• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Moving to China for good

Adidas

just be extra carefule and give it a good thought,with the present condition.
a lot of unhealthy stuff coming out from there.

ahbengsong

just be extra carefule and give it a good thought,with the present condition. a lot of unhealthy stuff coming out from there.

There are health blunders in any country.. the most notable is the mad cow disease.. it is whether countries want to make it a political ad or not... china is a much better place with its fair share of good, bad, ugly...

BlueCat

doing business and have fun there,maybe.
but with the recent outbreak of melaine,do you still want to expose your children if you have,to it.

desmankuwe

Malaine??? Which country not affected, it was first discovered in China and then the rest of the world panic. Well, if you doubt China's product, you can always buy imported goods. If you stay in Singapore, you can also take in Malaine without knowing... now eggs and maybe poultry or seafood will have it as well. As the saying goes, it is all destined how long a person can live in this mutane world, one can take many precautionary efforts but one screw from a boeing drop on a person's head, he/she also will have to report to the GOD up there or below. Even more people have just die for nothing after jogging or exercising in the gym, these people are fit than a bull, even COCO got stab just like that without warning at 22, Flander's Sqaure.

ahbengsong

and for those going to china... look out for the con man tong hyui koh... he is now trying to be a gigolo from sources... any females above 50s can look for him... for details.. pm me here...

ahbengsong

storm, you raised an interesting point...would you care to share what would be a good biz to invest in?

i heard the copyrights movement in china is very weak and so intellectual capital is out of the question; property investments should wait for a while (so i read in other forums);

what sort of biz can be done for $10k - $20k? The only thing i can think of is to set up a factory and import to singapore for sale

for $10k-$20k... you can look for tong hyui koh.. he can be found in the delphiforums as cheapjustice (now defunct) or pylae or ahbengsomg.. he may even lurking around here.. :biggrin::biggrin:

2vnqj5y.jpg

desmankuwe

Let me answer a few of the questions posted during the last two days:

You are damn right about intellectual property and copyrights in China are indeed very weak, so dont sell Old Chang Kee there as I have seen New Chang Kee set up in Shanghai...

Go to Shanghai for pretty chicks as all pretty ones congregate there from all over China, so you dont have to go to a certain province...

10-20K can set up food stall selling Asian food or SG food, then follow Macdonald's style by multiplying... the number of stalls. Cash handling may pose a threat in your business, so find someone you have dug into deep and still digging to assisit you in handling cash...

ahbengsong

10-20K can set up food stall selling Asian food or SG food, then follow Macdonald's style by multiplying... the number of stalls. Cash handling may pose a threat in your business, so find someone you have dug into deep and still digging to assisit you in handling cash...

10-20k can only set up a roadside stall in china... :biggrin:

da dick

Chongqing and Chengdu are quite safe from quakes, if you are worried, then all parts of China will feel the shake if something happened around...
Food business should be good in Chongqing, if someone dare to set up chicken rice speciality shop, char kuay teow, even carrot cake or bak kut teh.
i can never understand you people. you 're risking higher chances of random death from natural disasters, illness, pollution, and a cheena gahmen which inspired the pappy dogs with their repression.... all for what??!? cheap pirated goods and mei meis? try enjoying all that when you're locked up or in hell.

saratogas

Nearly completed high-rise collapses in Shanghai

A 13-storey residential building under construction in Shanghai collapsed Saturday, killing one worker and highlighting the dangers of shoddy building in fast-urbanising China.

The building, in the outskirts of the city, collapsed at around 6 a.m. (6 p.m. ET) with one construction worker killed, the official Xinhua news agency reported.

The block of high-rise residential flats was shown toppled onto its side in a muddy construction site, in footage from Hong Kong's Cable Television. Exposed pilings stood in the remains of the building's foundations.

It appeared to be almost complete with fitted windows and a finished, tiled facade. Other similar-looking blocks in the same property development were still standing nearby.

Shoddy construction and the use of sub-standard materials is a concern in China's construction sector as the country scrambles to build out cities and finish massive infrastructure projects to keep pace with fast economic growth.

Construction-related accidents last year included the collapse of a steel arch on a new railway bridge, which killed at least seven and a crane which fell on a kindergarten killing five.

The collapse of dozens of schools during last year's Sichuan earthquake, sometimes when buildings around them withstood the tremor, also led to a wave of public outrage about corrupt officials and construction firms. (CCTV)

Img264800616.JPG

Think twice before buying China property!

cowbehcowbu

Was reading the Chinese papers last nite and saw this news about the actor Gallen Lo who is moving to Beijing China for good.

Actually had some thoughts of moving to China after a few years and taking on a job there in Cities like Chong Qing and Cheng Du since SG investing heavily there these few years. Not thinking of going to Guangdong (ZH, SZ) as it is quite messy there while BJ and SH are too expensive

With the exchange rate difference, if we can secure a job with the same kinda pay here, then we should be quite comfortable there.

Perhaps I should consider being a consultant there or something.

