• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Funds Transfer

Bro , I suggest 2nd Saturday of the month , to avoid heavy jam . Traffic is un-usually heavy on those pay days period, which usually easy off towards the middle of every month , except eve of holidays. Time ?

True eh, beginning of the month is always spending time!

I guess for time if we put it at 6 to 9 pm, we could just have a dinner, coffee, surf on iPad or get car serviced if 'sway sway' no show?

Or probably need to get Boss Wuji to broadcast this?

jasonjst

Dear all

Did some house hunting yesterday and like to share some points:

Taman Laguna
- All international units allocated were fully taken up.
- Registration for Phase 4 has already taken place though no dates were confirmed
- Saw the log book, thick with names of Singaporeans
- This will be the final phase as the land owned by Nusa Utama would have been fully developed
- Surrounding land does not belong to Nusa Utama, and that probably include the Orang Asli land

Nusa Duta
- Cluster houses will be launched in April at RM 800K upwards
- Registration is on going.
- Terraces will be launched closer to 2nd Half of 2012
- Currently, semi-Ds at $1.1M is available with good perimeter security (camera) and anti-burglary alarm
- Serviced apartments (D'Rich) are still available
- Beyond that, I think the land that IJM owned in that region would have been fully developed too

Horizon Hills
- Teeming with people even after 6pm
- Link houses are still available at the link
- Mostly between RM 850K to RM 950K
- Comes with golf course membership which is a nice perk
- Was looking for the cheaper Greens terrace but believe that they are sold out
- One semi-D available at the Golf

Everything is selling fast it seems! :*:

After this final launch , need to look far away already , basically no more cheap landed in these few areas.

EDTBA

After this final launch , need to look far away already , basically no more cheap landed in these few areas.

Setia Eco Gardens should be launching development in new precints soon. Its already open for registration so perhaps a visit to their show room is worthwhile.

captainjones

Hi all, I just joined this forum recently, though I have been reading it for quite a while. I bought a terrace @ EL phase 8 and that shld be ready in Jan 2012. Just like u guys to know I appreciate the knowledge and experiences u shared in this forum. Those r invaluable information esp for guys like myself who wasn't quite sure if it was a right choice when I made the purchase. Now I know better. Thanks to u lot! If there is such gathering, hope u guys keep in me the loop.

Diaspora

Actually hor ... I remember there is a Malaysian tv celeb for ID. I think it's a Malay dude and bald. I don't know his name ... If u see any bald Designer on front page cover, buy it ...

Bro, Eric Leong... A very charming and humble guy!
He is my idol!! :smile:

Diaspora

Dear all,

You may not want the EDL to 'open' anytime soon...because then all motorists will have to start paying the extremely high toll...for the next 34years.

And why are motorists being charged the same at the Sg side anyway??

"For those who would use the EDL, it will be the most expensive highway in Malaysia. If that is not bad enough, Singapore had also announced that they will also increase their toll rate by the same equivalent amount. It would then cost a motorist additional RM24.80 irrespective of whether or not the motorist will be using the EDL."

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/...out-the-eastern-dispersal-link-steven-choong/

avalon74

Thank you so much for your kind words but I am not even worth a speck of dust on the soles of his feet. I am not better in any way, i just do what i feel is right for the person as i know in that situation, i would wished to be helped too. Many have helped me along the way, taxi drivers, strangers, van drivers. I am just paying society back anyway i can.

Goodness is inborn in every single one of us just that as time goes by dust and events cloud what we think. Do what you think is right and reflect daily, we are all fellow travellers trying to find our own way in life. Realisation of ones nature is already a first step forward.

I always shared with my family, never be worried about making mistakes, only be worried about not admitting it. What you do not realise, you do not correct, what you do not correct, you will be doomed to making it in an endless circle. Break that circle, life can actually be easier and better than we thought possible. I am still working hard on achieving this goal.

As humans, we are the so called custodians of the earth but we are also the ones who suffer the most. Humans are animals too. Please be kind to your fellow humans.

humility is also a virtue we shd learn from.. your benevolence will inspire many bros to follow likewise...

jasonjst

Dear all,

You may not want the EDL to 'open' anytime soon...because then all motorists will have to start paying the extremely high toll...for the next 34years.

And why are motorists being charged the same at the Sg side anyway??

"For those who would use the EDL, it will be the most expensive highway in Malaysia. If that is not bad enough, Singapore had also announced that they will also increase their toll rate by the same equivalent amount. It would then cost a motorist additional RM24.80 irrespective of whether or not the motorist will be using the EDL."

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/...out-the-eastern-dispersal-link-steven-choong/

Wow Lau , I think those businesses in JB city going to eat shit liao !

Funds Transfer

Despite everything, I think the move to stay in JB is inevitable.

I know the Government in Singapore is saying that the city is an affordable place with flats available for you even if you earn only $1,000 a month and $8 heart surgery is possible.

But I seriously doubt when I look around at the costs scaling the heights.

This morning, I just had a breakfast session with my family of four which we have not done enough together. It was at a HDB estate's coffee shop and the costs involved do make me wonder.

Wife = Char Bee Hoon with a fishcake and egg ($2.70), Coffee ($1.20)
Son = Bowl of Fish Ball Kway Teow soup ($2.80)
Daughter = 3 Siew Mai ($1.60)
Me = Wan Ton Noodle ($3), Coffee ($1.20)

We have done so similarly at Tesco Bukit Indah just a week ago and the numbers that stacked up.

