• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The real explaination behind Amy Cheong behaviour

yellowarse

I've said it before and I'm gonna say it again: the only thing wrong with prejudice is the violence historically associated with it. Otherwise, there's nothing wrong with prejudging people based on reliable heuristics, rules of thumb and educated guesses. It's one thing pointing out the statistical facts about Malay but it's quite another to use them to despise and hurt your fellow countrymen.

My stand is: much as I might abhor it, everyone has a right to his or her own prejudices, which may lead lead to prejudgement and racial stereotyping. (Actually prejudging based on generalized traits, 'rules of thumb', etc is a deductive fallacy, but it's not a moral issue.)

But acting on it is wrong if it leads to any form of discrimination, especially if it's institutionalized. The absence of violence alone does not justify discrimination.

Would you think it's OK if most companies refuse to consider Malay hopefuls for a cashier position on the statistical evidence that Malays have lower mathematics grades than Chinese or Indians on average?

Cruxx

My stand is: much as I might abhor it, everyone has a right to his or her own prejudices, which may lead lead to prejudgement and racial stereotyping. (Actually prejudging based on generalized traits, 'rules of thumb', etc is a deductive fallacy, but it's not a moral issue.)

But acting on it is wrong if it leads to any form of discrimination, especially if it's institutionalized. The absence of violence alone does not justify discrimination.

Would you think it's OK if most companies refuse to consider Malay hopefuls for a cashier position on the statistical evidence that Malays have lower mathematics grades than Chinese or Indians on average?

Boss, there's a reason why humans evolved to employ heuristics. It's because they are practical and useful when time and information are limited. Suppose you're running a small business. Would you interview every single job seeker in the country that meets your job requirements before deciding? Why not employ one of every race, religion and language on a probationary basis? Would you blame an employer for discriminating against tattooed job applicants if the last two employees that he fired were both heavily tattooed?

Boss, there's a reason why humans evolved to employ heuristics. It's because they are practical and useful when time and information are limited. Suppose you're running a small business. Would you interview every single job seeker in the country that meets your job requirements before deciding? Would you blame an employer for discriminating against tattooed job applicants if the last two employees that he fired were both heavily tattooed?

Wow you do realise that your post actually puts down the malay hopefuls for that cashier job since according to statistical evidence malays score lower on maths compared to chinese or indians.

Therefore indirectly you do agree that employers should discriminate malay hopefuls for cashier jobs? Or are you two faced in your discrimination too?

Agoraphobic

Ask most bros here, which race is the worst in termsof materialistic category and your answer will be...

.............tada......the CIna!

One fellow here even ask how the contant pursuit of high economic growth ...academic achievements etc have to do with Amy behaving this way...

Well, eithier he pretend to be a lost soul, moron or whatever...he can't seem to figure out that such constant pursuit only made Sinkie selfish, arrogant, less tolerant of others who they deem not to be up their standards and of course like Amy wants to see their backyard having NO MALAY WEDDINGS (no need to wonder what her answer would be if a old folks home is going to next to locate next to her block) and so you wonder what the other race would think of her if she 'speaks her mind'?

Actually the real culprits are her supposed rulers whom she wanted to take permanent residence here, who impressed upon her that this so called First World Country could not have such idiotic ppl holding a cheap wedding celebration right down below where she stays!

Well her rulers did not tell her straight that First World Country standards of living was actually applying to whom!

Of course the answer will be chinese. That is mainly because of the circumstance our forefathers were in when they arrived in Singapore and also at the dawn of independence - they had no one else to lean on, no other place to go, no land to inherit, unable to cast a net or row a sampan? Our parents pushed us like hell to advance in education because they didn't want their offsprings to be in the same situation they were - where without an education one had to eke out a living as a coolie or rickshaw driver. Over the years, it became the norm, till today. We know our kids can't play soccer for jackshit, so either they study darn hard or they become pimps and bookies. With the establishment of legal casinoes, that't somewhat helped our plight, just that now, Pinoys will deal Blackjack for less.

For those who believe Sg is First World, look at those "coolies" sitting on the back of pickup trucks, and ask if you are an insurance company, will you insure passengers carried like goods on a commercial vehicle?

Agoraphobic

Bro curious about the sentence i highlighted in red. It's weird right that these same ppl supposedly the anti racist ones don't have a problem making a -ve stereotype on chinese ppl and positive one on say malays or indians thus exposing their double standards.

