• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
A friend of mine shared with me his experience buying a house, some developers are quite good, because he already has 2 houses, his third one he couldn't get a loan for 80% and had trouble with paying the additional 10% as he could only get 70% loan. In the end, the developer just asked him to write in and willing to extend 2-3 months for him and even 1 more month after that if he has trouble raising money. Some folks are really sympathetic. They also didn't raise the price he bought his unit for despite other similar units that were sold after that as he delayed the first appointment. In the end, i helped him with the first payment and banker told us that he is so lucky, others had to pay 30k more but as they already agreed for my friend, they still proceeded. On paper, he has made 30k even before he signed. Quite a good bro of mine, he has a big family so glad for him. He is also moving his family and extended family and friends over here.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
With insurance and roadtax being affordable, its always tempting to get another car whenever you go to www.carlist.com.my. I would strongly advise not to go there, i am pushing myself very hard not to as well. Some of the MPVs there, are very tempting, must....not.....go.....over.....to....that....web....site.....

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
It depends. Some dun care some do chec. Maybe u can tell u just boght hse in jb so will be going in often in case u yet tO enter 4 x

Thanks for sharing Narmi, however if you say that, some may ask you to bring your Sales & Purchase agreement (SP/SPA)

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Btw, just to share,my bro got a loan with one of the banks (EON) at basically 4.2%.
Your mileage may vary

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
For bros who are looking for maps, there is a Xin Xin bookstore at Tesco, they also have a mini bookfair(lots of Chinese books including "Zhou Yi, Lun Yu", etc) at discounts. They are displaying lots of maps at the mini bookfair at Giant, 2nd floor. Quite a few items on 20% discount including Chinese and Malay books. Most importantly are the maps since there is a lot of different state maps on sale including one book that was mapped out using GPS and gives you GPS type of directions to various new and coming locations in Iskandar. About 24-25 RM if i remember correctly. The good map for Johore area is about 10-11 RM.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hi Hangyong,

I think they have relaxed quite a bit since the last time, remembered some bros here didn't even got checked for the VISA stamps.

contra

That could be me? OK, Wuqi and 2 neighbours went there. One wanted to buy, the other (a lawyer) checked and was told that their claims that they could build another access way through connecting to UEM road is false. In the end, UEM even erected embarrasing signs on the roads basically giving the Mahabuilders(those behind Horizon Residences) the finger. Mahabuilders are mainly known for building lost cost stuff. This was what a formerly very keen guy shared with me as i brought him there as well

It was so funny, Horizon Residences showroom has so many copied views of the golf course in Horizon Hills. Its just making use of the height of the condo units to see some parts of HH's golfcourse. Most would probably not see anything much unless they are staying on the highest floors. If they have that road successfully connected, i would consider it still ok actually, else if one has to go through the estate to get there, its pretty inconvenient especially at night.

Hi Malapore,
Let me add to the sentiment. I read in the Malaysian Edge newspaper last year that Mahabuilders are 'turning around' an abandoned development and now calling it Horizon Residences. I recall the psf if quite expensive. If has to be condo, Fairway Suites better for the ambience. But I prefer house - otherwise missing a big positive of living in JB.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Bro hpy, 6.30am is safest, 7am is if you really want to try or if that day, you know you can be a little late just in case.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Agree with you contra, thats what i came out here for, it might be different for other people though as different folks = different needs.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Today, when we went to Nusa Duta, i finally got the reward from people in JB
and developers.

My real motive for helping people online is now finally out! Its all that i wanted
and craved in the past 2 years.

I received, a grand total of:

1. 2 cups of orange juice
2. 11 sticks of satay
3. Beehoon and some fried rice
4. Plus 4 meals in restaurants from relatives and friends
5. Assorted coffee, cakes from same relatives and friends
6. Discount of less than 1000 RM for the unit i purchased, same discount as all the rest of my friends/relatives received.

There, now i have admitted it, this was what i received. My real motive. :smile:

My wife just laughed at this she said i must really be earning exceptionally little to want to spend my time doing all this for the great rewards. She, my kids and family would have all starved to death by now if this really made any money for me.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Thanks Contra for your encouragement, if i really started all this/have to resort to this to get interest in order to make money. I would have made it easier and faster through stocks or property in SG in the early years.

