• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

things you miss from the past?

Fishypie

Tivoli owned by them? never knew, who can forget...how about Chico & Charlie anyone? drank my first Martguerita there & I couldn't stand up for at least half an hour, ha ha ha

Oh, Chico & CharLie; their 1st outLet was at Liat Towers, was it ?..

tiokk

Nostalgia starts here...

1) A&W...Ponderosa...Randy's

2) the cigarette prices and the ability to smoke in a pub/discos

3) the old geylang pricing...S$ 40

4) 7-Eleven Softee Float

5) bubble gum...maybe

6) Masters of the Sea / Asia Bagus

7) no ERP

8) Malaysia Cup days

9) .......continue :smile:

JWNY

I see all the talk about A&W. Anyone remember the very first one that opened in Singapore along Dunearn Rd? beside the longkau?
It was a 'drive-in/park'. I just googled & Lam Chun See's blog turned up HERE
It had a unique Sumatra/Minangkabau kampong roof as shown in Lam's blog.
It's location was real cool to just drive/ride in, park with no freaking fees to worry about & just hang with my buddies. Can't remember if it had a jukebox for shawna's music :smile:
Seventh Month time brought more action as one of us could see them peering in from the outside of those big glass windows on the side of the dark canal.

tiokk

I ate the char kway teow with HUM from father to son, now the coffee shop is torn down, the son is selling the food somewhere in SINgapore. The Hay Piah Ngo Hiang man retired, his niece took over, his children didn't want to continue, the only thing that was hand made when she took over, was the ngo hiang. After a while she closed down, the coffee shop I remember the home made barley, missed the ambiance of that place.

Next door was the US embassy, I was a member of the USIS ( United States Information Service) library member, still have the library membership card with me. Back then, the US embassy wasn't like FORT KNOX so inaccessible.

Opposite was Tao Nan School, and left hand side was The Bible Society...down the road towards MPH was Great Shanghai Restaurant, Mayfair hotel right? and Wilmer Clinic & Cosdell Singapore was upstairs.

Thanks for 2 reminders halsey02. I now remember going to Cosdell Singapore to collect a prize I won in a radio show :smile:
Wilmer Clinic is still there on Armenian St. & Tao Nan is now the Peranakan Museum.

I was also a member of the USIS. It was a heaven of information compared to the reference section in the nearby now-extinct Stamford Rd National Library.
Plus it had a wintery aircond environment once you got past the 6.5-footer US Marines guarding the entrance.
Once done with my research, I made a beeline for the home-made barley in the kpt across the road!

I have many recollections of this area.
Somebody also mentioned the Masons' . They're still there with their secret handshakes, just beside the present Philatelic Museum.
Going up the road, I have memories of camping out on Fort Canning and at opportunistic times, being able to watch concerts from the slopes behind the now-gone National Theatre.

@Charlie99 and yinyang; you mentioned waterloo street and its ah neh rojak and stuff. Did you know what was the 'stuff' that kept office workers and school children going back repeatedly to one particular stall?
One of us actually saw the stall owner's secret ingredient being mixed into the rojak sauce :smile:

yinyang

Still relevant today?:p

[video=youtube;myqyKZsknmw]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=myqyKZsknmw[/video]

soikee

DriveIn_3_1.jpg

Brought my girl friend in my Ford Cortina Lotus to watch a movie at Jurong drive-in cinema.

Instead of watching the movie we ended petting in the back seat of the car with its air conditioner turned on throughout.

Just after she reached her orgasm, someone knocked on my car door to warn me that smoke was coming out of the bonnet.

Apparently the radiator tank had dried up and the engine was so overheated that it ceased up too.

Had to call for AA for assistance.