It's not weird - it's natural. Whenever I speak on this subject, I ask the person(s) I speak to - "does it matter what colour skin blood comes from if you need a blood donation?"

Personally I think people are fine individually, it is when they get together and form a "community" and find solace in numbers of their own kind and engage in their "acitivities." Then we start to witness their ugly (and loud) side. You don't see Chinks behave crudely in a White neighbourhood, but take a ride to the city's Chinatown and you see the spitum on the pavements, you don't see crude white trashes in an Asian neighbourhood, but go to a predominantly white section of town and see gangs of drunk white teens (or other age groups) partying openly (and loudly) in the streets. No need for me to mention Ah Neh neighbourhood, we all know.

The funny thing on my mind is why is it the leaders in this society would rather bury this issue in public and persecute the single individual who spoke out? This is pure victimizing the smallest entity. Because it is easier to punish the one than the many?

Boss, there's a reason why humans evolved to employ heuristics. It's because they are practical and useful when time and information are limited. Suppose you're running a small business. Would you interview every single job seeker in the country that meets your job requirements before deciding? Why not employ one of every race, religion and language on a probationary basis? Would you blame an employer for discriminating against tattooed job applicants if the last two employees that he fired were both heavily tattooed?

Wow lau ai .. Most of my staffs are heavily tattooed leh .. I'm also heavyily tattooed leh ..

Spock

"Religion" is defined as the belief and worship of a superhuman controlling power. The belief in there being no god is as religious as the belief in gravity. So yes, a religion must involve spirituality. You can invent your own language if you want. But don't expect us to conform to it. :rolleyes:

Taken from Google:

<em>re·li·gion</em><p style="font-size:small"><em>noun</em> /riˈlijən/ 
<span class="speaker-icon-listen-off" id="dictionary_speaker_icon_1"></span><br>
<span style="color:#767676">religions, plural</span></p>
<div class="std" style="padding-left:40px"><ol><div><li style="list-style:decimal">The belief in and worship of a superhuman controlling power, esp. a personal God or gods<div class="std" style="padding-left:20px"><ul><li style="color:#767676;list-style:none">- ideas about the relationship between science and <em>religion</em></li></ul><br></div></li><li style="list-style:decimal">Details of belief as taught or discussed<div class="std" style="padding-left:20px"><ul><li style="color:#767676;list-style:none">- when the school first opened they taught only <em>religion</em>, Italian, and mathematics</li></ul><br></div></li><li style="list-style:decimal">A particular system of faith and worship<div class="std" style="padding-left:20px"><ul><li style="color:#767676;list-style:none">- the world's great <em>religions</em></li></ul><br></div></li><li style="list-style:decimal">A pursuit or interest to which someone ascribes supreme importance<div class="std" style="padding-left:20px"><ul><li style="color:#767676;list-style:none">- consumerism is the new <em>religion</em></li></ul></ol></div>

See points 3 and 4.

Most Sgreans' number one religion is the worship of wealth.

Will a JUSTIFIABLE reason be accepted by her employers and the general society to pardon her comments??? I do not know her personally, but she said what she did because it was possible for her to do so without reacting to that bothersome din via violence or public disturbance. She just happened to be speaking her mind - too bad that her audience overreacted rather than sit back and reflect on their own actions whether they were really inconsdierately disturbing the peace in a residential zone.

She can learn from sammyboy. If they dun like it, it is their fucking problem.

Spock

South Park is a social commentary on current events, it is certainly not a cartoon meant for children, most kids under ten have no idea what the storylines are about. If they are fervent enough, even atheists will become religious.

yellowarse

Boss, if the Malay scored an A for maths, I'd employ him in a heartbeat for a counting job over a Chinese who got a D. Even if 99% of Malays couldn't count beyond their 10 fingers & 10 toes.

Why should skin colour matter?

soIsee

It's not weird - it's natural. Whenever I speak on this subject, I ask the person(s) I speak to - "does it matter what colour skin blood comes from if you need a blood donation?"

Personally I think people are fine individually, it is when they get together and form a "community" and find solace in numbers of their own kind and engage in their "acitivities." Then we start to witness their ugly (and loud) side. You don't see Chinks behave crudely in a White neighbourhood, but take a ride to the city's Chinatown and you see the spitum on the pavements, you don't see crude white trashes in an Asian neighbourhood, but go to a predominantly white section of town and see gangs of drunk white teens (or other age groups) partying openly (and loudly) in the streets. No need for me to mention Ah Neh neighbourhood, we all know.