Depending on a forum to make people interested so as to wait a couple of years to profit and that is if it goes up? The odds are more against me than if i dump 100k into BAC right now. If i have to wait to profit like this, i must either be:

1. Earning or bringing home very little
2. Only able to afford 1 HDB and nothing else

I may be excited at times and even carried away by the good news i see or hear from my friends but i always put forth the saying to buy to stay, even got good, well intentioned folks upset as i tried to steer the topic away from investing in jb to avoid continued accusations from people like him/her.

Even now, every other posts or new thread from him/her is talking bad about here and sarcastic remarks about castles, etc. If i didn't know any better, i would have thought it was sour grapes. Its one thing to try to deceive, its another to believe ones own lies.

If MY that bad, i wonder why he/she goes to MY so often, the latest installment is now not in BMW, bus but flight to KL. Just like what the big government companies did when they first started buying/developing in JB yet papers still dissed JB? Another case of do as i say, not as i do? The thing that kind of immortalized it for me was when he/she started trying to scare people with tales of large mosquitoes. What next? Monstrous flies? When i shared this story with friends, they automatically told me likely this person is a woman, never did NS before. I mean, are Singaporeans really so helpless that they cannot survive insects, were there no mosquitoes at all in Tekong? Are you sure these were all SG mosquitoes? Tekong looks nearer to MY then to SG in my humble opinion.

I mean, please don't tell me mosquitoes obey country/nationality laws,so what is in Johor will not be able to fly to SG and vice versa? If there weren't mosquitoes in Singapore and spreading dengue, would there be so many fines and forced entries in HDB units to check on stagnant water? Until now, still doesn't understand the logic, probably never will.

Cheers Contra :smile:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Happy Sunday too, my neighbour came to jio me today for fishing as they were going to desaru, damn missed it as i was away at the shop today.

By the way, bros who sign up for the Streamyx plan, they will usually give you a free normal phone and one cordless one as well. If they don't give it to you when doing the installation, you can always go down and ask for one.

Inception

Here is an article to share...

The Role of Residential Property in Personal Investment Portfolios: The Case of Malaysia

Full article: http://www.prres.net/Papers/Tan_residential_property_in_personal.pdf

Abstract
Residential property has long been recognised as an important component in a household’s overall wealth. The sheer magnitude of purchasing a house has compelled households to commit a disproportionate amount of their funds to own a house, leaving little capital for other kinds of investment. The findings of this study show that an allocation between 50% to 65% of the available capital to residential property, particularly in Terraced houses, in any of the 5 main regions, and with the balance invested in bonds will produce a superior personal investment portfolio, in terms of enhanced risk-adjusted return and significant reduction in the overall risks. Holding a non-diversified portfolio not only produces sub-optimal return, but also exposes households to greater risk which can easily be minimised through mixed asset portfolio diversification.

Tan Ken Yeng
School of Construction, Property and Planning
University of Western Sydney

Ting Kien Hwa
Department of Estate Management
University of Technology MARA

tansi

fot the MACS ....must show that go in and out at least 4 times ah ? they will really check this ah ?
About a year ago when i applied, the officer really checked. But he was helpful and advised that i shoyld make at least 4 trips within a calendar month, then apply before the month ends. if i came the following month, then trips of the previous month would not be counted and it didn't matter my passport was full of chopes. so i followed the advice and got it at the end of the following month.
it may sound silly but we hv to conform to their rules. quite sure some foreign visitors may find our way too rigid

