• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

hpy090909

This thread moves too fast to catch up ...please help me please please please

Hi guys , in a bit of a rush therefore din have much time to read the 300++ pages i have a couple of questions which i hope some kind soul can help me with

my situation
-------------
i intend to rent a house/apartment somewhere near 2nd link area
i work at west coast
i have a small motorcycle and a weekend plate car
i will be staying alone
budget : RM 1000-1200 /month

questions
1) which area house/apartment will fit my budget ?
2) is nusa perdana good/ safe ? (RM 800- RM1000/mth)
3) i saw nusa perentis houses going for only about RM 600/month ...is the area safe ?
4) setia eco garden is about RM 1000-1200/mth ....wu hua boh ? too big for 1 person ?
5) if i need to reach work at west coast by 8am, what time do i have to reach checkpoint assuming (a) riding motorcycle (b) driving
6) i have cats which i intend to bring over with me to JB , any tips or recommendations ?
7) internet service ...which service provider for mobile broadband and fixed home internet ?
8) Hiring maids....how much ? got part time ?

Thank in advance

-----------

vincentck

Hi then u better dont apply for PR or SG citizenship yet ... make sure u settle your car issue.. cos if u get a JB car and drive to SG on a daily basis, u for sure need to pay $400 a month on VEP ( mon-fri ) but for petrol, road tax and insurance etc.. u pay ringgit, which is already very much difference.. For insurance, normally a guy pays S$2000 in Singapore but in Malaysia it is average about S$1000 only. For road tax of course the difference is there too!

For Civic 1.3l, is the power the same as 2.0? Thats what I heard previously. Actually I am now exploring a diesel car.. just that the diesel tax is a headache.. For diesel cars I dont have to pump every 2-3 days.. perhaps once every 1-2 week and its just RM 1.80

Actually we were thinking of getting a nice conti SUV in MY, price-wise will definitely be cheaper... but need to calculate lots of stuff... petrol, road tax, insurance, maintenance, repairs, etc. A 2.0L car road tax is only RM450, but it's very expensive in SG...

When the Civic 1.3 has a charged battery, the power is slightly higher than a 1.6... not close to a 2.0.

youtalkcock

Channel information
<table> <tbody><tr><td class="detailitem" valign="top" nowrap="nowrap">Network Name:</td><td>AnonOps</td></tr> <tr><td class="detailitem" valign="top" nowrap="nowrap">Channel Name:</td><td>#OpMalaysia</td></tr> <tr><td class="detailitem" valign="top" nowrap="nowrap">Last users:</td><td>162</td></tr> <tr><td class="detailitem" valign="top" nowrap="nowrap">Last updated:</td><td>2011-06-16 14:12:49</td></tr> <tr><td class="detailitem" valign="top" nowrap="nowrap">Current topic:</td><td>[+CTnrt] NO DDOS, NO LOIC, NO TAKING DOWN - IDEAS AT http://codepad.org/VFi2mktC
DNS HOW TO VIDS http://goo.gl/8wsPi
HOW TO BYPASS FILTER: http://bit.Iy/kL8yoK
ENGLISH ONLY PLEASE THANKS
Channels for DDoS: #OpV #Operationfreedom #opitaly

</td></tr> </tbody></table>

Usage graphs
Day | Week | Month | Year
288432258_week.png

vincentck

ofcourse la.... still considered married just only.....

Long way to go sia....

Hello married men.... What do you guys think? Vincent got a long way to go right guys?

Ok we shall not spoil ur cake for the moment....

Enjoy the moment while it lasts and we pray and wish that it lasts a life time...

Hahaha... thanks AP... sounds ominous... i'm not worried... i know who I married... looking forward to my life time with my wife

euphony

Actually we were thinking of getting a nice conti SUV in MY, price-wise will definitely be cheaper... but need to calculate lots of stuff... petrol, road tax, insurance, maintenance, repairs, etc. A 2.0L car road tax is only RM450, but it's very expensive in SG...

am thinking about the same thing too. something to iron out the uneven road surfaces with ease which are plentiful around in MY. then dump in all the 95 it could take and pass to my small sg car. =p

i was passing through the sg customs @ woodlands earlier tonight, this nice lady was trying to expedite the queue coming out of her small pod to get my passport and then again to return me. complimented her. made my night!

Investor

SINGAPORE : Residents living in Woodlands could see greater interest in their properties.

This is because the Land Transport Authority (LTA) will build a station there that will integrate the upcoming Thomson Line (TSL) with the proposed Rapid Transit System (RTS) link between Singapore and Johor Bahru.

An area near Republic Polytechnic is where the northernmost terminal station of the Thomson Line would be located.

There will also be an interchange at the existing North-South line's Woodlands station for commuters to transfer onto the Thomson Line which is slated for completion by 2018.

The Thomson Line will run fully underground from Woodlands through the Central Business District to Marina Bay. It will pass through the Ang Mo Kio, Sin Ming and Thomson areas before it reaches the city.