The funny thing on my mind is why is it the leaders in this society would rather bury this issue in public and persecute the single individual who spoke out? This is pure victimizing the smallest entity. Because it is easier to punish the one than the many?

Good post.

My guess on your last question is simply in Sinkie context : to ensure that communities respectively or largely as it is, sticks with the notion that despite it's own shortfall, still follows the herd mentality of following the one leader ( who protrays himself / itself as a party as the 'good' guy) who seem not to see or intend to change or correct the deficiency in each grouping, thus ensuring their continued leadership, having the support largely made up of groups.

In short and simple words, the man wants to stay in power leaning on the advantage he can harnass from groups rather than getting every individual ( which is imposssible) to allow him to do so.

Cheers.

soIsee

Boss, if the Malay scored an A for maths, I'd employ him in a heartbeat for a counting job over a Chinese who got a D. Even if 99% of Malays couldn't count beyond their 10 fingers & 10 toes.

Why should skin colour matter?

Using skin colour or racial profiling is useful as it determines quickly for most ppl/ organisation the type of ppl suitable for a particular job/post.

It also allows individual to quickly determine whether he/she should have any association with.

Of course, if one has the time and correct information to do a more accurate assessment of the candidate which you intend to hire, then better.

But that is impossible in the fast moving world. Especially where security is concerned.

So each communites do themselves no favors, if it sticks and intend to continue sticking to that particular bad profiles which defines them.

Take for example, like in this case we have been disccussing the Malays.

Like Eve said, the number of inmates in Changi resort or those for drugs in DRC.

Of course, gov would wayang the smooth talk and keep down playing those notions, so as not to 'disturb' the sentiments of each respective groups thereftter making managing the country more difficult and challenge to their stay in power questioned.

The real question is, to enable each person and thereafter coming into groups, how to really make that change for sure, so that bad notions and impression ppl have used to define a particular race would go away.

The only real answer will be, that a particular race have to make that REAL change to allow ppl to slowly see the difference forth coming and thereafter over time, will not assciated those undesirable element with that race.

And the real change has been not forthcoming for decades even with better ways to manage and to assist those issues.

And are those individuals wrong to expressed those facts?

As a matter of fact, ppl have quietly or in recent cases expressively say out LOUD those facts and instead of the respective race taking a good hard look at themselves to help them to make that change, authorites penalise those individual for the expression.

With that, these respective communites with such deficiencies are not going to change for sure.

yellowarse

No ethnicity is perfect. No race is perfect. No nationality is perfect. But change for a group can only come if every individual decides to make the effort. Even then in every group, community, etc. there will always black sheep and rotten apples.

In the meantime, do we use racial profiling in employment? Should every Indian be presumed a drunkard until proven otherwise? Every Malay a lazy fella who likes to 'relac in one corner'? Every Chinese a calculative bastard who will job-hop for $50 more? Every Eurasian a guitar-strumming party-goer who turns up late for work?

We're not talking about the kind of friends you choose; we're talking about institutionalized discrimination here.

You write so much but dun know that the bitch is Malaysian is it? So it is not PAP but UMNO who created her mindset. Before wack, find out the truth lah.

Anyhow hutum, like those mindless Islamic freaks who burn building, creat havoc without even watching the movie "Innocence of Muslims".Better still, it was done all in their own country...stupid right? Other people do, own country suffer.

The real reason behind why Miss Cheong suddenly got so famous was not even explained truthfully and this goes to show how 'silly',embrassed and lack of remorse the Cina community has become and who really is to be blamed for them becoming this way.

The PAP in pursuit of their 'enconomic growth' have vastly neglected how many generations ( mostly Cina) have lost their TRUE gracious, simple and kind behaviour and for these ppl to understand that not all can 'BE' in the same financial standing like them. The Sinkie Cina peasants themselves, who are also constantly in pursuit of such high standards of living, like their Masters would look down whenever someone or some races can't seem to meet their ideal living model. Of course, faced with a stick, these Cina have always excercised FAKE TOLERANCES cos they know any outburst, they will land up as another Amy Cheong, true to the waving of the stick.

so confusing now with so many theories about amy cheong. poor girl....victim of so many theories. take a good rest in perth.