Inception

<param name="movie" value="http://www.360cities.net/javascripts/krpano/krpano.swf"/><param name="quality" value="autohigh"/><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"/><param name="flashvars" value="pano=http://www.360cities.net/krpano/external_embed/the-gateway-precinct-in-horizon-hills.xml&epd=http://www.360cities.net/data/embed/plugin_data/the-gateway-precinct-in-horizon-hills"/><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"/><embed src="http://www.360cities.net/javascripts/krpano/krpano.swf" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" width="700" height="600" allowFullScreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" quality="autohigh" flashvars="pano=http://www.360cities.net/krpano/external_embed/the-gateway-precinct-in-horizon-hills.xml&epd=http://www.360cities.net/data/embed/plugin_data/the-gateway-precinct-in-horizon-hills"></embed></object><br/><a title="panorama photos of The Gateway Precinct In Horizon Hills on 360cities.net" href="http://www.360cities.net/image/the-gateway-precinct-in-horizon-hills">The Gateway Precinct In Horizon Hills</a> in <a href="http://www.360cities.net/area/asia" title="panoramic images from Asia">Asia</a>

<param name="movie" value="http://www.360cities.net/javascripts/krpano/krpano.swf"/><param name="quality" value="autohigh"/><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"/><param name="flashvars" value="pano=http://www.360cities.net/krpano/external_embed/the-play-court-just-by-the-door-steps-asia.xml&epd=http://www.360cities.net/data/embed/plugin_data/the-play-court-just-by-the-door-steps-asia"/><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"/><embed src="http://www.360cities.net/javascripts/krpano/krpano.swf" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" width="700" height="500" allowFullScreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" quality="autohigh" flashvars="pano=http://www.360cities.net/krpano/external_embed/the-play-court-just-by-the-door-steps-asia.xml&epd=http://www.360cities.net/data/embed/plugin_data/the-play-court-just-by-the-door-steps-asia"></embed></object><br/><a title="panorama photos of The play court just by the door steps on 360cities.net" href="http://www.360cities.net/image/the-play-court-just-by-the-door-steps-asia">The play court just by the door steps</a> in <a href="http://www.360cities.net/area/asia" title="panoramic images from Asia">Asia</a>

<param name="movie" value="http://www.360cities.net/javascripts/krpano/krpano.swf"/><param name="quality" value="autohigh"/><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"/><param name="flashvars" value="pano=http://www.360cities.net/krpano/external_embed/the-play-court-just-by-the-door-steps.xml&epd=http://www.360cities.net/data/embed/plugin_data/the-play-court-just-by-the-door-steps"/><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"/><embed src="http://www.360cities.net/javascripts/krpano/krpano.swf" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" width="700" height="500" allowFullScreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" quality="autohigh" flashvars="pano=http://www.360cities.net/krpano/external_embed/the-play-court-just-by-the-door-steps.xml&epd=http://www.360cities.net/data/embed/plugin_data/the-play-court-just-by-the-door-steps"></embed></object><br/><a title="panorama photos of The play court just by the door steps on 360cities.net" href="http://www.360cities.net/image/the-play-court-just-by-the-door-steps">The play court just by the door steps</a> in <a href="http://www.360cities.net/area/asia" title="panoramic images from Asia">Asia</a>

hpy090909

does anyone know of any hotels neat 2nd link ? wish to try out the traffic situation at the customs before commiting to moving there

mallow

does anyone know of any hotels neat 2nd link ? wish to try out the traffic situation at the customs before commiting to moving there
Gelang Patah has some small hotels which look a little hairy. Might check out those in Perling like the Pariss Hotel, which is not that far from the second link, and close to most of the developments mentioned on this site.

mallow

On to food: for lovers of karna - the many varieties of fruit preserved in salt and sugar - try the spotless Mr Sotong in Perling, same block as the Maybank and Public Bank, just behind Queen Park kopi tiam and sprawling food stalls. Not the absolute cheapest, but still very reasonable and compared to Singapore prices, positively a bargain.
The name disguises the large variety of keropok, nutmeg and other ointments, biscuits and tarts and other delights. But it is the karna that one goes for, with sampling encouraged! Dunno how, but we managed to walk out with RM$80 worth. Make sure to ask for the reddish Taiwanese fruit, preserved ginger and the ambrosial orange peel....
My first offering on an attempted blog for food. [puterim.com]
Anyone been here? Ask for Jimmy.
Any better places for karna??

vincentck

Hi everyone, at 3pm on 19th June, I managed to exchange SGD to RM at 2.445 at People's Park Complex; Indian money changer inside the airconditioned area, better than the Chinese one outside with long queue at 2.442

Status
Not open for further replies.