Thinking back of this incident, my cock is hardening.

yinyang

..petting in the back seat of the car with its air conditioner turned on throughout.
Just after she reached her orgasm, someone knocked on my car door to warn me that smoke was coming out of the bonnet.
..radiator tank had dried up and the engine was so overheated that it ceased up too. Thinking back of this incident, my cock is hardening.
Good 1, steamed up windows too? Sounds like both "engines" boiled over:p

Kohliantye

ha haa, were you around when they still used this _
199-182.JPG

Yes it was a good (but a little clumsy) item for ironing clothes.
Trouble was that sometimes the small embers from the charcoals inside will slip out through those ventilation gaps below and ruin your clothings.
Happened to my school uniform many times.
But this "black lobangs" used to be patched up by my "sweet late mum" and it was back to school then.
Unlike today, it was not a fashion to wear cothings with patches here and there.
It was a sheer neccessity. People were poor and just recovering from a war, communist insurgency and criminal and SS activities.
Today people are willing to pay hefty prices for tattered, shredded and torn jeans.

Those were the days when there was no direct electricity and pipe water.
Water came from stand-pipes that was put up by the ang-mor administrators and David Marshal government lfor use by the people free of charge.
Many a kampong damsel will come here to fetch water and wash clothes.
Became a good meeting point and with such an un-believable excuse (" Mama want to fetch water and wash clothes").
Many a youngsters fell in love with these sweet kampong maidens dressed in typical Chinese attire.

Fortunate some kampongs had generators for electricity that start at 6 pm till 6 am.
The unlucky ones use to "steal current" from the road-side lights (if any).
Some young men and women managed to get into University by studying under street-lights.
No one then said that graduate parents produced intelligent kids.
Our parents were uneducated but highly intelligent.

CourtJester_

Sportsgirls in the 70s

Junie Sng
Lydia De Vega
Marina Chin

Light blue mini-skirt factory uniform of National Semiconductor assembly line girls.
They would proceed to Bukit Merah View hawker centre in early morning after midnight shift.
Major eye candy those days. Managed to see a few upskirt panties when they went up SBS bus.

Kohliantye

1. Chewinggum
2. $2.50 Malboro small pack
3. $2.50 Movie ticket
4. Pager (can call back as and when u like, dun wan reply jus say cannot find telephone or no small change:biggrin:)
5. Fried Hokkien Mee packed in Bamboo Leaf
6. Indian man going around selling the flat pink color biscuit like roti prata (wats it called?)
7. Hanging around shopping malls as a group whole day during school time jus talking cock, sharing and surviving a packet of fried rice, 1 large coke and small pack of cigarettes..damn economical way to pass time then
8. Jerry Lewis and Dean Martin shows
9. He-man, Thundercats, Green Hornet show
10. Breakdancing shows in the shopping malls
11. Smoking in the shopping malls and cinemas!:biggrin:

Our time lagi best, seepay hor...just to bring you back to our time yaah. No angry hor...
1. Chewing Gum in round colourful balls of various tastes, another one that came in rectangular shape and pink in color.
It was enclosed in a waxed paper that you had to wet a little to paste it to your body and as a colourful tattoo.
Won't last long though.
Off course the famous brands were Chicklets and Wriggley Double-Bubble Gum.
2. $0.90 cents for a large packet of Pigeon Brand cigarettes (unfiltered)
3. 0.50 cents movie ticket (school children concession - 50 cents to any seat on a first-come-first serve basis and during off-peak hours). Due to these many kids like us use to play truant. We will get the wealthy classmates to cough out the money or sell their text-books to second-hand mamak shops and later tell their parents that the books were lost. Easy as that. These towkay-kias were our financiers.
4. We had No pagers but must call the phone nearest to our kampong houses and the people will go and call your mum to answer the line. Only towkays had such phones. But they let everyone use it. Free of charge. A little help that went a long way in terms of appreciation.
5. Fried Hokkien Mee packed in a special leave. Still can get it upon request from the Famous Hokkien mee seller at Lorong 29, Geylang. I knew their late dad who used to sit on a 3-legged long stool and fry the mee with a cigarette sticking out from his mouth and the ash still attached. Maybe the fallen ash was a special ingredient. He would also have a porcelain bowl filled with "Or-Kow" or Guinness Stout next to his prawns and sotongs and gravy. Never wondered whether the Ah Pek would accidentally scoop the dark drink of his mistaking it to be the soy that he would normally scoop to mix with the broth.
6. The flat pink biscuit that the Indian man used to carry around in a big tin with a see-through glass cover. It also had green, yellow and other colors. Still on sale in Malaysia. So sorry I do not know the name.
7. Hanging around open-air hawker markets or serabat stalsl enjoying a half-glass of kopi-oh at 5 cents and prata kosong at 10 cents. Used to help the serabat stall owner to wash his glasses for free kopi-oh. Would always ask the prata mamak for lumps of mutton fat to fill our stomachs. Good and bad cholestrol unheard of.
We only knew CASTROL used for free Grand-Prix at Old Upper Thomson Road.

