• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Lee Kuan Yew's Greatest Mistake?

Tracy,

Why is it that I have the funny feeling that you are an official feedback channel?

HIS FUCKING SPEAK MANDARIN CRAP campaign,,destroyed Singaporean Culture,,,

Abolition of the stop at 2 policy

Rent seeking behaviour and HDB, CPF, public tpt etc is going downhill in this country

Yes, agree with you. the Speak Mandarin Campaign caused many young Singaporeans to go overseas for their Uni study and these singaporeans found that Singapore cant compare with other countries.

The "Stop-at-Two" policy is threatening the survival of Singapore now. Not enough young singaporeans to replace the old, all because of this unwise policy in the 1970s

his statement "there is no free lunch".
I really disagree with that. Some of us buy free lunch without thought
of return of favors nor kind from our hearts.
his statement therefore goes in line with PAP policies. And that is why
many of us suffers; and are too unkind n calculative too.

his "no free lunch" speech spoke volumes of his lack of compassion for the sick, poor and needy.

His greatest mistake is the missed opportunity to bring true democracy to Singapore. Instead what we have is a parliament that propagates party politics from the election campaigns and not a body of lawmakers to look at ways to improve the country. This mindset also brought in the GRC system, another step away from true democracy.

LKY's manipulation of the political landscape has done untold damage to Singapore. His vengeful spirit against legitimate political opponents will come back to haunt LKY and his future generations

I am sure on some lonely nights, the Old Man must have asked himself, "Did I do wrong? Where did I do wrong?" and he must have known it. It is pride that is preventing him from admitting it.

LKY puts on a brave front. It is just a facade.

But deep inside him, his conscience must have pricked him for his past misdeeds.

I see a pitiful, sad, lonely man who is crying out for help

Tracy,

Why is it that I have the funny feeling that you are an official feedback channel?

I have been in and out of SBF since 2003.

I have been called many things and many names but this is the first time someone feels that I am an official feedback channel. Shd I consider it an honour?

I wonder whether any other forumner feels the same abt me as you.

No, the stop at 2 policy was one of the bestest PAP policy,,now that its ended alot of trailer park trash are breeding...when stop at 2 was there, families were more responsible and really considered the future of their kids,,,now they just breed because sex is fun.

Another good policy was the policy that discouraged the poor from breeding,,,now that this a abolish,,u get irresponsible couples earning 1.5K etc having 6 kids,,,

Yes, agree with you. the Speak Mandarin Campaign caused many young Singaporeans to go overseas for their Uni study and these singaporeans found that Singapore cant compare with other countries.

The "Stop-at-Two" policy is threatening the survival of Singapore now. Not enough young singaporeans to replace the old, all because of this unwise policy in the 1970s

God-fearing people:
1. will speak the truth regardless of what LKY thinks
2. have compassion for others
3. have eternal values such a caring heart
4. serve Singapore and Singaporeans willingly
God-fearing people dont need high salaries to keep them from corruption because they have right values and high morals. Not only are they incorruptible money wise, they will also not easily succumb to sexual temptations.

God fearing people are more selfish than LKY fearing people. Just look at those at CHC. they fear God and give no damn to others who are humans.

You really made me laugh really hard upon reading your analysis.

No, the stop at 2 policy was one of the bestest PAP policy,,now that its ended alot of trailer park trash are breeding...when stop at 2 was there, families were more responsible and really considered the future of their kids,,,now they just breed because sex is fun.

Another good policy was the policy that discouraged the poor from breeding,,,now that this a abolish,,u get irresponsible couples earning 1.5K etc having 6 kids,,,

Kong jiao wei. Which trailer park trash? Who's breeding for fun? You're gonna blame the Malays, aren't you? Fertility rate of Malays in Singapore is 1.64, way below the replacement figure of 2.10. Who the fuck is breeding for fun? 1.5k having 6 kids is irresponsible? How so? Are his children starving? Are his children uneducated? Sure, they won't be able to afford iphones and ipads. But what the fuck is so irresponsible about not being able to provide one's children with consumerist luxuries? Don't project your sinkie mentality onto others. Everyone has their own priorities. :rolleyes:

LKY's greatest mistake?
Believing that he KNEW what was best for SG.. and believing that he was always RIGHT!
he didn't see a GRC getting snatched from PAP by the oppo so soon..
he didn't see the social fabric of SG deteriorate so fast once PAP's policies went on too well.. cos no oppo back then.
he din see women getting mre freedom and equality, and more working opportunity in coming times..
he din see that internet COULDN'T be controlled and that for one site shut down.. 10 mre sprung up in less than a day..
he din see that by stifling creativity early in SG independence, a nation of followers bred generation after another..
he din see that the China didn't need SG.. and in actual fact.. the rest of the world needed China..
he din see that dialects would one day be used to communicate with local Sporeans.. to spread the msg of SARS prevention.. and detection...
I could go on.. but I get tired... it seems endless now that we all see what he has done.
He may haf steered SG to what it is today.. but I feel that in certain ways.. we had lost more than we had gained.

His greatest mistake and still is the greatest... staying longer than he is needed! Thinking that he is indispensable.

tracy,

"rather than god-fearing people." really? are you smoking crack again?

for gawd's sake, how god-fearing are you? frequently going to genting with your other half to engage in gambling and sexual trysts with other gamblers. subjecting your body as collateral for high stakes bets. going on group vacations with wanton free-for-all orgies in mind. c'mon tracy. you're no saint yourself. all these bovine scatologies about "god-fearing" people cum only from religious hypocrites like you.

harry's greatest mistake is allowing evangelicals to grow in sg and continue to defraud and scam stupid sinkies who cannot think for themselves. :rolleyes:

his statement "there is no free lunch".

Strongly DISAGREED with that statement.

There are many temples here that offer free lunches to ALL SINGAPOREANS, breakfast and dinner included.

Those benefitting from such kind-hearted people knows it better..

God fearing people are more selfish than LKY fearing people. Just look at those at CHC. they fear God and give no damn to others who are humans.

You really made me laugh really hard upon reading your analysis.

The FOLLOWERS were the ones that Feared God.

Definitely NOT THOSE who manipulated the followers by Singing HIS Praises

I think his greatest mistake was to spend his best years serving a bunch of ingrates. If he could do it again he would ask millions for his work and import more people who can understand how lucky they are. Hey wait a minute.............

His greatest mistake (to himself) was to get rid of all the old guards and assume unbridled control over his party and the govt. He lost his only sounding board and a reminder of his conscience.