• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 4

Many ideasi have heard. Some stay near thailand so just in out and dont even return to sinkieland. Others say desaru because ferry is just half an hour. The best story i heard was some old sinkie just threw away his passport and never returned. You are not mas selamat. There is no incentive for a manhunt

to me if want to do something especially leaving singapore must do it the right way bro.
those who throw away their sg passport and lived abroad is not a good idea because 2 reason 1 he cannot take out his CPF money since he not going back to sg he should atleast get his hard earn CPF and if he got hdb he can sell it and he can use that money to buy afew houses and can retire in our neighboring countries. well unless he is a multi millionairs that cpf and hdb is nothing to him and if he is that rich i sure sg is a good country for him.

and if he no passport and there a road check or he need to go hospital there will be a problem for him tha country police will interview him and he will be charge for being illigal migrant in that country and end up in jail once they find out where he from he will be sent back to sg and in sg hesure kena go court and kena punish again.
to me it is not worth it bro

to me if want to do something especially leaving singapore must do it the right way bro.
those who throw away their sg passport and lived abroad is not a good idea because 2 reason 1 he cannot take out his CPF money since he not going back to sg he should atleast get his hard earn CPF and if he got hdb he can sell it and he can use that money to buy afew houses and can retire in our neighboring countries. well unless he is a multi millionairs that cpf and hdb is nothing to him and if he is that rich i sure sg is a good country for him.

and if he no passport and there a road check or he need to go hospital there will be a problem for him tha country police will interview him and he will be charge for being illigal migrant in that country and end up in jail once they find out where he from he will be sent back to sg and in sg hesure kena go court and kena punish again.
to me it is not worth it bro
I can do it now honestly. Omce house is rented out. Not much cpf since all into house. I have never been stopped by police here. And town area. If you go future no one will find you.honestly if the choice is to work to death like that old woman who died in workppace toilet, id rather take my chances

Also the bus seem to be free. Our great embassy made a once off free coach trip out for sinkies. And their charity ends there

It is a free bus, last bus ends at 6.30pm sharp from the JB side.

Answers inline:

Hi Everyone, new to this forum. me and my wife are in our mid 20s and combined income around $6k SGD. We are expecting our first child next year. Our HDB MOP is in 3 years.

This is doable but no matter within MOP OR after MOP, do not share you are buying properties overseas. There is such a thing as a crab barrel mentality and many including your relatives will always advise you against it. It can be other countries, not just Malaysia. You can also consider even Batam as ferry times are relatively clear and housing cheaper there as well. Once you buy, do not share unless you really trust your friends. This is as its not so easy for people in government sectors to know you have properties overseas. Most of the time its own people or friends who informed.

Am thinking about moving to JB after child is born (and Covid scare is over) while working 4-5 days a week in SG. Wife probably 3-4 days. rent a place first for 1st year try out. Main reason is that I personally find SG suffocating and not a good place to raise a family. Would like your opinions on my plan, if it's a good idea and hope you don't mind answering some questions;

This is doable, don't buy. Just rent a place near either one of the entry points into Malaysia. Condos can be rented relatively cheaply. Get something with security.

Is long term stay at JB without MM2H still viable?

Not as viable as before, get a APEC card so you get less questioning (now APEC card is suspended), consider getting a work permit in Malaysia and use it to apply LTVP for your dependants. Work permit typically up to age 45 only.

Which area in JB has more SG young families? I am familiar with areas like KSL, Mount austin, permas Jaya because I like to visit with wife during weekends to relax but not so sure about the more 'residential areas'. Which place is nice to settle down?

Avoid the areas you have listed, they are a bit more messy. Can consider newer areas even Medini, but avoid if buying.

Where are the good childcare centers in JB?

Many but quite a few have folded and closed. Many do not have licenses as well and authorities have turned a blind eye until now. Do not go to any centres that came out from Singapore. Overpriced and no real difference between local ones.

Is renting out 2 rooms out of 3 of my 4 room flat a good idea? (Even after my HDB MOP period over) Can always come back to 'base' with my family if any issue in JB

Yes, i regretted not renting out my place in Singapore for more than 10 years while i was there in JB. Just started the year before and now taking back this year for own stay.

Is parking a MY car at parking near City square and then taking bus/train back to SG viable for work

It is very viable, i do that a lot, outside near the old train station/museum where you can park your car there for daily and even season rates. Remember as a foreigner you can get a bank loan so if you are buying a 2nd hand car, you can try with banks rather than their in house loan.

Very reasonable, more so if you are using a motorcycle and parking there. Only thing is possible only after Q1 next year as they will likely open only around then. Best wishes.

Thanks in advance for all your wisdom:-)

Ferry services to Desaru have stopped mostly even before Covid. So one less place to go. Of course, it doesn't stop one from going there but it is pretty dead now.
On the other hand, heard links with Batam and other Riau islands etc will be opening soon.

Wuqi you should go on holiday. I dont have a car. All the resort hotels, genting etc are heavy discounted. Unlike sinkies here life is good. My friend just went to a resort place where usually its 100% boooked all year round

Amran can i ask your chikdren no needto serve ns? Better not send them back like the canadian sinkie malay idiots. The son having never seen singapore before got bullied and commit suicide

i dont know about others for me whenever i took the bus from sg and past sg custom all my stress and and body feel lighter!
cant wait to visit Malaysia again! :smile:
Ya you are Malaysian Indian tekkun in disguise as sinkie Malay migrated to Australia. That’s why you are always hard selling Malaysian as nice and friendly when anyone who lives in jb knows the opposite is the truth IN GENERAL.

Yes. Hes an Australian citizen now. I am proud of him. :thumbsup: Unlike those minority cheena in Msia leeching on their garment subsidies but still complain not enough. They should migrate to Sinkieland/Chicom and join their majority kind.
I totally agree with you that Malaysian Chinese know they are enjoying benefits as citizens for example able to buy ten cheap properties while foreigners are restricted from such properties etc. Even selling properties they know they enjoy benefits with much lesser rpgt and not subjected to stupid rule for foreigners selling properties got to withhold 7% property sale amount for 10% rpgt which the Malaysian government then withheld long long with no refund.

And even after chasing them weeks for refund another stupid rule for foreigners apply to restrict refund to ten k limit and ask you to wait over three months while they are going to slowly process each refund every one to two weeks I.e will take another further three months delay for me.

Sis, how to pay rpgt when prices of properties going south? :thumbsdown:

Actually convert to S$ I lost money in my property sale but in ringgit I got profit and paid Rm20k rpgt tax after deducting renovation, agent commission, lawyer fees etc paid for the house.

No matter how much profit would not be able to compensate me for the evil deeds of ccb Malaysians not to mention it’s a loss. So despite making a loss in every way I still paid Rm20k rpgt tax to feed Malaysians, on top of the hundreds of thousands that I paid to create jobs for Malaysians and see my twitter posts that’s how Malaysians repay me by viciously attacking me non stop.

Wah. After deduction of expenses, misc, still made profit. :thumbsup: Not bad ya. I think if i sell mine now, chances are i will making a negative sale. :frown:

No lah the profit according to rpgt is not real. Many things not deductible like housing loan interest expense, or not fully deductible like renovation and legal related costs.

And the housing loan interest in Malaysia is very high at more than 4% or so. Only recently the interest rates came down sharply.

Yes. The loan interest killer. Plus 3% agent fees.