• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

'Economic' rice cost $12.80 at HDB Hub

Please, wherever possible, stop patronizing all these food courts. Food Republic is another notable example.

They are killing the small independent coffee shops, one by one. These soulless conglomerates are killing the F&B scene in Singapore.

this i must agree with you....the food scene is getting worse and worse
and those traditional hawker food and even those iconic foodstalls are being sold off to these conglomerates
and many of these traditional hawkers took the cash and spent it all - some into casinos and gone bonkers!!!!

STOMPer Kelvin was shocked when he asked a food store employee why his plate of economic rice costs $12.80, and was told to go eat at a coffeeshop if he wanted cheap food.

whoa... SGD$12.80... and he actually paid for it? kong kum si bo? me would have just walked away without eating and paying. madness!

Unrepented

Those in food industry will know; cheap food most likely not "good" food, just like those cheap buffets even in hotels and jap rest.

But $12.80 for that shit is too much.:kma:

It's self inflicted for the stomper.:biggrin::biggrin:

I don't buy from Tiong store or franchised food courts. I buy only from old uncle and auntie hawkers. They have more ethics as hawkers.

STOMPer Kelvin .......
"I was stunned when they told me that plate of food costs $12.80. I then asked why it was so expensive.
"And the answer I got was, 'This is HDB Hub... alot of rich people. If you want to eat cheap food, go coffeeshop'. "

RODYK

Sure that chang cheng rice stall employee is china dog shit or malaysia cat pee.
trying to talk cock n be funny towards customer.
Triple charge,must sack him revoke his animal pass.

Since they renovated the place, many of the old food stalls are history. Now the only stall that I would I go to is the rojak.

Silver Spoons food court which is located nearby next to Courts is I think a better place to eat. It's It is above ground, less crowded, cheaper, and even the food selection is more to my taste.

U r right. We must learn to walk away from such bad deals. If its at tat price. Vote with yr feet. The stall ppl will b even more dulan. Y give them biz? I should do tat more often.

whoa... SGD$12.80... and he actually paid for it? kong kum si bo? me would have just walked away without eating and paying. madness!

But if the guy already put the food on the rice, you just walk away, got chance can kena humtun leh...................... :o

Next time before order food, must ask how much first......................... :p

RODYK

But if the guy already put the food on the rice, you just walk away, got chance can kena humtun leh...................... :o

Next time before order food, must ask how much first......................... :p

U scare meh.just poh loud loud u jw5.
Free n free meal voucher for a year.

Heartening to see threads such as these complaining about basic hawker food.
World richest country indeed!
Rise up sheep!

There are many coffeeshops around Toa Payoh Central..

I can't believe this Gong Kia still willing to pay $12.80 and eat at that crap food court..

Rushwind

You have brought up a very good point, Airport restaurants are cheaper than downtown. I had an overseas fren that makan at the airport during the stopover and he found the price reasonable,

I had lunch yesterday at T1 staff canteen. Went for the nasi briyani with the price stated at $5. After one of the stall helper chopped the fried chicken, he asked me what vegetable dish i want. I was startled at first as I thought nasi briyani doesn't come with vegetables but then i thought it was part of the nasi briyani meal @ $5. So I chose the long bean and after that he proceed to hand me one packet of papadum (3 pieces inside). When I handed over a $10 note for payment, the change that came back to me was $3.40. I then asked the other cashier isn't $5 the cost of the nasi briyani? She then replied that the vegetable dish cost 80 cents while the papadum was also 80 cents.
So in the end, the nasi briyani cost me $6.60 versus the $5 that I had expected.

Maybe I am naive but it is not so much about the additional 80 cents each for the vegetable and papadum that I had to pay but more about the 'hidden' cost which, to me, stall holders seem to deliberately withhold from informing customers.