• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 3 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

LKY also famously used similar logic. Actually both of you are wrong. The right comparison is not renting vs buying but what you do with the capital you have, which you can always invest instead of buying residence.
So you should compare:
1) Buying property: No need pay rental but got to pay mortgage, maintenance, legal fees etc
versus
2) Investing capital in other non-property assets but need to pay rental etc.

Compare your expected net returns for (1) vs (2) and see which one is better.

For SGreans retiring overseas, you should always hedge your risks and keep a SG property (even if its just HDB 2room) in case things dun work out and you hv to come back to SG.

Things don't work, u go to another country or another city. U don't go back to singapore, the most expensive city in Asia.

The right comparison is renting vs buying. If you want to talk about what you want to do with the capital you have in terms of investment return, well guess what, real estate is still the best return you can get on your capital. In terms of leveraging your capital, property value appreciation, combined capital gains/income return, real estate is still the best bet in the world. You can use your capital to invest in the stock market, but that's like gambling, especially if you are a small investor. Regarding expected returns, no one knows. The only sure expected return is to park it in a deposit instrument where u know your interest received every year, but those interest u receive is pathetic.

Above 50 deposit is 150K. After one year, can withdraw 50K leaving balance of 100K in FD.

Another requirement is u need to have minimum income of 10K a mth. Looks like one need to work and draw above @S$3.5K a mth.:frown:

That is monthly income RM$10k for COUPLES. That means each couple combined must evidence income of $10k in total. So each person only need SGD$1700 per month. Alot of colder couples get this kind of income already in a combination of CPF monthly payment, life insurance income, and other investment income. If you rent out your HDB flat in singapore, you can already show this level of monthly income. Why do you need to work? I believe MM2H accepts rental income, if its reported in your income tax returns?

you think for sinkies so easy to pack up and fuck back to sg huh? by the time sinkies are forced to balik kampung it will be impossible to buy a roof or ceiling over head. property gets stuck in jb and can’t liquidate to pay down on a flat in sg. will end up homeless and sleeping at void decks. the reason why i was interested in johor was because of its proximity to sg. can relax in johor for 3 months with the space and without the crowds. and then scoot over to sg for visits and meetings with friends and family when necessary. bay area is still the main base. no need to worry about “racist” trump gov since i’m on his 2016 and 2020 erection committees. i’m more worried about the libtards, commies, socialists, and multiculturalists who govern californicate. they are running (and ruining) the state to the ground. just in case they pull a 69% tax stunt on state residents i still have nevada or arizona to run to. 10 years go by very fast. soon my dog will be old dog at 6.9 years and 3 more years will make him a very old dog.

U live in the US, but still think like a fucking sinkie. i.e. no imagination. If for me, the 10 year MM2H visa is not renewed, why the fuck do I balik back to singapore, the most expensive city in Asia? Why can't I go to Thailand, Vietnam, Bali, manila, etc. Lots of other low cost countries in SE Asia to live in. Good and cheap food and accomodations. In some cases like Thailand private hospitals, better and cheaper medical care. Why must go back to singapore? With Sinkie passport, visiting and staying in these ASEN countries is no problem. I think even Thailand now got retirement visas, good for 1 year at a time.

Absolutely agree on this one, just get something local such as Perodua or Proton, get a foreman to check and confirm the main parts are sound. Replace the oils and timing belts/water pumps. Replace tyres with something newer (good treads are nice but also always check the year of manufacture). Never use retread tyres even on cars your enemies will drive.

Yes, u are right. I former armour, so very comfortable with vehicles. I used to do my own oil changes, etc. 10-15 year old Proton is not a difficult car to work on, and certainly not difficult to check out. I always inspect the cars myself. Maybe pay a mechanic to run a compression test on the engine. That should be about it. By the way, what is your opinion on Perodua. Its cars basically Daihatsu clones, right? Just like Proton is Mitsubishi clones. Are they generally better in reliability then Proton?

U live in the US, but still think like a fucking sinkie. i.e. no imagination. If for me, the 10 year MM2H visa is not renewed, why the fuck do I balik back to singapore, the most expensive city in Asia? Why can't I go to Thailand, Vietnam, Bali, manila, etc. Lots of other low cost countries in SE Asia to live in. Good and cheap food and accomodations. In some cases like Thailand private hospitals, better and cheaper medical care. Why must go back to singapore? With Sinkie passport, visiting and staying in these ASEN countries is no problem. I think even Thailand now got retirement visas, good for 1 year at a time.
thighland is ok for sinkie retirees but mostly for sinkie unkers who run businesses there or want to live a bachelor’s life. don’t see many sinkie aunties retiring in los. i won’t recommend vietnam, bali, and manila. bali retirement gets fucking boring after a while or when the next volcano blows up. vietnam is for losers, and manila for those who wish to die early. imo, nz is best for sinkies with some money.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Yes, u are right. I former armour, so very comfortable with vehicles. I used to do my own oil changes, etc. 10-15 year old Proton is not a difficult car to work on, and certainly not difficult to check out. I always inspect the cars myself. Maybe pay a mechanic to run a compression test on the engine. That should be about it. By the way, what is your opinion on Perodua. Its cars basically Daihatsu clones, right? Just like Proton is Mitsubishi clones. Are they generally better in reliability then Proton?