Teh Tarik (RM 1.30)
Hot Plate Noodles (RM 5.30)
10 Kueh Bulu (RM 3)
Nasi Lemak (RM 2)

Seriously, more than $10 breakfast session in a HDB estate is quite frightening. Or am I overspending on my meals? :eek::eek::eek:

arsenal

My main con takes months still not able to show me any kitchen cabinet design or quote.. So I went to see classy 2 weeks ago, place down payment that this week they begin installation.. All in all since theirs are made in bulk from their factory, I guess the quality will be more consistent.. Workmanship can never compare with Singapore..(even though most of the Singapore Tao Chiu also from JB), but good enough.. Now waiting for the solid top to be up.. Maybe next week can provide you guys some feedback if you pm me..

I went to the classy booth at the homefair... Find their price quite reasonable... Wondering how's their workmanship... Any comments? Any picture to show?

arsenal

This morning got another summon from Certis Cisco.. Too much traffic in parkway area, kid is late for lesson.. so I pulled my car at the side, bring my kid across the 2 lane road.. When I turned around, I saw a china national parking attendant already issued a summon.. Obviously see saw me cross the road with my kid... Last month I also have a $200 fine and 12 demerit points.. I agreed I parked illegally temporarily but I always made sure I won't cause any inconvenience to anyone.. And this time, I guessed it is less than a minute... I felt very sick.. Driving a car in Singapore is like a walking ATM.. The china national officer obviously don't care and understand..

I know the Government in Singapore is saying that the city is an affordable place with flats available for you even if you earn only $1,000 a month and $8 heart surgery is possible.

This morning, I just had a breakfast session with my family of four which we have not done enough together. It was at a HDB estate's coffee shop and the costs involved do make me wonder.

We have done so similarly at Tesco Bukit Indah just a week ago and the numbers that stacked up.

Teh Tarik (RM 1.30)
10 Kueh Bulu (RM 3)
Nasi Lemak (RM 2)

Seriously, more than $10 breakfast session in a HDB estate is quite frightening. Or am I overspending on my meals? :eek::eek::eek:

Diaspora

Wow Lau , I think those businesses in JB city going to eat shit liao !

Bro,
This being the election year, the Malaysian government will be very cautious...
They may compensate the concessionaire directly in lieu allowing them to collect higher toll as per the agreement.
However, once the GE is over, then the JB people will suffer....sigh~~~~

greddy88

wait till your kids grow a bit older.. start to take adult portions.. and during this stage, they may eat even more than normal.
even myself find the usual stuff not enough. need add extra noodle, or upsize (if its priced like $3, $4, $5).
nowadays i budget up to $20 per hawker center meal. 2 adults, 2 kids.
also stop getting drinks from the stalls.. own water bottle. cheapo, but also healthier. :smile:

cunnilaubu

This morning got another summon from Certis Cisco.. Too much traffic in parkway area, kid is late for lesson.. so I pulled my car at the side, bring my kid across the 2 lane road.. When I turned around, I saw a china national parking attendant already issued a summon.. Obviously see saw me cross the road with my kid... Last month I also have a $200 fine and 12 demerit points.. I agreed I parked illegally temporarily but I always made sure I won't cause any inconvenience to anyone.. And this time, I guessed it is less than a minute... I felt very sick.. Driving a car in Singapore is like a walking ATM.. The china national officer obviously don't care and understand..

Last time our local parking aunty will give some allowance, wait for a while b4 summon. Nowadays, those fcuking an tiong parking attendant ambush you. See you walk away immediate summon....

jasonjst

wait till your kids grow a bit older.. start to take adult portions.. and during this stage, they may eat even more than normal.
even myself find the usual stuff not enough. need add extra noodle, or upsize (if its priced like $3, $4, $5).
also stop getting drinks from the stalls.. own water bottle. cheapo, but also healthier. :smile:

You guys better start learning how to cook at home. If got more people it will be more saving .

yonglip

Teh Tarik (RM 1.30)
10 Kueh Bulu (RM 3)
Nasi Lemak (RM 2)

Agree bro. The writing is already on the wall. Singapore will be comfortable if you are truly rich. Many Singaporeans are stressed on the job. They worry about making mistakes and breaking their rice bowl in the process,..why?..cos they have a huge car and house to pay and worse if got some medical problem, there goes the savings. Such self preservation makes people more and more selfish and even willing to compromise ethics/values for money. This is also partly the reason why our tolerance level for foreigners working in Singapore is getting lower and lower. I think the government should take a look at our group's statistics...number of Singaporeans who own houses in JB. I can bet my last dollar it has been rising consistenly over the years and is directly correlated to the number of FTs they bring in. The more they make us feel being Singaporeans is nothing special in Singapore, the more Singaporeans want to look elsewhere to call home.

cheers.

jasonjst

Bro , must be extra careful in Singapore. Sometime I try my best not to drive to city area , or those jam pack shopping malls, buy at JB is best !

Funds Transfer

My kids are not even in Primary school and their appetite will only get bigger.

Good advice on the drinks. We bring our water bottles out, the whole family. Cut down on sugar and also save on costs.

But just can't do without my cuppa in the morning.

Maybe should consider home Nescafe and then put in coffee mug.

Funds Transfer

Bro , must be extra careful in Singapore. Sometime I try my best not to drive to city area , or those jam pack shopping malls, buy at JB is best !

In Singapore, due to land scarcity I guess, everything related to cars are heavily regulated. Lost count the number of times being summoned for parking at my HDB service road to unload grocery and bring up my sleeping child on a stroller.

When in Australia and Malaysia, the feeling of being able to park without any car park attendants on the prowl is really refreshing. So what if I need to give 'kopi money' along the highways. Definitely less than the fines and road taxes levied on me every year.

Status
Not open for further replies.