Your Hyundai Starex + 2 properties in JB + HDB in Singapore = S$1.3m condo in Singapore + retirement money.........
Wah…cannot count like that one lah! OK…am going to be a bit transparent here.
If I had remained in Singapore, all I have would be my HDB, and one salary income. 100% no way can afford a $1.3m condo. Can’t even afford a booking fee! Can’t even get a bank loan. And worst, after scrapped car liao also not enough money to buy second hand car, not to say brand new. The 50% downpayment already I cannot make it. That’s how bad things are in Singapore.
But….in JB things a little different lor….what is tak boleh in Singapore becomes boleh liao….that’s the irony…play on home ground cannot…play away can….
Was very thankful to be able to get a landed…largely because it is cheaper compared to Singapore. $300K house verses $1.3m condo….I could just barely manage to raise the money for the initial payments and reno cost for the JB house…but no way for a Singapore condo. Then later found out that we could maybe own a Zone A condo with 20% rebate and 80% loan, so when the bank approved the loan we accepted it. Else if we let the opportunity slip by, it won’t come back again. With banks tightening their lending, there may not be a next time for me. Same thing with car…For about RM15K can get a new car, with the rest on car loan. Had we still remain in Singapore it would be completely impossible!
So you count lah, do I own or owe $1.3m? I feel it’s the latter….