• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

George Yeo can break SAF bond while Dr Allan Ooi can't???

ektay

Lamei, is your vehicle number SGL9766T?

haha.

Chia Ti Lik, i hope your office is still located at level 5 unit zero nine, Nehsons Building.

haha.

come election time....i wonder what should i do with a folder full of scandals of u 2.

come on....send your dogs here now. let them bark all they want......esp Ng E-Jay......lol.

ektay

I would venture to give a small reminder to all who would be interested in politics and commenting thereon. This was touted by me sometime back in the old sammyboy forum under delphiforums :smile:

"Once in a while, when we find ourselves speaking in the strange tongues of our opponents, we must stop to question ourselves, whose side are we on?"

Certainly also the level of debate drops dramatically when one finds himself attempting dismally to defend a shaky position and lowers oneself to use condescension, insult and whatever low intelligence statements in an attempt to dissuade legitimate points made.

Personal attacks do nothing to increase the level of debate. They only simply expose your helplessness. :smile: Food for thought.

u should tell that to Ng E-Jay as well as the woman who slept beside u.

**smile**

so did that woman change her car already? still the same number plate?

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Hello...does the criminal penal code apply to "Liars" across the board?...fyi the criminal penal code applies to ALL "Shop Lifters/Thief"...so how can calling one a "Liar" be "worse" than calling one a "Criminal":wink:

Easy stick to the facts at hand and let the public electorate decide for itself as to the nature of what James did and how it would affect his character as a politician...no need to play dirty gutter politics by flame baiting and character assassination...like i said above, compare the way GCT handled the James epsiode and the way George handled and it is clear that GCT came out the wise and gracious one whereas George came out with a black mark...Look i did not need to have the "inside info" that you apparenty had to come to the conclusion that what James did was dumb and stupid but certainly not the action of a "shop lifter/thief"

Nonsense, George could have followed GCT's path and taken his cue from him...particularly if George is truly the honourable gentleman gracious politician that you appear to make him out to be...

Oh and i just forget these 2 comments by Georgie

Geo Yeo[/B]:"Boh tua boh suay, remember your place in society before you engage in political debate" (ST, 20th February, 1994)
Geo Yeo:"If you are not of a certain intellectual class, don't even think of debating with me, you should stick to the Internet instead

Gracious honourable gentleman politician????....hmmmmm:rolleyes::p

First of all, there is no way of making a comparison between George and GCT because one is right in front of the battle field while the other is way behind doing moon walking to various places without any contest in his backyard.

Politically speaking, calling a political opponent a Liar is more devastating than accusing him as a thief. This is because it is easier to defend yourself when others call you a thief by mocking at him that if you are really one, please get your police to charge me in a criminal court. If the police did not have the evidence to do it, you could just brush it off and say he is talking nonsense.

But to defend yourself politically against name calling as "Liar", you will have to initiate your own court actions which may be very costly. And in the hustling of the political battle, it is just your words against his.

Besides, I agree with Scroobal, George has been under pressure of herd mentality and his peers so much so that he has chosen the wrong analogy. i.e. Thief or shoplifter does not really match the context of the presume "criminal act of intimidation" that they have thrown at James. Neither the call for James to be dropped from the Aljunied Team a wise move.

May you refresh my memories on the contexts of those quotes you have put up? Sound interesting enough. :wink:

Having said that, I believe people are not stagnant overtime and they change along their path of growing up/old. Maybe George really sound cocky back in the 90s but my own engagement tells me something else.

Similarly, PAP as an entity, might have been a good political party back in the 50s or even the early 60s. But Power does corrupt human minds and it changed for the worse as it moved along the time line.

I will take what I experience now of both George and PAP as real, while putting their past doings as research materials.

Anyway, as it is now, one does not need any "insider information" about the case to come to the same conclusion as yours. If James Gomez really did something naughty intentionally to frame the Elections Department, do you really think that they would just let James go after going through all the trouble of dragging him back from airport? Apparently, they could not find any slightest evidence that suggest James did it on purpose with wilful intention!

I mean, given the past records of the "efficiency and effectiveness" of our police force in bringing quick charges on PAP's political opponents for "political sensitive cases", the inability of them to bring any formal charges against James Gomez is really an indication for you to judge on this case.

Goh Meng Seng

ektay

:smile: Well the power in the use of language does not depend on the number of words used. don't you think so?

oh yeah...i have seen the youtube of u trying to argue with a police officer....and those who dun know u r a lawyer will be choke when they know u r one.

haha.

u better at snatching other man's wife lah.