Anyone have thoughts about this.
Bros..you have to ask yourself a few very important questions
1]can you tolerate the extent and depth of corruption there..from a very light weight 'gong-ann' to the judiaciary..to ALL governments departments..
2] can you survive the horrid extent od faking and forgery...just two days back a whole block of flats just collapse...it seems there were very little or no foundations!!!!!!!!..the foods you get in the mart copuld be toxic ..etc..
3]can you tolerate those..COULDNT CARELESS ATTITUDE of the general publics..
4] can you tolerate the extremly low level of law-awareness .and civil mindedness.....

when I was in Chengdu..I was in a car n saw a man got hit and lie motionless on the side of a busy roads..NOBODY WILL STOP THE CAR AND GO TO SEE HOW TO HELP THE MAN...I STOP MY ASSOCIATES .WENT DOWM..CALL THE POLICS..AND HELP TO MOVE THE MAN TO A SAFER LOCATION..AS HE COULD BE RUN OVER BY A RECKLESS CAR..THEN THE POLICE CAME..COLD AND EMOTIONLESS..I HAD TO TELL THEM TO GET AN AMBULANCE IMMEDIATELY.....

can you tolerate such social behavior?????????

so ..go there and stay for a few months..then do some soul searching ,,before you decide...ok

johnsgp1

i've been to dalian and qingdao and comparing these 2 cities with the others, especially beijing and shanghai, i personally feel that these 2 cities are far better in the quality of living, cost is not too high and the air is better ....

the only thing i cannot stand is that those folks there still spit indiscreminately along the road side or 5 foot way...... :(

China is actually not a bad place to stay, milk is cheap, buildings can from apartment to landed property in less than 24hrs, food and water quality sometimes may be doubtful but, what the heck, can drink is ok right...we just like for today....
And the government is very stable and considerate also...can even think of using the Green Dam to protect their citizens from porns and other sensitive issues...zero tolerance for protestors...they simply crash them, if needed send them to jail for life....or declare some of them as insane....
and if you have connection to the officials, you can also buy land at bloody cheap price, and only to see some unfortunate chaps crying and begging for unjust...but again what the heck...the govt can tolerate all this nonsense...just pay them $$$...( go to BBC World Service and listen to the documentary 'Give me land).
To top that, you may even find cheap thrills in waitresses, just use your power and authority to achieve that....but you have to be careful not to be stab by them...
If you only cannot stand them spitting, then u definitely can stay there cos your ability to tolerate their moral behavior is admirable....their insanity of chasing profit has driven them to a society that think that they are staying in a great civilization, but no care for safety, environmental protection, human rights, and even basic moral values...
Otherwise, China is really a very good place to stay...perhaps in the mountain is even better...:oIo:

johnsgp1

Wake up Singaporeans!

If you think you can walk into China now and become a consultant - of whatever type - please wake up! Today's China is technically, materially and monetarily stronger, better, fitter and more nimble than Singapore many times! Gone are the days when you think Singaporeans or Taiwanese or HKongers can teach the Chinese a thing or two... today, they can teach us instead!

Lenova, Haier, JingLong, TCL are but just some brands that are truly global. Chinese companies are now manufacturing under their own brand names and reaching out to every corner of the earth. They have tens of factories and sub-contractors, employ ten of thousands employees, conduct their own R&D and even their individual advertising dollars are enough to dwarf any of our own largest brand.

If you think you can walk into China and be a 'consultant' - do pay a visit to China - and be thoroughly convinced how small and insignificant Singapore is today compared to them.

However, China is indeed large and there still areas where you can turn it into your own advantage... such as living or retiring there. Many Singaporeans, HKongers and Taiwanese has done it... it's how much you want to do it.

Chengdu, Dalian and Qingdao have been voted the nicest cities in China. They are nice... but remain too far, too cold and too 'culturally-different' to fit in for most Singaporeans. Xiamen is also voted as one of the top cities, is near enough and not too cold nor culturally different for Singaporeans.

There are no restriction to Singaporeans buying properties in China. Sell your HDB and buy 3 units over there. Or rent out your HDB and live like a prince over there. Use the price difference to your advantage...before it's too late!

For those who think that China is still run-down, dirty and messy... think again. Do not use what you see in Geylang or Joo Chiat as a comparison... it's only the poor, uneducated, desperate and helpless that need to leave the comfort of their own home... just like the poor, uneducated, desperate and helpless that were our own ancestors just two or three generations ago.

Please go and see how the middle class and rich Chinese live life nowadays... mega-shopping centres, posh clubs, coffee cafes, restaurants, cinemas, etc all served by young, enthusiastic and smiling staff... unlike the unsmiling, lethargic and uninterested service staff we sometimes get back at home.

After decades of communist rules, the Chinese had not lost their hungry, probing, enterprising way - hence, many of them had found their way to Singapore and taken good advantage of PAP's generosity.

Yet, Singaporeans has lost their hungry, probing, enterprising way and are unable to see what are the advantages what China can offer us. So, stop believing the PAP propaganda that we can teach China, India or even Russia a thing or two.

Be humble. Go visit China yourself and then see what they can teach us. Or be enterprising... and take advantage of their lower cost of living by moving there.

Your views are myopic and lack insights...true, china is great in many ways, and they have nuture many millionaires over the decades...but why there are still so many protests every year, and why the govt is trying so hard to cover them...the gap between the rich and the poor may be too small for you to take notice...
Why the apartment in Shanghai can collapse? why the milk incident was left uncovered for so many months, or perphaps years before Fonterra notified the New Zealand government on 5 September.
The rich amass their wealth on the unfortunate lots...they claim lands at cheap price, or they employ operators at rock bottom salary...and they can simply dump chemicals into rivers, which turns green, to avoid paying too much to properly dispose those chemicals...
true they have big names like lenovo, haier, TCL...but what happen to lenovo now? (Lenovo, the big Chinese computer maker, reported a sharp decline in its third-quarter sales and profit on Thursday and said its chief executive, William J. Amelio, had stepped down as part of a management shakeup.)
The chinese indeed did not lost their hunger and always be driven to profit,profit and profit....but what they lost is basic moral value...this will not change in this generation...
what progress are we talking about when officials representing Communist Party can forced a weak girl into performing "special services". For heaven's sake, This is only one SINGLE incident that was release to the media, God knows how many victims has already been harm in this manner...
Dun just look things at the face value, you may be doing great in China, but dun blinding adore them and start throwing blind darts at Singapore.