• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Choo Seng Quee Singaporean footballer

Michal Vana said sorry to me: Abbas Saad

former Singapore football idol Abbas Saad talks about his match-fixing conviction and his meeting with fugitive ex-teammate, Michal Vana.

Abbas Saad is now a football pundit with Malaysian sports network Astro (Photo courtesy of Abbas Saad)
It was an apology that took nearly 17 years in coming.

Ad

Former footballer Abbas Saad finally got the sorry he was waiting for from ex-teammate Michal Vana when they met in the middle of last year in a Prague hotel.

The pair were embroiled in a match-fixing scandal in 1995 when they were both playing for Singapore in the Malaysian League and Malaysia Cup tournaments. In court, Abbas said he had been approached by Vana to fix matches.

While Abbas stayed behind to face the music, Vana jumped bail and absconded to the Czech Republic, where he has remained a fugitive since.

In a subsequent trial that captured the imagination of the local football community, the Lebanon-born Australian and former pin-up boy of Singapore football was found guilty of conspiring with Vana to score goals for Singapore.

He was fined $50,000 by the Subordinate Courts in June 1995.

Although he was considered by the Court to have played only a minimal role in the criminal scheme and had pulled out of the agreement after three games, he was slapped with a life ban for all football activities by the Football Association of Singapore. That was only lifted in 2009 after he appealed.

At the time, he was also given a worldwide FIFA ban that ended in 1996.

Despite the conviction, Abbas, now 43, has always maintained his innocence in the saga. In previous interviews, he called his conviction "puzzling" because he had been punished for "scoring goals and helping my team win."

Still, he admitted that his mind was in a whirl when Vana fled Singapore and there were still questions in his mind that needed clarification from the Czech.

"I've got nothing against him [Vana], but unfortunately, he put me in a little bit of a bother [when he fled Singapore]," Abbas said in an interview with Yahoo! Singapore recently.

Thus, the much-awaited meeting -- arranged by Touchwood Productions, an Australian-based production house behind the upcoming film documentary "Turning Point In The Game -- The Abbas Saad Story" -- was a chance for Abbas "to make sure he didn't do anything bad to me then".

Heard that Vana was allowed to escape.
And the Malaysian connection that a Datuk helped him. The bugger even transit thru Changi Airport after became wanted man hehe I doubt now is possible to pull off

Heard that Vana was allowed to escape.
And the Malaysian connection that a Datuk helped him. The bugger even transit thru Changi Airport after became wanted man hehe I doubt now is possible to pull off

Yup. Heard about that. Just wondering why his passport was with him. CPIB didn’t seize his passport or Vana had another?

Nothing beats Abbas Saad’s case. If I recall correctly, charged for winning the game! I guess that’s a win-win for Abbas as well as CPIB.
Bribe to win a game. What a joke!
means match bonuses and prize money also bribes

Bribe to win a game. What a joke!
means match bonuses and prize money also bribes

I strongly believe all the Prosecution wanted was a conviction. Never mind the absurdity involved.

In the absence of strong evidence, struck deal with Abbas to PG to amended charge of kelonging to win game. Better than an acquittal if claimed trial. Must be the first and only recorded case you get convicted for playing to win.

That ball from Quah Kim Song never did Abbas expected, he any how Hamtam header and it masok goal. He was shock himself. I heard tat was what happened.

What have you been smoking? Since when did KS played with Abbas?

Nothing beats Abbas Saad’s case. If I recall correctly, charged for winning the game! I guess that’s a win-win for Abbas as well as CPIB.
Yeah I remember that.

Ridiculous lah.

His purpose on the field is to score goals. Scoring goals helps the team win. And the team is aiming to win.

So what harmful effect does that have when he gets extra bonus for scoring goals FOR his own team?

Stupid sinkie police.

Feel for Samad who lost his son recently.... A regular at 4D outlets in the East buying 4D and betting on football games... Not sure if he's still into horse racing.... No airs about him, humble man...

Fandi kena burnt badly when he became guarantor for his then business partners years back. Glad that he doin well now...

Yes his failed car business some 15 years ago, but not sure if it was in Kallang area.

is at Kallang

name is Malay name xxx Auto

Fandi greenhorn in biz

he tot becos of his fame

his supporters will buy car from him

end up game over

his wife open a kids boutique at Forum Galaria also game over

that time he drove a Purple BMW - XX 13

is at Kallang

name is Malay name xxx Auto

Fandi greenhorn in biz

he tot becos of his fame

his supporters will buy car from him

end up game over

his wife open a kids boutique at Forum Galaria also game over

that time he drove a Purple BMW - XX 13
Now he no car.
took my friend’s GrabCar and my friend got a selfie!
Still as friendly as ever you really can’t dislike him.
his mismanagement of money a big part due to wife’s illness

Now he no car.
took my friend’s GrabCar and my friend got a selfie!
Still as friendly as ever you really can’t dislike him.
his mismanagement of money a big part due to wife’s illness

last time during his high time

he stay in a landed house at Seletar Hills near me

he always jog past my house

and my Leticia told me she saw Fandi jogging

I scolded her telling her dun talk nonsense

but is true Fandi stayed there

after that he damn suayed

all the gold turned into charcoal

last time during his high time

he stay in a landed house at Seletar Hills near me

he always jog past my house

and my Leticia told me she saw Fandi jogging

I scolded her telling her dun talk nonsense

but is true Fandi stayed there

after that he damn suayed

all the gold turned into charcoal
His house I heard less than 2 years renovate one time.
Perfectly new sinks, faucets and fittings all torn out and throw.....my contractor friend told me very ‘sayang’

His house I heard less than 2 years renovate one time.
Perfectly new sinks, faucets and fittings all torn out and throw.....my contractor friend told me very ‘sayang’

why must dismantle ?

just sell with the house lah