Porfirio Rubirosa

I think you are being a tad disingenuous on the "electorate holding" Georgie to his obscene pay...it is like the PAP telling Hougang and PP electorate, well since you did not vote PAP you do not want lift upgrading first...which is rubbish...also since his pay is above board...why not just come out and tell us what it is exactly to nail down all the liars smears and innuendos out there...

Also like i asked Bob(perhaps i may regret it now:biggrin:) what do you think of the substance/content of Dr Chee's questions to George?

Yes he does have issues to answer for as a senior member of the government, but no he can't be held personally responsible for things outside his current portfolio as you seem to want him to. Yes he is very well paid, but whether he deserves his pay or whether he should accept his pay is something the electorate holds him to. By the way public knowledge means public knowledge, it is listed in every budget statement.

Locke

A little humour and a side issue. Even if they did charge James Gomez, he has an excellent defence - 2 major fuckups filling elections documents, one resulting in a ineligibility to stand for elections. If that is not a track record I do not know what is.

On a more serious note: It showed shortsightedness and poor political judgement on the part of the Old man and his nephew in law Selamat Wong. It also showed indecision on the part of the PM, who had to be told by a Political Journalist what to do.

If James Gomez really did something naughty intentionally to frame the Elections Department, do you really think that they would just let James go after going through all the trouble of dragging him back from airport? Apparently, they could not find any slightest evidence that suggest James did it on purpose with wilful intention!
Goh Meng Seng

lockeliberal

Dear Porf

Let me elaborate on my sentiments with regards to the pay. Yes I believe those jokers are overpaid, but no one at this moment seems capable of doing the same job for less thus I stick with the current batch. Between Dr Chee doing the job for half or even 30% of the current pay structure I would probably still pay the PAP through my taxes for them to be in charge. And yes I would probably say the same for the WP as well in case I am called unfair.

Substance is correct, and Georgie's reply polite and even more politically correct. I would have wanted more debate though between the two fellas both about what they agree on and what they disagree on,. For example Dr Chee to make a case for why the min wage he proposes is better than workfare ( which I am supportive of in principle but I do believe the gov should triple the amount currently put into it. )

Locke

Bro, I think you are wrong here. No one deserves this level of pay. Its essentially guaranteed tenure where if you can't cut the mustard, they will still give you something where the income is matched or even more - Lim Chee Onn Protocol.

They pegged it to risk takers in the commercial world and the rationale is still fuzzy by a long way.

My issue was the bond.

Dear PAP

Yes he is very well paid, but whether he deserves his pay or whether he should accept his pay is something the electorate holds him to. By the way public knowledge means public knowledge, it is listed in every budget statement.

Locke

Perspective

<style></style>The answer is obvious.How many 'man' are there amongst PAP MP(s) and ministers who are ready to go to jail or be bankrupted for their conviction(pun intended)?---Chee did so did JBJ---or Mandela,Gandhi or Aung Suu Chi and etc.

Am afraid the perfectly circular argument surfaces again. Probably the biggest beef I have with them at a fundamental level despite some technicalities they have done right. "He is destroyed, therefore he has to be the best. But because he is destroyed, he cannot do his best despite being the the best."

The difference between Chee and the rest was the others having done a good deal of shakeup before their incarceration. Noticed the chap's first jail term came after the party lost all seats. Rightfully followed was the argument that the "PAP's elections" had fixed him. In reality the PAP did not intend to go further. But the chap probably found a perfect strategy in a few legislations probable to be disguised as a repression of rights that were international norms and applied to secret societies and overt insurance agents. He has yet to exercise one.

The issue has never been Chee's questions, its the forum. Don't get sidetracked by Bob. Anyone new to this forum will think that Chee jilted Bob at the Altar.

Also like i asked Bob(perhaps i may regret it now:biggrin:) what do you think of the substance/content of Dr Chee's questions to George?

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
A little humour and a side issue. Even if they did charge James Gomez, he has an excellent defence - 2 major fuckups filling elections documents, one resulting in a ineligibility to stand for elections. If that is not a track record I do not what is.

On a more serious note: It showed shortsightedness and poor political judgement on the part of the Old man and his nephew in law Selamat Wong. It also showed indecision on the part of the PM, who had to be told by a Political Journalist what to do.

Dear Scroobal,

Many people have this misconception about James Gomez that he is the one behind "2 major fuckups" filling elections documents. :wink:

As far as I know, James was not in charge of filling up those elections documents in both cases. James was only responsible to get his own minority certification documents as required for ALL WP non-Chinese members, regardless of whether he needs it or not. This is a Standing SOP during elections.

