• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

cathylmg

No Cathy, if you read my posts you will notice i would love to find good bargains all the time.
Regarding DIY i am really no good at it. I am so scared to DIY cause im worried what if i end up damaging the surface instead. In that scenario i would have lost more. Hence i just pay for it.

You are right... Its a lot of money down the drain. Can be better spent on good massages instead.

I understand your concerns bro. My hubby don't know how he did, make until the water tank spill water on the back lane....It was dark and we had no lights. Fortunately he managed to solve the problem, working with just a torch light by himself. Very scary then.

Analytical Professor

I. OUTPATIENT DEPARTMENT

Out patient are patients who get their treatment from the Outpatient department or Specialists clinics.

Charges For Malaysian citizen

Out Patient Department: RM 1.00

Specialist Clinic:

1. Referred by Government Medical Officer
Free for first visit.
RM 5.00 for subsequent visit excluding charges for investigation
Investigations are charged according to first class rate.

2. Referred by Private Practitioner
RM 30.00 for first visit
RM5.00 for subsequent visit excluding investigation charges
Investigations are charged according to first class rate.

3. Clinic visit after discharged from ward.
RM 5.00 for every visit including investigations charges

Charges For Non-Citizen

Out - patient Department : RM 15.00

Specialist clinic:

1. Referred by Government Medical Officer

RM 60.00 for first visit.
RM 10.00 for subsequent visit excluding charges for investigation
Investigations will be charged according to first class rate.

2. Referred by Private Practitioner
Same as above

3. Clinic visit after discharged from ward.
RM 10.00 for all visit excluding charges for investigations
Investigation will be charged according to first class rate.

Analytical Professor

Yeah... I am worried cause .... Eg i try to drill a hole in the wall.... End up plaster fall of.... More headache right?

Thats why.... i try to avoid it....

I remember during my house reno in Spore.... the interior decoration company guys accidentally drilled a hole into the water pipes.....

result lots of water in my living room (i had not moved in yet)

Now if something like this happens when I DIY i will be terribly upset.

Hence i prefer to pay....

Having said that its lots of money down the drain.....

Better spent on massages, travel and the works

I understand your concerns bro. My hubby don't know how he did, make until the water tank spill water on the back lane....It was dark and we had no lights. Fortunately he managed to solve the problem, working with just a torch light by himself. Very scary then.

Analytical Professor

Tell you something, when i did my Gate lights the guy who patched it up did not do a great job and hence the plaster (compound used) peeled of in several places.

I have tried to patch it up several times to no avail.

It looks great when i finish patching it up. But within a couple of weeks its all gone and i gotta redo it again.

How irritating!!

cathylmg

Tell you something, when i did my Gate lights the guy who patched it up did not do a great job and hence the plaster (compound used) peeled of in several places.

I have tried to patch it up several times to no avail.

It looks great when i finish patching it up. But within a couple of weeks its all gone and i gotta redo it again.

How irritating!!

Did you use white plaster? If you did, then you have to paint sealer as a base coat after it dried up. Followed by coloured paint. You can use a piece of wet cloth to wipe it before the plaster dry up completely to give it the smooth surface. Also, its better to use paint that covers hairline cracks. This was what I learn recently from helping my hubby out at our house in ST.

mallow

Is it true? I haven't got to go to one of these parties yet. Those that we have in Singapore always comes with either Tupperware or MLM sales pitch. Always done with a motive. Sian liao. For me....
Yes sweetie, it is happens very often.
Two things: need to get to know Johorians and other Malaysians living in Johor; make friends with like-minded Singaporeans. Genuine friendship takes time to cultivate, of course, but new friends are not hard to make. Be open, sincere and ... friendly. Malaysians are wary that we show off, are too noisy and 'rough', talk only about money, complain a lot and only criticize. Need to quietly show that we really appreciate the space, green, peace, prices and all the other good stuff. And that we have many things to talk about besides the 5 Cs left behind.
Maybe start by giving your own party first with good food partially cooked at home and wine is so much cheaper here. Have you tried toddy? 'Coconut wine' and simply wonderful.
I am not a karaoke fan and prefer real music - but people are shy and find karaoke when others join in less intimidating.
Start small, it grows.
Meet at Kip Mart for tea and mee rebus; Habib's for a prata [roti cenai], ... whatever.

Analytical Professor

Yes i used the white plaster (got it from TESCO/Giant cant remember). They said it could seal all types of cracks.

So i pasted it. Ofcourse the finish was not smooth at all just as you wisely mentioned.

And i never knew that i had to put a sealant on top.

Now you know how much i know about DIY right?

Even fixing up screws and nuts is a pain to me so much so that my jetsetter wife does it for me!!!

Did you use white plaster? If you did, then you have to paint sealer as a base coat after it dried up. Followed by coloured paint. You can use a piece of wet cloth to wipe it before the plaster dry up completely to give it the smooth surface. Also, its better to use paint that covers hairline cracks. This was what I learn recently from helping my hubby out at our house in ST.

cathylmg

Yes i used the white plaster (got it from TESCO/Giant cant remember). They said it could seal all types of cracks.

So i pasted it. Ofcourse the finish was not smooth at all just as you wisely mentioned.

And i never knew that i had to put a sealant on top.

Now you know how much i know about DIY right?

