• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

food scene in sg

Ur a funny guy. Anyway enjoy ur sense of humour. Forum like here cannot take every post so seriously:)

would u bring yr true self to make such a statement ?? Yes...no ..?

lucky number 13. egg prata and teh tarik from springleaf prata on jalan tua kong. prata is freshly made and extra crispy. can lift it up with middle finger without it folding. shiok!

View attachment 40723
x-very-malaysian-food-related-things-that-are-totally-satisfying-world-of-buzz-7.gif

Wah...u promote Jln Tua kong food ya. Ada share ya? Just kidding...:)

OK...if i got the time i will contribute some tips here too.
ok, this time it's binjai park at bukit timah. ivins peranakan. asam fish head. bagus!

LN3wNWm%S%uZvRhnvLAwNA.jpg

their beef rendang is especially good with a strong flavor of lemon grass. makan halfway already. they also have nasi lemak ayam rendang.

021D458F-AC7A-4BA6-A123-1EEF1A181B32.jpeg

morning makan at simpang bedok. this one claims to be the former ah lim mee pok at jalan tua kong. two other stores nearby at opposing corners also claim to be the original ah lim mee pok while an ah lim mee pok stall still sits at the kopitiam on the corner of jalan tua kong and upper east coast road. very confusing. anyway, narong and i posted about this long ongoing feud at another thread some time ago. this one though is quite good and very much like the mee pok of the current stall at jalan tua kong, except the chili/soy/vinegar sauce is slightly different. workers are mostly tiongs here.

O9ycSiPoR0ePlqZtWIwafA.jpg

fqyU8av8Rx2%lyVclkbvxQ.jpg

$1.80 kopi kaya toast egg set at food fare simei, if you're an ntuc union member.

KJXoqS4STlaGWzIj1Z0fyA.jpg

best tau suan and char kway teow so far during this trip. while the tau suan is shiok (prepared by sinkie auntie), highly recommend the char kway teow. both are found at the kopitiam food court in tampines mall (4th floor). this uncle who cooks the char kway teow knows his wok and work. one hand cooking with an iron spatula. a splash of oil, a dash of pounded garlic, handful of yellow noodles, another handful of kway teow, stir fry, dash of dark sauce, stir fry, clink clank clunk, eggs, stir fry, dash of gravy from hum container, handful of green veggie, sliced lup cheong, fish cake, stir fry, clink clank clunk, spatula scoop of dark sauce, stir fry, scoop of hum and dash of hum water, stir fry, handful of bean sprouts, hum water, last dash of oil, dash of chili paste (final ingredient), stir fry, cling clang clung for the next 6.9 seconds and viola! very good.

FosSUHTdS+Wq2s5%pvkYXg.jpg

jY+FWoykTr+DkxFSC+BjcQ.jpg

best tau suan and char kway teow so far during this trip. while the tau suan is shiok (prepared by sinkie auntie), highly recommend the char kway teow. both are found at the kopitiam food court in tampines mall (4th floor). this uncle who cooks the char kway teow knows his wok and work. one hand cooking with an iron spatula. a splash of oil, a dash of pounded garlic, handful of yellow noodles, another handful of kway teow, stir fry, dash of dark sauce, stir fry, clink clank clunk, eggs, stir fry, dash of gravy from hum container, handful of green veggie, sliced lup cheong, fish cake, stir fry, clink clank clunk, spatula scoop of dark sauce, stir fry, scoop of hum and dash of hum water, stir fry, handful of bean sprouts, hum water, last dash of oil, dash of chili paste (final ingredient), stir fry, cling clang clung for the next 6.9 seconds and viola! very good.

View attachment 41050
View attachment 41051

hum water = sai water?

lunch at lau pa sat. yong tau foo not that great as fishcake is not fresh and bouncy. $5.40. but nasi biryani is good. $6 to $6.90 depending on meat.
U%4ZY1nMR5CdnuucbbciPA.jpg

XCIoBL1ISaSVCKmbUu5MrQ.jpg

iconic ice cream of sg. this uncle has been serving ice cream on orchard road for decades. only $1.20 for durian ice cream with rainbow roti.
qVb42wI0RqesJNsSFErdeQ.jpg

UUico3hESr2ijch%b4n2CA.jpg