Director at Dennis Wee Group, Chris Koh, said he expects property prices near the station to rise, especially once the RTS Link is completed.

"I won't be surprised if prices go up by 5 to 10 per cent easily. I know of people today who stay in JB and travel to Singapore, and I know of people in Singapore going all the way to JB every weekend. As long as you have a car you will frequent up and down."

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1135483/1/.html

I also got to know many of them in sammyboy forum's thread "Living in JB" =D

jasonjst

Bro not fair to paint us as extreme cases.... For all you know we may be doing the occassional straying too and maybe still would not want any other partner other than our wifes...

So why tar us?

Why mar our reputation....

Dun worry me not angry.....

What i am saying is that most Spore men in that 80-90% you talking off are doing it at one time or the other...

Bros ,
Sorry to sadden you .
Just feel that your view on women are too extreme liao leh . Maybe your view might change someday if you meet a women who really care for you ?

karmabear

Ah... I not so hardcore to defend Singapore men blah blah blah... I got job to do, $$$ to earn, things to do, women to be with... I dunno what is cheong king, extreme etc... It's just normal lor... Like eating, sleeping ... Very big deal meh? All I can say is I don't cheat women's feelings, dun flirt with my colleagues. Some men like the thrill of the chase and say my view of life is very primitive. I just think it's more efficient :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

hpy090909

Hi guys , in a bit of a rush therefore din have much time to read the 300++ pages i have a couple of questions which i hope some kind soul can help me with

my situation
-------------
i work at west coast
i will be staying alone

questions
3) i saw nusa perentis houses going for only about RM 600/month ...is the area safe ?
4) setia eco garden is about RM 1000-1200/mth ....wu hua boh ? too big for 1 person ?
5) if i need to reach work at west coast by 8am, what time do i have to reach checkpoint assuming (a) riding motorcycle (b) driving
6) i have cats which i intend to bring over with me to JB , any tips or recommendations ?
7) internet service ...which service provider for mobile broadband and fixed home internet ?

Thank in advance

hpy090909

my situation
-------------
i work at west coast
i will be staying alone

questions

Thank in advance

euphony

questions
many different types of houses there. if hiring maid then no problem.

check this out

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Answers in line(to the best of Wuqi's limited ability)

my situation
-------------
Good call, since you are alone, even an apartment will do
i work at west coast
Understandable then, it will be pretty good for you and convenient too
You can travel in 2 modes, sweet
i will be staying alone
For this price, even gated/guarded terraces in some areas are no problem

questions
Very many, www.iproperty.com.my
No comment
No comment
Not a bad choice but maybe too big?
You have to leave early, safest is 6am, 6.30am is the max although you can sometimes stretch it. I arrived in town at 8.50am after leaving the my HH home at 7.54am.
Need to go through quarantine but no issues, my tenant has 5 cats and brought them all over from SG.
For mobile broadband Celcom is what i will recommend if you use a lot, Maxxis will charge you if you are over their maximum usage limit. For home broadband, Streamyx is good, check if you can get Unifi.

About 1k RM a month depending on the country, etc. Best to get a cleaning company to come in like once a week or once a month. Cheap and good, lots of choices.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Someone was talking about Horizon residences ( not sure who ) and urges us not to buy.. Can go into the details? As I have personal friends and clients who have bought several units at this condo without any hiccups, I am quite keen to check things out

That could be me? OK, Wuqi and 2 neighbours went there. One wanted to buy, the other (a lawyer) checked and was told that their claims that they could build another access way through connecting to UEM road is false. In the end, UEM even erected embarrasing signs on the roads basically giving the Mahabuilders(those behind Horizon Residences) the finger. Mahabuilders are mainly known for building lost cost stuff. This was what a formerly very keen guy shared with me as i brought him there as well

It was so funny, Horizon Residences showroom has so many copied views of the golf course in Horizon Hills. Its just making use of the height of the condo units to see some parts of HH's golfcourse. Most would probably not see anything much unless they are staying on the highest floors. If they have that road successfully connected, i would consider it still ok actually, else if one has to go through the estate to get there, its pretty inconvenient especially at night.

Meng968

I did calculate for the same car in MY & SG, it's cheaper to drive a MY car for the first 4-6 years (depending on how much you drive) before the $20/day makes it more expensive to drive a MY car into SG... my calculation included cheaper MY roadtax (only RM450 for a 2.0l car), lower insurance and maintenance cost and of course MY petrol... for the long-term (>5 yrs), cheaper to drive a SG car in SG.

I would suggest driving your MY car as you can start saving from now till 4-6 years. who knows what will happen in future..
Just my $0.02 cents.
cheers.

abugumgum

Thank in advance
-----------

Mobile Internet - Maxis is fast but can be costly if usage exceed monthly quota.
Digi is cheaper but slower, less coverage.
Check at respective provider web sites for coverage before signing up.
Seems that all providers has 7 days cooling period for new sign ups.

Home Internet - I used P1 WiMax (does not need a phone line unlike ADSL). Advantage is, if you go on road trips, you can bring along to use whenever you can plug the ac power in and of course in areas that has coverage.