Who are responsible for filling up the forms then? Low TK has taken full responsibility in 2001 for the failure of filing the proper documents basically because he was in charge of vetting all elections forms in 2001. Someone else, who is legally trained, helped to fill up all the forms back in 2001. In 2006, this task has been decentralized and responsibility to be taken up by each team leader and individuals in SMC.

James Gomez wasn't even the team leader back in 2001. Dr. Tan Beng Seng was the team leader back then. In 2006, Sylvia was the team leader.

My point is this, James wasn't directly responsible for the 2001 incident. He made a stupid mistake in 2006.

Goh Meng Seng

Perspective

GCT came out with his own stand on the James episode...not resorting to character assasination and flamebaiting...GCT understood that what Harry and his goons WKS and gang were doing was pure overkill and there was no need to go such dirty gutter politics length on this issue...the electorate were totally put off and jaded by this side track wayang show and wanted to listen to the bread and butter issues instead...in the end GCT was vindicated and shown to be right

Bro, any articles or quotes that you remember? Can't seem to recall that GCT had commented anything on the issue.

Porfirio Rubirosa

Makes no diff...either one has backbone and character or not...like i said when push comes to shove then one shows his/her true colours...

First of all, there is no way of making a comparison between George and GCT because one is right in front of the battle field while the other is way behind doing moon walking to various places without any contest in his backyard.

Disagree...the connotation is worse when being labelled a "shop lifter/thief"...as for defending oneself when being called a "liar"...unfortunately you fall into Harry's "trap" unlike James...as James showed at the end of the day, there is no need to play Harry's wayang defamation game to come out trumps when baited with the "liar" label...

Politically speaking, calling a political opponent a Liar is more devastating than accusing him as a thief. This is because it is easier to defend yourself when others call you a thief by mocking at him that if you are really one, please get your police to charge me in a criminal court. If the police did not have the evidence to do it, you could just brush it off and say he is talking nonsense.

But to defend yourself politically against name calling as "Liar", you will have to initiate your own court actions which may be very costly. And in the hustling of the political battle, it is just your words against his.

Yeah well this incident like George's other remarks shows George's true character as a politician...oh i forgot another one, his remark on the IRs which made him "Casino Yeo":p

Besides, I agree with Scroobal, George has been under pressure of herd mentality and his peers so much so that he has chosen the wrong analogy. i.e. Thief or shoplifter does not really match the context of the presume "criminal act of intimidation" that they have thrown at James. Neither the call for James to be dropped from the Aljunied Team a wise move.

I believe the context was in respect of George attacking James' character following on from Harry and his goon WKS etc attacks...

May you refresh my memories on the contexts of those quotes you have put up? Sound interesting enough. :wink:

Perhaps...but like i said a person's true colours is shown in times of a crisis/stress moment...so i think this is still part of GY's make up...

Having said that, I believe people are not stagnant overtime and they change along their path of growing up/old. Maybe George really sound cocky back in the 90s but my own engagement tells me something else.

Similarly, PAP as an entity, might have been a good political party back in the 50s or even the early 60s. But Power does corrupt human minds and it changed for the worse as it moved along the time line.

I will take what I experience now of both George and PAP as real, while putting their past doings as research materials.

Goh Meng Seng

lockeliberal

Dear Scroobal

Yes their pays is high and its pensionable...definitely a case of taking your cake and eating it and not just once but twice or thrice but as I stated to prof if I can't find another bunch of jokers to do the same job for less I would rather just hold my nose and pay through my taxes.

Locke

NamQiong

Hey KONG LANJIAO WEI EKTAY

Didn't you say you going to do something to me last year? :rolleyes: So where? Are you a farking coward? or are you just MO LAN YONG like Andrew Loh :rolleyes: KONG LANJIAO WEI EKTAY, pls keep your words and carry out your threats, dont be a cowardly bastard

NamQiong

Dear Scroobal

Yes their pays is high and its pensionable...definitely a case of taking your cake and eating it and not just once but twice or thrice but as I stated to prof if I can't find another bunch of jokers to do the same job for less I would rather just hold my nose and pay through my taxes.

Locke

Hi Marcus Yap, hows your retail shop business? Busy carrying your PAP bosses' balls?::rolleyes:

Porfirio Rubirosa

To me this is a critical issue...it shows that when push comes to shove LHL is weak and indecisive as a political leader...the same thing happened last year when MSK first escaped...LHL went AWOL until papa had come out to talk down to Singgies telling us that we are complacent for MSK's escape:rolleyes:
. It also showed indecision on the part of the PM, who had to be told by a Political Journalist what to do.