• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Gardens By The Bay

the issue is "is GBTB worth the S$1B? " or has SG tax payers money been squandered?

cld GBTB be built for less?

Hmm...being there w wife and my two kids 6 and 9yrs old...matter of fact, its above expectation and all of us enjoyed tremendously...definitely worth the $$ I paid to get in and yes, though it's ex to build this thingy, I think it's still worth it as it is world class...Singapore will reap returns perhaps not exactly in dollars terms but in terms positive perception to the world ....again, argument for how the money should be spent is subjective, you can argue 10 thousand better ways to spend the money..I have no issue with them this time...

Oh....for the record, I voted opp in the GE ......

Hmm...being there w wife and my two kids 6 and 9yrs old...matter of fact, its above expectation and all of us enjoyed tremendously...definitely worth the $$ I paid to get in and yes, though it's ex to build this thingy, I think it's still worth it as it is world class...Singapore will reap returns perhaps not exactly in dollars terms but in terms positive perception to the world ....again, argument for how the money should be spent is subjective, you can argue 10 thousand better ways to spend the money..I have no issue with them this time...

Oh....for the record, I voted opp in the GE ......

glad that your family enjoyed GBTB..

back to the question...u think GBTB really cost S$1B?

glad that your family enjoyed GBTB..

back to the question...u think GBTB really cost S$1B?

Tracy...I agree, intutatively I did think its ex....but again, i do not know the scope (does the 1b includes infrastructure road and bridge building?) and even if i do, I'm do not have the expertise to gauge the overall architecture buildings and surroundng cost, cost in setting up the climatic environment necessary for the fragile flora habitat...are you equip to make this assessment?

So again, it's a matter of trust in the accounting...no kek leng Kia accounts.... For this matter, I would probably give them benefits of doubt....

Tracy...I agree, intutatively I did think its ex....but again, i do not know the scope (does the 1b includes infrastructure road and bridge building?) and even if i do, I'm do not have the expertise to gauge the overall architecture buildings and surroundng cost, cost in setting up the climatic environment necessary for the fragile flora habitat...are you equip to make this assessment?

So again, it's a matter of trust in the accounting...no kek leng Kia accounts.... For this matter, I would probably give them benefits of doubt....
You are very kind.

Yes, we are no experts. But intuition is important. Proper accountabilty and transparency is important.

we dont want the pap to squander public funds

we want tax payer's money to be well spent, so it is important for singaporeans to question.

just like the HDB flats. intuitively, we can sense that the selling price is much higher than the cost of building...so, it is important for us to question.

good to trust but it's good to follow up with questions

start thread @ 2+ pm ... post until now non-stop ...

u no nid 2 cook, no nid 2 eat, no nid 2 do other tings, no life outside sbf 1, ah? ...

I was thinking aLOng the same Line too..;)

agree...anyway it's overpriced and overhyped..

and the sad part is, it costs S$1B..what a waste of tax payers money to glorify the pap

From conception to completion, everything was most likely done by GLC directly or indirectly. We should be thankful it only cost 1-billion.

Welcome to Sinkapore, where the economy can be and have been artificially engineered and enhanced using tactics as above.

I was thinking aLOng the same Line too..;)

computer can be on for a few hrs...but i can still do many other things..dont have to sit in front of the computer.

sometimes, I leave my comp on overnight while i sleep

From conception to completion, everything was most likely done by GLC directly or indirectly. We should be thankful it only cost 1-billion.

Welcome to Sinkapore, where the economy can be and have been artificially engineered and enhanced using tactics as above.

you are a pessimist.

i dont think that GBTB is worth S$1B of tax payers' money and as an optimist, i wish that the govt will right what was done wrongly

Screen shot 2012-10-22 at AM 10.06.59.jpg

Now got offer leh, lol

Even with the offer, a family of four will cost you $235.9. and it does not include the cruiser ride at GBTB...including lunches, it will easily cost you $400.

But a s a Singaporean, does the offer sound attractive becasue it is most likely that you have been to Zoo and Birdpark...so the only likely attraction is GBTB...$400? think carefully...

you are a pessimist.

i dont think that GBTB is worth S$1B of tax payers' money and as an optimist, i wish that the govt will right what was done wrongly

Being an optimist in Sinkapoor will only result in disappointment, pain and suffering.

Wishing the gahmen to right any wrong is as good as asking LKY admitting he's a moronic despot.