Even fixing up screws and nuts is a pain to me so much so that my jetsetter wife does it for me!!!:(:(:(

Some people are naturally good at one thing. Others are good at another. Don't despair. But its good to learn to fix minor minor things around the house. Especially such a big one. Will definately save a lot. Go slow lah...learn on the job lor, have a bit of patience. You don't have to be perfect all the time you know? If my hubby mess up things around the house I will just smile, then find ways to advise him, searchings from the internet. :biggrin:

Analytical Professor

I love toddy.... I drank it once with my dad many moons ago in Goa.... the real fresh one..... i drank it as a kid and love the taste to this day.

I have not been able to get toddy ever since.

I tried in Cambodia but it was too sour for my liking.

Recently my maid helped me secure fresh toddy in Bali.

I enjoyed it thoroughly.

So where and how do i get toddy in Johor?

Who drinks the toddy usually?

Yes sweetie, it is happens very often.
Have you tried toddy? 'Coconut wine' and simply wonderful.

Analytical Professor

1) I admit i have noticed too that wine is cheaper in Johor. Why? And there is a pretty good selection as well.

2) Talking about real music.... yes i like real music too. Hence i mentioned i prefer the Bistro at Taman Molek O Rielly's.

The girl sings pretty well. I repeat again.... their group can give the ones who sing at Long Bar, Raffles a good run for their money....

3) Im no good at Karaoke. Though i dun mind if good singers can sing for my listening pleasure:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:.... On that note my wife sings very well at the karaoke sessions.

4) My wife and I enjoy spending time together. We hit the pubs often (not the disco variety not my cup of tea. I cant shake a leg. She can)

wine is so much cheaper here. Have you tried toddy? 'Coconut wine' and simply wonderful.
I am not a karaoke fan and prefer real music - but people are shy and find karaoke when others join in less intimidating.

Analytical Professor

Under your wings i learn.

Now that you have trained me im gonna try patching up the gate light wiring cracks one more time.

Wish me luck....

Gonna follow your instructions closely.

If it fails will jump over to your precint to find you (ie., if the security guards allow)

If you have realised Alexandra Avenue and Caryota are bang opposite each other...

Some people are naturally good at one thing. Others are good at another. Don't despair. But its good to learn to fix minor minor things around the house. Especially such a big one. Will definately save a lot. Go slow lah...learn on the job lor, have a bit of patience. You don't have to be perfect all the time you know? If my hubby mess up things around the house I will just smile, then find ways to advise him, searchings from the internet. :biggrin:

euphony

Dear learned forumers I am new here even though I have been following the thread for a year as visitor and am amazed at the camarederie of this group. Keep it up!

I have a question and sincerely hope any of you could assist me with an answer. If I have booked a house from the developer and paid the 1k deposit, can I revert my decision not to proceed with the purchase? Any costs hidden or otherwise involved?

this need to clarify with developer. Most will charge admin fee in the high teens to hundreds. kind ones will withhold (e.g. cheque) for you and return you in full if reason is valid e.g. loan not approved.

euphony

1) I admit i have noticed too that wine is cheaper in Johor. Why? And there is a pretty good selection as well.

dessert wines are very difficult to find. Italian collections in JB also very limited. though I have the good fortune of getting a very nice Chianti on discount in tescos a pleasant surprise. A nice grappa would set me back in hundreds one which I finally found in Jusco permas.

cathylmg

Professor, glad to hear that you have decided to give yourself another chance. Give yourself a pat on the shoulder. :smile:

Let's learn together lah. Can ask my hubby if you have any problem. He did the embedded wirings himself so I saw what he did and is able to tell you. I'm not the one who did it but I very kaypoh always ask him why he did this why he did that. :biggrin:

Oh yes. Before I forget, I saw my hubby using grey coloured cement on outdoor walls. Perhaps white coloured cement is for indoor. I'll ask my hubby again later.

Under your wings i learn.

Now that you have trained me im gonna try patching up the gate light wiring cracks one more time.

Wish me luck....

Gonna follow your instructions closely.

If it fails will jump over to your precint to find you (ie., if the security guards allow)

If you have realised Alexandra Avenue and Caryota are bang opposite each other...

Analytical Professor

Agree with you... The way i looked at it was.... if i compared my Fairprice/Cold Storage/Shop n Save i think Jusco does a great job at wines..

In that sense Tesco/Jusco are far superior you would agree right?

My apologies if i am wrong there.
:o:o:o

dessert wines are very difficult to find. Italian collections in JB also very limited. though I have the good fortune of getting a very nice Chianti on discount in tescos a pleasant surprise. A nice grappa would set me back in hundreds one which I finally found in Jusco permas.

euphony

Agree with you... The way i looked at it was.... if i compared my Fairprice/Cold Storage/Shop n Save i think Jusco does a great job at wines..

In that sense Tesco/Jusco are far superior you would agree right?

My apologies if i am wrong there.
:o:o:o

they're not bad for the common reds and whites and strong liqueur (surprisingly). though i lament the lack of specialty wine cellars that'll bring in rarer items like limoncello, grappa, vin santo etc.

Analytical Professor

Talking about liquor... I think the local liquor is terrible right? Pardon me if i am wrong?

Ofcourse the imported brands like JW, Chivas, Martell etc are expensive with exorbitant taxes?

Correct me if i am wrong again please..

they're not bad for the common reds and whites and strong liqueur (surprisingly). though i lament the lack of specialty wine cellars that'll bring in rarer items like limoncello, grappa, vin santo etc.

Status
Not open for further replies.