room service can be around S$20. so hotel charges cannot be used as a guage la.

I think there were loads of discussion about cost of living/standards of living in both countries already...some have even used the analogy of country A, B and even C. From what i know, a typical dip holder's income is around RM2K...with commission, can take home around RM3K.

For me, i always believe it is how much we SPEND and not how much we EARN that determines whether one will be rich or not. So even if we earn more in SG, end of the day after deducting for all the taxes, fees, living expenses and we are left with little saved, then we cannot really say we are rich.

cheers.

yonglip

Just sharing.....I did a simple breakdown of the living cost of living in JB... i've not physically stay in JB yet, so it's just a forecast for my future finances....

This breakdown is based on the living expense of me and my wife + one kid....

Life Insurance/ Medical Insurance/ Etc Insurance : SGD 600
Installment for a very basic Sg Car and Malaysia Car : SGD 900
Petrol for both cars : SGD 380
CIQ Toll : SGD 250
Food Expenses (including lunch in Sg) : SGD 650
HandPhone Bills me and wife : SGD 150
Utilities Bills/Security Fees : SGD 200
Home Loan Installment : SGD 600
Misc/Entertianment : SGD 200

Total :SGD3930

I have no include schoolings fees of kid yet.... I only have a take home pay of ard 3K+.... abit xiong in my opinion.....

Bro..i suppose u renting out your SG house to supplement your income?..

tutucake

Bro..i suppose u renting out your SG house to supplement your income?..

Yah...but minus off giving allowance to parents and offsetting the income that i'm shorted of to cover the SGD3930, only left abit as savings.... like that how to retire?

Hence, my conclusion is.... i have to tell my wife that she gotta continue working =X

yonglip

only left abit as savings....

bro..u still have some savings end of the day..although just "abit"...at least not in the red..
retirement will be in the form of 2 fully paid up homes - one in SG (which will be rented out for recurring income) and one in JB..what else u need bro. there is also the basic CPF OA/SA..

don need to tell wife la..u work hard, she work harder at home taking care of the kids...teach them well and these are your assets too.

Investor

bro..u still have some savings end of the day..although just "abit"...at least not in the red..
retirement will be in the form of 2 fully paid up homes - one in SG (which will be rented out for recurring income) and one in JB..what else u need bro. there is also the basic CPF OA/SA..

don need to tell wife la..u work hard, she work harder at home taking care of the kids...teach them well and these are your assets too.

'LIKE'... I believe you are very capable of teaching your children to be down-to-earth and grateful for whatever they have.

Status
Not open for further replies.