This is an excellent thread. What started of as Sam's usual attempt to take the mickey out of someone has led to a full blown discussion between Sam and Tracy. Kudos to Tracy (Sumiko) to starting this discussion and keeping it real. Kudos to Sam for his thoughts. Kudos also to others who contributed to make this engaging. I have been watching this closely and it quite an intense and robust discussion. At this stage, I can see many valid points from all quarters. Would I highly recommend that this becomes a sticky at least for a while.
dunno make sticky for fark ...? she will bump up every response anyway
She does well in her own way.... with responses which are designed to infuriate rather than than rebut.
I dun really follow her threads anymore....
she argue and debate like PAP... she ish lookin for agreement not debate... read her threads for fark???? and that s not the problem.. she argue based on sentiments, opinion than on facts and figure...
I hate to say this but she argue like a gal so I dun think she is FCP.... or maybe she is cause most girls I know are not so extreme
A swallow does not a summer make.
You can't say that the electorate voted TPL in favour of NS..that's not the absolute truth..
Marine Parade choose PAP over NSP.. and the Macpherson ward where both lasses concentrate on, has the 2nd highest PAP vote% in MP grc after gct ward...
Poor taxi drivers have to play 10hr days to pay for exhorbitant taxi rentals of $97 per day to pay for the magmt board's salaries...Is that legal?- Yes...Is that moral? -no..is that corrupt?..u tell me
that is just business... so making $ = crumbling?
yes..u r right..the real vote will come when singaporeans know how the pap works...time is on the side of the 40 %...the 60% will swing towards the 40%...the pap knows its days are numbered
biased opinion or unbiased fact?
I differ from you. I have travelled much and I think the aus and NZ govts govern their countries excellently.
biased arrogant opinion? or facts from TracyTan866?
Tell me where in any of my responses I have tried to "run you down". All I've been doing is pointing out that by world standards, Singapore is a great place to live and the govt is very efficient and honest compared to most other governments.
Are you saying that you have been agreeing with what I said all along?
1st she say boss is running her down then when Boss say Singapore is a great place, she ask Boss whether he agree with her ..
this after she start a thread on SIngapore crumbling
is she mad? where does she learn reading comprehension
so boss not running her down mean he agreed with her ? sound like george bush rhetoric
have I not listed enough of what it did to convince you that it's not a clean and honest govt?
still have not list how dirty and dishonest govt = crumbling.... another standard Tracy asssumption ... leap of imagination...
You missed the big picture..It's not abt an MRT breakdown.
It's abt the mismanagement of SG and the eventual crumbling of SG .
now she say eventual... another of her delusional fantasy
I have to say again that you dont know how the pap has mismanaged SG until you know more abt what they do and not what you read
peepur dunno but she know best .... what a great arguement.!!! again no figure no anecdote no stat or example to back up...
As I have said before and I dont wish to belabour my point..you are entitled to your opinion. we agree to disagree
so now this become a matter of opinions and here is where i stop reading previously and dunno why boss continue to debate after she declare she is a deaf frog
I have personally seen a full grown fruit tree, with semingly healthy looking leaves & fruits in its glory, fell by a colony of termites living inside. Yes, we have the least corruption, but we have have 'wood worms' & 'termites' in the system. Are we going to wait till a seemingly, healthy & bustling 'tree' collapse, & that will be too late.
The 60% have no idea, what they are buying into!, by the way, how could the swallows arrive, when there are predator birds on the horizon, shoot these first, then the swallows will come for the summer, unless the 100% is waiting for the winter of discontent to fall upon us & do us all in?
nice anecdote.... does tracy know how to tell 1 beside her opinion?
well said..people cant use the 60% mandate to justify that the pap is a popular govt. they shd be more discerning and know the wiles and schemes employed by the pap to hold on to power..
wiles and schemes used by pap...eliminating and disqualifying good political opponents, GRCs, control of the media, compliant judiciary, etc..
despite all these, the pap only managed 60%..what a shame...
using the word "should".. like ah gong
people vote PAP so they are not discerning and dun know the wiles and schemes.... another Tracy know best post... she talk like a PAP minister
It seems like the "grass is greener on the other side" for you. You have shown yourself to be ungrateful. if you speak so well of the pap and singapore's system and is so fed-up with NZ, why dont you return to SG?
I am sure NZ wont miss you
you wun notice how flawed her agruement is until you read it from another angle below
It seems like the "grass is greener on the other side" for you. You have shown yourself to be ungrateful. if you speak so bad of the pap and singapore's system and is so infatuated with NZ, why dont you leave SG and goto NZ?
I am sure SG wont miss you
see what I mean??? flawed agruement = flawed agruement ... not disputing any conclusion
I dont need to experience NS to speak out against NS. It's morally wrong, unrighteous and unconstitutional to discriminate against SG guys and force them to serve NS. and if I can speak out so vociferiously against NS, why are you so b.lless, condoning and quietly accepting NS and chiding me for speaking out?
agree with her about NS being morally wrong but not breaking the law doesnt = balless... she is balless so she is the least qualified to call others balless
as for me, I am different. I rather try to improve what I see as wrong
she doesnt even have the guts to tell us what party she join and what she has done for the people .... huat a farking joke
not totally correct. SG parents are very focused in bringing up their children properly. Singaporeans are also very hardworking, industrious and thrifty. that's why many Singaporeans are successful
another opinion.... no facts or figure... if Singaporeans are successful, its because Singaporeans parent are goot... if sinkie cant make it, then its PAP fault...
if 60% sinkie vote PAP, then its also PAP fault...
sg is crumbling ... wat u gonna do about it? ...