COKE - Yes a large bottle made of solid glass.
Now you can only find these bottles in Indonesian warongs (stalls) selling petrol / diesel and kerosene.
8. Dean Martin as Matt Helm in shows like SILENCERS and WRECKING CREW and alongside Jerry Lewis in shows like, At War With The Army, Geisha Boy, Boeing Boeing. Racquel Welch in One Million Years BC, Franco Nero in Django and Coffin For A Gunfighter.
9. Tarzan & Jane, Hercules, Ullyses, Sodom & Gomorrah, Ursus, Ten Commandments, Rajah Bersiong, Gerak Kilat, P Ramlee movies, Huang Fei Hong, One Arned Swordsman, Golden Eagle, Mist Over Dream Lake, Dil Dekhe Dekho, Veera Pandiyan Katta Poman and many more.
10. Twisting away at night with girlfriends. Some of us could twist their way out from a pole held low by two people.
11. Smoking cigarettes but NOT GANJA, HEROIN and Other Stuff.
12. Using balance money to buy for kid brothers some sweets or cheap toys.

Kohliantye

yinyang;47064 On things F1 said:
Yes off-course I remember these blokes called the HELL-RIDERS. They would come in modified cars from the 70's and consist of models like Ford Escorts, Cortinas, Consuls, Simca, Alpha Romeo Spyder, Fiat Spider, Colt Galant GTO, Datsun 160J, Mazda 929, Mitsubishi Lancer and even Mini-Minors.

They also had another gang of two-wheelers.

At a pre-planned time these cars would tear down Penang Road, enter into Orchard Road, scream past the Istana (late President Sheares was living in his own home at Holt Road) enter into Dhoby Ghaut and then come around for 2nd Lap. Big time gambling was going on.

The nuisance went on but the Police were also making preparations to asnnihilate these groups of dangerous hell-riders and drivers.

The SPF had in their arsenal powerful Norton Commando 750 (specially bought for the CHOGM - 1971) and even new Kawasakis. They trained a Special "Anti-Hell Riders Squad" and used these highly skilled riders to apprehend these dangerous riders and drivers. These special men were really dare-devils. Many are still around.

These Special Police Group brought these gang on their knees.

Meanwhile the riders created another illegal circuit at the Grand-Prix site at Old Upper Thomson Road. By now many of the kampongs were already uprooted from these place. It was a very quiet place.

The Police took action in huge joint-divisional operations and one day chased these riders all into the Upper Pierce Reservoir Park. Once these riders were in the police closed the door and waited outside for them to come out. Little by little these bikers trickled out and the police took the neccessary action.

Had they been long inside maybe the wild monkeys could have "sodomized" or "gang-raped" these people.
Ha Ha Ha. Just A Joke.

UncLe Koh shouLd be at Least in his 70's now..:smile:

Wahlaneh! Someone better tap his knowledge asap. Alternatively, let's encourage him to write a book - The Singapore We Never Read About?
Maybe I should jio him to go on sabbatical to jointly author something for the nation. With Charlie in Toronto and Niagara Falls not too far away, location should provide us the inspiration eh? In Charlie, we trust.

Fishypie

Wahlaneh! Someone better tap his knowledge asap. Alternatively, let's encourage him to write a book - The Singapore We Never Read About?
Maybe I should jio him to go on sabbatical to jointly author something for the nation. With Charlie in Toronto and Niagara Falls not too far away, location should provide us the inspiration eh? In Charlie, we trust.

We shouLd.Another oLd gentLeman is uncLe Looneytan..:wink: