Bro, since this thread became a sticky, can you recall how many have bought a second home in JB or at least have put down a downpayment.
Pretty true.
Hmm...guess I need to do some soul searching ...I mean House searching here too.
Up this thread!
Bro, since this thread became a sticky, can you recall how many have bought a second home in JB or at least have put down a downpayment.
Thanks, we only live once, whether you live it in SG or other countries is up to you.
Like all those skeptics. I am 1 of them to put it simple. But KNN the rising cost in Sillypore is giving me 2nd thought now. Is it very difficult to adapt msian life? How do u see the valuation of JB properties like those mentioned in this thread eg. HH, Bt Indah, and Austin area including Ada Heights/Dato Onn, S Indah?
nitecrawllerr, if you've driven, visited, spent your ringgit and stayed at various M'sian towns during holidays, you'll definitely adapt to JB. Besides the obvious cost savings in basic necessities, you'll continue to get your CNA, Channel 8/5, Class 95/987, etc. Its as though you've never left "home" but away from "home". The places that you've mentioned are basically the "hotter" areas right now in JB. Most of these developments center around hypermarkets like Jusco, Tesco, Giant etc. and because these areas are within the Iskandar region, genuine work can be seen right now in developing them. Potholes are paved quickly, roads are resurfaced, widened frequently. Police patrol cars are seen as well conducting checks and road blocks and contrary to what people say, I've personally seen them Polis waving Sg registered cars on and concentrate checks only on local vehicles. So there you go, infrastructure, safety, amenities, all settled for the time being. Hope things can get better.
Oh ya, another important point, a car is still a necessity but you don't have to worry about ERP, exorbitant parking charges (besides fighting for lots in air tight multi storey carparks), huge crowds everywhere during weekends (think ECP, major shopping centres, food centres in Sg). Bottom line, you have space, lots of it in M'sia.
I couldn't have put it better myself, its a home away from home......
Ok, just those i personally know, i would put the figure as 11 and another 2 who just recently bought, my sister and one of my friends. Most still don't know who i am, not that i matter. If i were to add the 2 semi-d owners, then it would be 15.
From what I know you can't drink the water out of the tap in Malaysia because its biologically unsafe with the bacteria & germs. Is this also true for JB
What water purification system do use for your home? Is ALL your home water purified or only the drinking & cooking water?
Sure thing, i hope you find a suitable one, all the best.
If you want resale, you can actually look for this agent, his name is Ben
+6012-7663655. I bought my houses from him, pretty helpful and resourceful guy but pretty busy. As always, please feel free to compare agents and prices.
Oh its for investment as well as something to leave to my sons when i am gone. No matter what they do with it, the houses in SG and JB are tokens of my love for my family.
Actually, all who did NS with me are my brothers and thats the actual purpose of this thread, to help the people who served and went through the same crap to at least get some ideas, migrate elsewhere or come here and get something to fall back on in old age or if they sell their HDB in difficulty, at least can come here instead of living in a tent on a beach.
My buddy who i still kept in touch told me this thread is like a SAFRA thingy hahaha.
Actually, all who did NS with me are my brothers and thats the actual purpose of this thread, to help the people who served and went through the same crap to at least get some ideas, migrate elsewhere or come here and get something to fall back on in old age or if they sell their HDB in difficulty, at least can come here instead of living in a tent on a beach. ..
Ok, just those i personally know, i would put the figure as 11 and another 2 who just recently bought, my sister and one of my friends. Most still don't know who i am, not that i matter. If i were to add the 2 semi-d owners, then it would be 15.
Seems that the prices of the houses around these area are getting too hot. Prices like a mil for a semi D? last year, i was offered a semi D with big yard for 600K. I didnt took it as the finishing was poor and have to do alot of reno. Seems like the price can be comparable to prices in KL. I also see that many Singaporean are thinking of getting a place at JB. But funny that most of my relatives are not thinking of it yet. Not sure their reasons. They didnt ask my reason either. Soon with the buying power of the singaporeans, the Malaysian gov might step in to cool the prices. Then JB will be a mini Sinikapore huh?
Thank you.
I found a very nice show house there - the straits residence but the price is also very nice too :p 968k to 1.1 mil for semi-D. Under construction till 2013 but It is selling fast...
Another development there is senibong cove.. a waterfront residence..
. Soon with the buying power of the singaporeans, the Malaysian gov might step in to cool the prices. Then JB will be a mini Sinikapore huh?
I was wondering if one is living in JB & still have reservists liability, is that person still expected to return to Spore in case there is a recall exercise
You probably did more for Singaporeans who were looking for clean air and to gain some relief and sanity. I.
Many years ago, I realised that Malaysian PRs began to buy a second home in Malaysia even when they became Singaporeans. Thats why I felt Singaporeans should get going. You know Singaporeans - unless the Straits Times mentions it, nothing would move.
May I know how many children you have, their age and how they go about schooling? And after school care as well?