I know what to do
standard woman reply.... forum quality goes down
I disagree. I see Singaporeans working very hard in schools and in the work place. It's the lack of opportunities caused by bad govt policies that killed manufacturing and the severe high cost of living that are killing singaporeans. That is the biggest pap mistake...not that Singaporeans are spoilt...
if Singaporeans working very hard and still lose to Foreign students in school what does that said?
The pap doesnt believe in social welfare and has always made Singaporeans pay for every drop of water and every cc of blood. On top of that, the pap imposes tax on all service and goods. So how has the pap spoilt Singaporeans? Every Singaporean's success is due to their hard work and acumen and they fully deserve praise for it. The govt benefits from Singaporean's diligence.
Singaporean are successful, hard working with acumen and diligent but need welfare.
nahhh..the worst Singaporean is better qualified and has better civic consciousness than most foreigners. the pap made a mistake by bad mouthing Singaporeans. the pap tries to win foreigners' hearts and loyalty. this is going to backfire on Singapore and the pap.
opinions opinions opinions opinions opinions opinions
the data for the lowest 20% of Singapore household is freely available..it's not state secret. so you can get it easily.
I guess you are like the pap...look at data you want to look at and glorify them but ignore those that dont present a nice picture.
Monish, like Murdoch and many foreigners, feel into that trap
she doesnt even look at data.... she look at posts she want to look at and glorify them but ignore facts that dont agree with her dismissing it as opinion
Good points...I agree and support what u said
see what I mean? the problem with her is she doesnt or cant come up with those good post she agree with
Well said. You are very discerning and knowledgeable. Like I said b4, the pap getting only 60% after using unfair tactics, shows that, 40% of Singaporeans see through the wiles and evils of the pap. This number will grow and 2011 sees the beginning of PAP's demise, because their lies are exposed.
Unlike many here who see darkness for SG because 60% voted for the pap in 2011, I see light because 40% were able to see through the fog of the pap. That's catalyst for change. That's cause for optimism
more doom and gloom for PAP.... Her rhetoric sound like Tony and Tharman
The pap speaks accolades of its achievements but kept quiet about its failures
EVERY SINGLE GOVT IN THE WORLD does exactly the same thing.
Disagree. Did the Aus govt let in 25% of SG's population of cheap foreign workers within a few years?
Did the aus govt not carry out stringent checks on people applying for PR and thereby letting in people with fake qualifications.
So dont exaggerate and misinform...not every govt does what the pap do...
see how she change the point of contention ??? how to debate... she switch topic whenever she like.. who is exaggerating and misinforming
if you think the nz govt is bad, it doesnt mean that the pap govt is good...
if you think the nz govt is good, it doesnt mean that the pap govt is no good... ??? sound like a bad arguement ? see above quote
We have fundamentally different opinions. I think pap govt is bad based on what it does, regardless of how other govts fare. You think NZ govt is bad and therefore, by comparison, pap is good.
Boss can do comparative analysis, can tracy?
if pap's vote goes below 60%, then most singaporeans agree with me that the pap has governed badly...
most singaporeans agree with her if PAP 's vote goes below 60% ???? 40.000001% = most singaporeans ???
Read LeongSam's postings and you know that he is stubborn and insistent..he has one track mind and cant see beyond what he believes and cant accept differing opinions...are these signs of an old and tired man?
TracyTan is describing herself, is she an old and tired man?
You think you are debating. But debating you are not.
Do forumners here think that you are stating facts and your points are valid? or are your "facts" just your bias opinions?
see above.... who dun bother to debate? who dun bother to state facts
He is either unquestionably bias or ignorant of present SG realities. Either way it reveals alot abt LeongSam. He is very ordinary, not the person he tries to portray himself to be
and Tracy know all about everything
Have you seen the latest cost/benefit analysis?
has she ? has she post any analysis, stat?
True...this will cause many social problems in future...How can a responsible govt allow this to happen to its citizens?
more self wanking rhetorical question..
What do you know abt me to advise me so? you dont believe me when I said that I have travelled enough to know what I am saying?
You sound arrogant to think that you know more abt me than I know myself..
You insist that I dont know what I am talking abt and only you know what you are talking abt.
WOAH !!?!?
Do you know which countries I have been to and how long I have stayed there?
Do you think you have travelled more and seen more countries than me? These must be your assumptions when you dished out your advice to me..Interestingly arrogant!
still refuse to reveal any fact or number on how many country she been to ... let just take her words... because she is not arrogant!
such crude policy creates internal distrust and latent animosity with Malaysia and Indonesia. wld a more balanced approach be better in the longterm?
more self wanking rhetorical question..
I speak only for OZ and NZ where I have lived for a long time and know the system intimately. It's not a numbers game and it's not about "seeing" a country. It's about having participated in the political process as a member of the electorate.
you can speak for yourself, but dont assume you can speak for me
TracyTan is OZ or NZ ???
Of course you didnt know that that showed arrogance.
only TracyTan866 knows and she is not arrogant
So far, you have not mentioned anything substantial nor convincing except running down the NZ govt. You have neglected, either deliberately or unintentionally, to answer the more probing questions asked. If you want to sound more convincing, can you try to make sense and answer some of the questions asked in this thread?
i dun see probing questions, I see self wanking