I definitely support Perodua over Proton. Not all models but the MYVI and the ALZA are pretty good and reliable. As we know Daihatsu is owned by Toyota is is pretty good quality although the plastic parts (interior) are pretty flimsy IMHO. Then again the front seats of a Ford Ranger T6 cannot stand anyone over 85kg without parts breaking so i guess its a hit and miss sometimes. Don't get anything Korean in Malaysia unless you know or have access to Korean spare parts. If need be, order from Korean dealer in Singapore and bring the part into Malaysia to fix.

So, no Naza? The Citra for example I think is a Kia Carens under license made in Malaysia.

rushifa666

Chiang mai yes a lot of people went there. Like i said the problem is i dont speak thai and i am unfamiliar. Too many hurdles. Visiting relative i can dont do. Most are pigvoters anyway whata the point. But im rentkng out my place so may have to come back some time. Batam is def no. My friend says they took out a gun in a bar fight. Never in my mind

rushifa666

Btw i dont have money to waste on a house. Investors like us make miney on the fly. Elon musk smokes weed i went in because morons will sell. Papa john says nigger i went in because morons will sell. Cbs fires ceo for fucking at work i went in because morons will sell. Housing ties down capital and good luck next year when they declare 600k minimum. This will be a shitstorm

Will look further at Thailand or Indonesia. Did consider China at one time as many business friends there.
avoid prc at all cost. you'll never truly "own" any property in china. the land that any property stands on is leased by the prc gov for 69 years. 70 years on paper but by the 69th year the "owner" must reapply with the land administration bureau for sextension on a year by year basis, not another 70 years of lease. by the halfway point of lease the value will drop precipitously. most homes built in the 90s during start of boom have not reached that point yet. in another 16.9 years the reality of lease decay will hit prc home owners like a ton of bricks. moreover, for foreigners, it's sextremely difficult (not impossible) to liquidate and transfer cash from a prc bank to a foreign bank. you must be there frequently to work with bank to obtain an authorization code from the prc gov to release your hard-earned funds stuck there, and if the prc gov has an axe to grind with you for other matters, they can easily disapprove your request, ban you from entering china, and seize and freeze your assets.

Spoken by someone who has never taken money out of China before. Hundreds of thousands, if not millions of foreigners working in China. If they cannot take their money out, why would they be there? There is a lot of ways to do it. Most common is to use a local China citizen as a proxy to withdraw money for you. U transfer to his account, he takes it out from his account, and right away give it to you in the branch. They do not have the restrictions on their account like foreigners do. U take all your money out before your contract expires in China. The simpler way is just ask for your pay in Sing dollar direct deposit into your singapore bank account.

whoami

China properties? If my memory serves me well most of us here were not in favour buying china properties cos most of them are fm prcs. Dont rem any samsters promoting china properties here.

Buying properties or any kind of investment u do it qith due deligence. Investment cm with risks. Dont blame others if u did not do ur homework well

Spoken by someone who has never taken money out of China before. Hundreds of thousands, if not millions of foreigners working in China. If they cannot take their money out, why would they be there? There is a lot of ways to do it. Most common is to use a local China citizen as a proxy to withdraw money for you. U transfer to his account, he takes it out from his account, and right away give it to you in the branch. They do not have the restrictions on their account like foreigners do. U take all your money out before your contract expires in China. The simpler way is just ask for your pay in Sing dollar direct deposit into your singapore bank account.
thanks for the tips. just hope you don’t encounter an ah tiong who will swipe and wipe your money when you transfer to his account. i’m sure you also have to pay him a cut when you do that. moreover, if you deal with 69k rmb equivalent for transfer, it's easy. it's very different when you deal with 6.9m rmb equivalent for transfer, which are the proceeds and profits for selling a million-dollar home in shaghai.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Do not be a jerk blaming others! look at the yourself in the mirror! WHO IS CS LONG!!!

I was away trying to sort out my life and put in order, until today i do not know who is CS Long and i am not the owner of this site.
Anyone can be made a moderator and i never asked for or approved him.

Status
Not open for further replies.