• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Becoming a taxi driver

Nothing wrong driving a cab. While you won't reach the sky, touching the ceiling is the limit. But, that did not stop one taxi driver from producing a Commissioner of Police.

I thought GCT's father was a taxi-driver?

$3k/month not much consider working everyday. No other benefit>> annual leave/MC/bonus/CPF................
Anyone with Salary $1800 is better than taxi driver if add in all the benefit as a employee of a company.
Let do calculation
Basic Salary $1800
1. CPF by employee $270 on average depending on age
2. AWS about $150 on average/month.
3. Extra bonus1 month~2 month>> $150~$300
4. Medical benefit.
5. Average work 365-104(Sat+Sun)-11 holiday= 250day(not included deduct annual leave/MC/CC leave on average another 20~30day/year). So total only working about 225 day/year.

So taxi driver is low pay worker.

$3k/month not much consider working everyday. No other benefit>> annual leave/MC/bonus/CPF................
Anyone with Salary $1800 is better than taxi driver if add in all the benefit as a employee of a company.

What about transport cost? I believe rental is 6 days only and Sunday is free. Also, there are bonuses given by the transport companies if you rent the taxi for one year.

You only get 2 weeks annual leave AFTER working past one year or service. No company gives you leave immediately after you start working.

Bonuses depends also on the company you worked for. Not all companies give bonus, only 13th months. And we know that the 13th month is actually 12 months divided by 13, only they do not actually mention it. For example, say you have an agreement with a school bus operator to take your child to and from school every school day. During the December holidays, they expect you to pay them for December although your child is not attending school. It's the same thing for 13th month bonus.

If you drive a taxi, how much you earn depends on you. If you are good/lucky, you have contractual work, i.e., sending workers to and from office everyday or similar types of contracts. There are some who makes a very good living from driving taxis, and some even owned their Mercedes taxi under a different scheme.

driving taxi also allows you to post frequently on sbf and meet friends...although its not wise to befriend mentally challenged people like clinton.

If you drive a taxi, how much you earn depends on you. If you are good/lucky, you have contractual work, i.e., sending workers to and from office everyday or similar types of contracts. There are some who makes a very good living from driving taxis, and some even owned their Mercedes taxi under a different scheme.

driving taxi also allows you to post frequently on sbf and meet friends...although its not wise to befriend mentally challenged people like clinton.
Actually I dun mind being a taxi driver if i'm out of job :D:D:D

What about transport cost? I believe rental is 6 days only and Sunday is free. Also, there are bonuses given by the transport companies if you rent the taxi for one year.

You only get 2 weeks annual leave AFTER working past one year or service. No company gives you leave immediately after you start working.

Bonuses depends also on the company you worked for. Not all companies give bonus, only 13th months. And we know that the 13th month is actually 12 months divided by 13, only they do not actually mention it. For example, say you have an agreement with a school bus operator to take your child to and from school every school day. During the December holidays, they expect you to pay them for December although your child is not attending school. It's the same thing for 13th month bonus.

Too bad tell u the truth. On average only about one day free rental/month. Not every week.
Work for company. They normal give pro-rated leave>> eg. 12day/year every month credit one day leave.
So in the end my calculation should be accurate anyone $1800 pay/month is better than taxi driver. If add in all the benefit(AWS/bonus/leave/medical benefit/Child care leave/........................)

If it is SO HARD to drive a TAXI and still there are so many cabbies PICKING AND CHOOSING DESTINATIONS

THE SOLUTION is for the idiotic, useless, cock-up LTA TO start providing VOCATIONAL LICENCES TO PRs AND FOREIGNERS

In Malaysia, they are more productive - PRs can drive taxis and help commuters save time

SINGAPORE SHOULD ALLOW PR AND FOREIGNERS TO DRIVE TAXI! DO IT NOW!

There are some who makes a very good living from driving taxis, and some even owned their Mercedes taxi under a different scheme.
I dun think now got such thing as owning taxi like in HK after they phase out the black and yellow taxis.
Btw what is definition of good living? 6k per month?

Too bad tell u the truth. On average only about one day free rental/month. Not every week.
Work for company. They normal give pro-rated leave>> eg. 12day/year every month credit one day leave.
So in the end my calculation should be accurate anyone $1800 pay/month is better than taxi driver. If add in all the benefit(AWS/bonus/leave/medical benefit/Child care leave/........................)

In other words you are saying it is better to get a job at $1800/- per month fixed wages rather than being a taxi driver who can earn $3000/- to $6000/- a month?

Since so many sinkies here complaining Taxi driver is a hard job and low pay, I propose to open up the Tzxi licences to FW.

I dun think now got such thing as owning taxi like in HK after they phase out the black and yellow taxis.
Btw what is definition of good living? 6k per month?

