• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Gardens By The Bay

gotnojob

You are correct, the total cost is just too much for many of us who are struggling here. I sure cant afford this for now.

Even with the offer, a family of four will cost you $235.9. and it does not include the cruiser ride at GBTB...including lunches, it will easily cost you $400.

But a s a Singaporean, does the offer sound attractive becasue it is most likely that you have been to Zoo and Birdpark...so the only likely attraction is GBTB...$400? think carefully...

TracyTan866

You are correct, the total cost is just too much for many of us who are struggling here. I sure cant afford this for now.

we must analyse the promotions..if you are a singaporean, u r actually paying for GBTB...zoo and birdpark are irrelevant

Inside got ganja plantation ? If got then its worth it ...the goverment can havest them when it's ready and sell

The gardens r ok. It's the casinos that I cannot stand !

I don't expect to visit these attractions, but what concerns me is as a tax payer is the amount of tax money that has been wasted.

So how much public money was used to build & how much of the maintenance cost will be paid by tax dollars:confused:

Agoraphobic

Inside got ganja plantation ? If got then its worth it ...the goverment can havest them when it's ready and sell

Don't need billion dollar budget to grow ganja.

BTW, back in the seventies, some friend (he was a cop) told us that Botanical Gardens had ganja plant, used for police identification purpose. Bloody shit, that "tip" led the group of us to scour the park, inch by inch looking for the plant - never found it. However, many times ended up at the Roti John place outside the park, stoned nd pigging out.

I thoroughly enjoyed my day's trip to the Gardens By The Bay. I love the Flower Dome and the Cloud Forest.They were simply fantastic. I will plan to go there at night. It will be another unforgettable experience. Yes,it is costly and it is expensive, but this is world class and with the world's highest Green House. Another great wonder of Green Technology.

1. kopi, your avatar looks so young leh!
2. aiyoh!
3. some manmade gardens, another manmade no. 1
4. pretty expensive maintenance!

flowers, trees and gardens..for S$1B!!!!..how long can it last. will it go the way of the Chinese Garden, Japanese Garden or Tang Dynasty?

1. the 1b project could have include the land cost mah!
2. that is prime land hoh.
3. don't worry!
4. when the visitor numbers go down.
5. it shall turn into something money making again!

watchman8

Bulk of annual cost is for maintaining those 2 giant sized air-con glasshouses. Maybe the old man wants to use the taller glasshouse as his mausoleum, and the smaller one reserved for the son. This will show China whose the real boss.

Discovery Channel got an episode on GBTB. Ma BT boasted on the program that he was the key leader behind this project. Can spend over a billion dollars to build a garden, instead of building sufficient flats. Not surprisingly, a lot of money went to angmoh architects.

i dont deny that beautifying the skylines is important...but due diligence must be exercise when spending public money..and if we cant pay $200m for a project, why pay $1B? are we getting value for money?

i bring up the issue of due diligence because of the gross mishandling of YOG budget and planning

1. hahahaha!
2. i am just wondering no one has ever ask you this yet!
3. who did you last voted for ?
4. gal, there is still hope: 2016 !

TracyTan866

Sorry sister in my case promo or not I cant afford to go with my family. Its too rough financially for me.

actually, you are not alone..many singaporeans cant afford Sg attractions..how many of us can bring our families to GBTB, SG Flyer, etc..a family of four will set us back a few hundred dollars per outing.

these attractions look good and are mainly for visitors and tourists. it's so sad that maybe 30% of singaporeans cant afford to go to SG attractions.

many can only go to free places like East Coast beach...even then the park wardens will chase you away if you do not have camp permits..

TracyTan866

I don't expect to visit these attractions, but what concerns me is as a tax payer is the amount of tax money that has been wasted.

So how much public money was used to build & how much of the maintenance cost will be paid by tax dollars:confused:

build - S$1.035B
maintenance - S$1m per week

TracyTan866

Bulk of annual cost is for maintaining those 2 giant sized air-con glasshouses. Maybe the old man wants to use the taller glasshouse as his mausoleum, and the smaller one reserved for the son. This will show China whose the real boss.

Discovery Channel got an episode on GBTB. Ma BT boasted on the program that he was the key leader behind this project. Can spend over a billion dollars to build a garden, instead of building sufficient flats. Not surprisingly, a lot of money went to angmoh architects.

some of Discovery Channel programmes are paid adverts