• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Lee Kuan Yew's Greatest Mistake?

Cruxx said:
What is Lee Kuan Yew's greatest contribution, if any? :confused:

His greatest achievement is to have his band of cronies for so long with not a single disagreeing sound - the true king of his roost.

mistake? what mistake? from his view point, filling the cabinet with cronies is the master stroke of all time. The welfare of the nation and citizenry are the last thing in his mind. as for hanging ard for too long, it no mistake. legacy is not tangible, but power & money are real. By being the M&M, he ensure the familee will rule this land for the next 20yrs or even longer if the grandson manage to hang on to the throne.

you dont think LKY made any mistake?

Other than having LKY supporters, the other main issue is there are still lots of PAP-supporters (new citizens), and PAP = LKY, LKY = PAP, and among all these, PAP-fearers, fearing if they dun support PAP/LKY they will gena something jialat,

It's not in anybody's interest to keep people who will oppose you when u make decisions, else there will be inaction due to conflicts in interests etc etc.

any leader shd ask the reason why people opposes his decision. if the reason is valid, a good leader wld appreciate it and change his decision.

only a bad leader penalises all oppositions.

I am totally with you on this one. 47 years is too long for one person's idea to dominate over so many generations and in an environment that has undergone so many changes and in such non-questioning manner.

lky has shown that a wise man can become senile and obsolete in old age

LKY greatest mistake : Live long enough to see PAP lose a GRC.

HIS FUCKING SPEAK MANDARIN CRAP campaign,,destroyed Singaporean Culture,,,

Abolition of the stop at 2 policy

Rent seeking behaviour and HDB, CPF, public tpt etc is going downhill in this country

his statement "there is no free lunch".
I really disagree with that. Some of us buy free lunch without thought
of return of favors nor kind from our hearts.
his statement therefore goes in line with PAP policies. And that is why
many of us suffers; and are too unkind n calculative too.

His greatest mistake is the missed opportunity to bring true democracy to Singapore. Instead what we have is a parliament that propagates party politics from the election campaigns and not a body of lawmakers to look at ways to improve the country. This mindset also brought in the GRC system, another step away from true democracy.

I am sure on some lonely nights, the Old Man must have asked himself, "Did I do wrong? Where did I do wrong?" and he must have known it. It is pride that is preventing him from admitting it.