This is from another forum which I took liberty to copy and paste.

http://sgforums.com/forums/4148/topics/450015

There are a few ways to be come a private limousine driver. One of the better way is through the phrases of getting thru the taxi industry, (build a better clientele base infrastructure).

Most of the Pte Limo drivers i know started from the taxi industry. Well, most of us started as normall cabbies, before turning into limousine cabs or Maxicabs. If you are successful (in terms of huge clientele base) & with some resources (capital), the next stage, is the limousine(s) you owned and service passengers we choose. No more street pickup. All passengers at limousine rates.

Please share your views and contributions here.

01 Apr `12, 2:58PM

Why pay $$$ amount as daily rental to taxis companies ?

The new E250 CDI is price @$160 per day.

Excluding hirer bonus, you will be pay $160 x 365 days = $58,400.

For 7 years of Taxi business vehicle lifespan (with 1 year optional) = $58,400 x 7 yrs. You will be paying $408,000 to the taxi company....

Which u can buy 3 Mercedes Benz Viano on PH plates.

01 Apr `12, 3:03PM

& at the end of the 7 years life span of the taxi vehicle, they (taxis companies) will give you another Mercedes-Benz limousine cab at a higher daily rental.....icon_lol.gif

Whereas @ the end of your financing loan with the financial institution or banks, the private limousine vehicle belongs to you.... not the taxi company after paying $408k. icon_lol.gif
01 Apr `12, 3:07PM

Fellow TD normal cabs don't be dishearted,

many of the limousine drivers started from normal cab driving, after that, upgraded to driving limousine cabs.

From there, if you have the marketing mind, you would build your own clientele base thru the years.

In other words you are saying it is better to get a job at $1800/- per month fixed wages rather than being a taxi driver who can earn $3000/- to $6000/- a month?

I mean if taxi driver take home $3k/month better get a fix job.
If $6k of course taxi driver will be much better of. But Most driver get only $3k driver 12hr shift/co-sharing.

I mean if taxi driver take home $3k/month better get a fix job.
If $6k of course taxi driver will be much better of. But Most driver get only $3k driver 12hr shift/co-sharing.

No one taxi-driver will tell the truth as to the amount they take home. From all indications, there are some who do well and there are some who barely make it. You are assuming all who want to take up driving taxis as having the ability to earn $1800/- per month. I can assure you there are many who cannot even get a job much less one that pays $1800/-. Some are too old, some cannot write or speak English and some prefer to be their own boss.

bro yellowribbon, if you really want to drive taxi,i can tell u some things not every cabby is aware.pm me if u keen, dun make a hooha out of this thread.
This is from another forum which I took liberty to copy and paste.

http://sgforums.com/forums/4148/topics/450015

There are a few ways to be come a private limousine driver. One of the better way is through the phrases of getting thru the taxi industry, (build a better clientele base infrastructure).

Most of the Pte Limo drivers i know started from the taxi industry. Well, most of us started as normall cabbies, before turning into limousine cabs or Maxicabs. If you are successful (in terms of huge clientele base) & with some resources (capital), the next stage, is the limousine(s) you owned and service passengers we choose. No more street pickup. All passengers at limousine rates.

Please share your views and contributions here.

01 Apr `12, 2:58PM

Why pay $$$ amount as daily rental to taxis companies ?

The new E250 CDI is price @$160 per day.

Excluding hirer bonus, you will be pay $160 x 365 days = $58,400.

For 7 years of Taxi business vehicle lifespan (with 1 year optional) = $58,400 x 7 yrs. You will be paying $408,000 to the taxi company....

Which u can buy 3 Mercedes Benz Viano on PH plates.

01 Apr `12, 3:03PM

& at the end of the 7 years life span of the taxi vehicle, they (taxis companies) will give you another Mercedes-Benz limousine cab at a higher daily rental.....icon_lol.gif

Whereas @ the end of your financing loan with the financial institution or banks, the private limousine vehicle belongs to you.... not the taxi company after paying $408k. icon_lol.gif
01 Apr `12, 3:07PM

Fellow TD normal cabs don't be dishearted,

many of the limousine drivers started from normal cab driving, after that, upgraded to driving limousine cabs.

From there, if you have the marketing mind, you would build your own clientele base thru the years.

another one produced a Perm Sec :(

Got Free Car, Come And A Teck See Driver

2774736954_c316131d46_z.jpg

Taxi driving so good meh. I thought taxi drivers always complain about their biz. Good for those 2k employees who want independence and a car for free.

one lg almost had to end up as a cab driver after losing his shirt in ozzie real estate. parliament had to bail him out. gov-linked real estate entity ended up with the property and development. no mystery that the perth clientele mostly comprises the high and mighty from sg. lg offered to sell his east coast mg condo to me several suns ago. would be shocking to see him driving a cab and surfing sbf.