Analytical Professor

My 2c....

In terms of coverage Celcom (recommended by Wuqi) and Maxis are the best. Their coverage is good and speeds are good as well.

However if you ask me in terms of speed which is the fastest? Then the obvious answer is Maxis.

So which is the cheapest then? Its Digi....

So in terms of $$

Maxix (most expensive)
Digi (Cheapest)

and Celcom in between

Now if you intend to have digi go to the digi website and check if ur area is covered.... using the coverage map.... And then choose...ur network.....

Although they claim to offer up to 14.MBPS.... that never happens....

The Digi Network usually varies between 384kbps and 700+ kbps depending on the plan u sign up for.

However I have tested Maxis in several parts of Johor during the time i had nothing much to do and i got speeds of atleast 6MBPS.

So ensure that you position your antennae to get the best Signal.....

Maxis has a starter pack at Rm 99. Comes with 1.5GB data /30days whichever comes first.....

They give you a HSDPA modem....

Use that and connect to the net.... Its important to place ur dongle correctly so that you are able to log into their HSDPA channel and not the GPRS channel...

I think they have just come up with a new promo for Rm 70 unlimited.

dunno the details....

Mobile Internet - Maxis is fast but can be costly if usage exceed monthly quota.
Digi is cheaper but slower, less coverage.
Check at respective provider web sites for coverage before signing up.
Seems that all providers has 7 days cooling period for new sign ups.

Home Internet - I used P1 WiMax (does not need a phone line unlike ADSL). Advantage is, if you go on road trips, you can bring along to use whenever you can plug the ac power in and of course in areas that has coverage.

Analytical Professor

Some of us called these women names. Was that fair? I dun think so... Some of us cast aspersions on these womens characters... Was that fair?

I think we should not discredit these women until the final outcome of investigations on both sides is clear.....

No media judgin....

Must be innocent until proven guilty not otherwise.......

Lastly..... it may be ok for us guys to take of our clothes.... but for women its traumatic.... specially in unknown quarters... when they dunno whats gonna happen next? they could have even got raped... the trauma is hard to erase.....

So if we did cast aspersions on their character we owe an apology to ourselves first for pre judging them....

Jun 17, 2011
JB officials suspended over nude squat claim
Singapore to monitor closely outcome of Malaysia's investigation

By Tham Yuen-C

TWO Johor Baru immigration officials have been suspended over the treatment of the Singaporean women detained last week - as the Singapore Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MFA) said it would 'closely monitor' the outcome of Malaysia's investigation.

The two women have said they were ordered to undress and do squats after accidentally passing through immigration without getting their passports stamped.

Malaysia's Immigration Department director-general Alias Ahmad said yesterday that the officials have been suspended until the seven-man panel completes its investigation. Meanwhile, the MFA said the allegations 'are serious and raise concerns'. 'We welcome the quick announcement of the Malaysian authorities of an immediate investigation,' said a spokesman.

Malaysia set up its multi-agency inquiry on Wednesday to investigate the incident, which has led to criticism of the women's treatment from both sides of the Causeway.

The committee, comprising officials from the police, prisons, immigration and detention centre departments, headed to Johor yesterday to start the probe. Mr Alias told the Nanyang Siang Pau newspaper the committee has been instructed to complete the task in five days, then submit a report to the Immigration Department. He said it would summon the two Singaporean women if necessary.

He stressed that their detention was legal as they had broken Malaysia's Immigration Act and did not pass through the biometric fingerprint checks.

Analytical Professor

Jun 17, 2011
Unmanned checkpoint booth confuses S'poreans

The Malaysian immigration case involving two Singaporean women allegedly detained and forced to do squats naked by Malaysian immigration officers has made another Singaporean tell citizen journalism website STOMP about his experience with unmanned checkpoint booths. -- PHOTO: STOMP

THE Malaysian immigration case involving two Singaporean women allegedly detained and forced to do squats naked by Malaysian immigration officers has made another Singaporean tell citizen journalism website STOMP about his experience with unmanned checkpoint booths.

Eric claims a Malaysian checkpoint officer had allowed him to pass through without stamping his passports.

He said: 'My wife and I had a similar encounter with an unmanned booth that showed the green light, with the barricade lifted up. Fortunately, we were on our way out of the country. When it was our turn, we stopped at the booth and looked inside.

'There was an immigration officer who sat in the background, arms folded and expressionless. The lights inside were not switched on. Thinking there was another booth up ahead, we drove on.

'To our horror there was none and we were already out of Malaysia when we realised it. We felt compelled to drive on and it was only when we arrived at the Singapore side and narrated our encounter to the Singapore immigration officers that we were advised to return to the Malaysia side to have our passports stamped.

'We also understood from the conversation that our encounter was not unique. The incident had caused us much confusion and inconvenience. The Malaysian government must be responsible for such irresponsible conduct of its civil servants and not push the blame on innocent tourists.'

Status
Not open for further replies.