• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Degree, work in stat board, MSO(3) good?

Re: if work in stat board, need to work in RC?

this is outdated thinking from ex Singaporeans. Pple has moved on and even primary school children know the merits of preparing powerpoint slides. Surely a simple verbal presentation will do? Why do we need to dress it all up in a powerpoint presentation?

Reason is our colleagues, our supervisors are all our customers. We are doing our job to make EVERYONE happy, as much as we can. To not do certain things cos it is "ball licking" shows that one is outdated and does not understand customer service.

On one hand, complain about low customer service and on the other hand, not able to understand what is service.

What nonsense are you sprouting?

IN order to progress in his career, he need to join a RC. I thought joining RC is to help out for the benefit of others.

But to a sinkie, he needs that for his personal advancement in his career, that is to make himself happy. If that is not to ball lick for his own advancement, what do you call that?

What is it got to do with customer service? OUtdated.. wahahah!!! yeah, a sinkie always think he has advanced so much if so, why still get conned by PRC and the rest.

IN order to progress in his career, he need to join a RC. I thought joining RC is to help out for the benefit of others.

But to a sinkie, he needs that for his personal advancement in his career, that is to make himself happy. If that is not to ball lick for his own advancement, what do you call that?

What is it got to do with customer service? OUtdated.. wahahah!!! yeah, a sinkie always think he has advanced so much if so, why still get conned by PRC and the rest.

CB Kia tonychat,

why dun u go open that 1 man chatroom and talk to yourself.. again..:cool:

At 32, you should have worked a couple of years, heard and read enough to know that to excel in public sector, you must be among the top - in terms of paper qualifications (or maybe related to somebody :biggrin:). If your plan is just to take pay home everyday and do the same job, maybe it's good for you too. Just go to any govt run office - like HDB/CPF etc and take a look at those staff sitting behind the front line, see what they do. Is that what you want?

I would think that if there is no other choice, why not just take it up and be on the look out for something else if this is not your cup of tea since there aren't many choices for you in this economy right now. Take the opportunity to do some further training/study - a good thing to do in civil service.

IF you really sucked at office politics, which I think it's a survival skill, maybe you can explore teaching as there are no politics dealing with children/teenagers - only with peers and colleagues. Just don't anyhow teach :smile:.

I suggest he stay at home and dun work if he cannot handle the real things in life. Wait... isn't that balless sinkie behavior who is so scared of problems?

CB Kia tonychat,

balless ppl like YOU run away from singapore to work as a OKT in thailand..:cool:

shOUTloud

That's why I say you are outdated. I was trying to be polite when I say "ex Singaporeans" but you insisted on identifying yourself.

To get promoted must join RC. wahaha. such outdated thinking. It is obviously you have not worked in the govt sector. Just because some people say, you quickly jumped on board.

Anyway, so wat if they joined a RC to do something for the community in hope of getting something in return. At least better than doing nothing.

Such outdated thinking. Somemore so happy running around in Phuket showing middle finger, then turn around and say Singaporean not gracious.

wahaha

cass888

If you need the job desperately, take it. In the meantime for work in the private sector or in fact even another stat board which has got a degree opening.

Dear all,

I believe there are alot of people out here who are very knowledgeable about pay/politics in Singapore. I am making a decision about something, pls help if can..

I am holding a UOL degree (2nd lower honors) in Economics, and have just gotten a position in a certain stat board. However, the post I'm applying for is actually a executive service officer post (most of the degree posts are unavailable). As such, I understand that the post is actually for Diploma holders with 2-3 years working experience.

During the interview, I had the impression that I will be given degree grade while holding this position. But I received the call from HR, while I was delighted that I selected, I realised from HR that my payscale grading is not degree grade, but diploma grade. HR had informed me that for degree grading, the scale is something call SUPERSCALE, HASE or AMAX (something like that, i'm not sure sorry). But for my case, it will be MSO because the post is actually MSO. And because of my experience, I am given MSO grade 3. So, in a way, I will be in this scale all the way, going forward.

My friends told me that it will be very hard for me to change scale (from dipolma to degree scale) and next time if I"m promoted, I will be promoted from MSO grade 3 to 4, to 5, etc... and will not be going to upwards, but moving along that scale.

Does anyone know what does it mean? I heard that it's also performance based... May I know what is the increment for scales such as MSO(3). Is there any bonus in stats board (I heard there's performance, mid-year, year end bonus)? Then in the event i'm promoted, does that means that I"m getting MSO(4) while retaining my designation.

I dont' know and I will be calling HR tomorrow to let them know my decision!

That said, I must say that I appreciate that I've found a job in stat board in this bad times. They are only looking for one position and I got it. I have thanked God and I really appreciate. I am only curious about the payscale, paygrade that stat board is offering (I've never worked in stat board before).

Please give me your advice, gentlemen.

That's why I say you are outdated. I was trying to be polite when I say "ex Singaporeans" but you insisted on identifying yourself.

To get promoted must join RC. wahaha. such outdated thinking. It is obviously you have not worked in the govt sector. Just because some people say, you quickly jumped on board.

Anyway, so wat if they joined a RC to do something for the community in hope of getting something in return. At least better than doing nothing.

Such outdated thinking. Somemore so happy running around in Phuket showing middle finger, then turn around and say Singaporean not gracious.

wahaha

That is exactly the problem.. doing something which is suppose to be a voluntary work and have the motive to get something in return. That is how your country run things and create the whole population of sub-human behavior called sinkie behavior.

If you call that an advancement, then i am glad i am not into it. Only a sinkie will called that an advancement, yes and advancement to Hell.

That outdated thinking is i get it from the other forumer, but you seems to refer to the same action as an advancement in thinking. what an irony.

wahaha

clap clap clap...

that CB Kia tonychat very 'sinkielike' huh..:biggrin:

Ha1ry Potter

At this point of time...got job consider very lucky liao!
Take it and accumulate ur experience.

Once economy recover (god nose when...) then start to job hop.

:biggrin: :p :biggrin:

yes, follow this very sound advice.
grab this job first, make the most out of it, learn as much as you can.
in the real world, "sometimes", it is not about the degree, bit who is your immediate superior "supporting" you.
if you are his blue-eye-boy, you will climb, if not, then, henta-kaki lah.
whatever, just be humble and do your job well, then when economy picks up, do look for something you Love to do.

Good Luck.