• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

$50 Increment - What is the FAP PLPs taking SGs for???

[h=2]NWC recommends $50 pay rise for low-wage workers[/h]
PostDateIcon.png
May 24th, 2012 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Editorial

50-300x139.jpg

The National Wages Council (NWC) has recommended a minimum $50 pay rise for low-wage workers during its announcement of its annual wage guidelines on Wed (23 May). It’s recommendations cover the period from 1 July 2012 to 30 June 2013.

For low-wage workers earning a basic salary of up to $1,000 a month, the NWC recommended a minimum built-in wage increase of S$50. For companies that are doing well, the NWC recommended that they give these workers a larger increase.

The NWC also suggested rewarding workers through variable wage components, where possible. Companies doing well may also consider granting these workers an additional one-off lump sum payment to help them better cope with the cost of living.

NWC Chairman, Professor Lim Pin, said, “The NWC wage guidelines focus very strongly, especially strongly, on the low-wage workers. We have noted that the low-wage earners have fallen behind the income increase of the rest of the workforce. As a result, I’m happy to report there has been a clear and unequivocal support from all tripartite partners of doing more to help the low-wage workers.”
The government has supported the NWC’s recommendation. It urged companies to especially pay attention to the low-wage workers.
Union leaders also said that a minimum pay rise of $50 is a welcome start. Unionists encouraged companies to subscribe to best sourcing, rather than cheap sourcing.

Cham Hui Fong, NTUC’s assistant secretary-general, said, “Why we chose $1,000 and why this $50…is to ensure that this group of people would have at least a 5% wage increase. And coming from the union, of course, we will not stop there. We will ask for 50+plus. What the percentage will be will depend on how well the company is doing.”

NTUC said it would push strongly for such specific wage increases for the next three years.

The NWC said that Professor Lim Chong Yah’s recent suggestion on low-wage workers did have a bearing on its recommendations.
Prof Lim has earlier proposed that wages of our low-income workers should be raised substantially by 50% over three years notwithstanding that they are already underpaid for their current level of productivity. Prof Lim said, “My position, however, is that our lowly paid workers have been underpaid by much more than 100 per cent of their pay when compared with their counterparts in countries with comparable national affluence like Hong Kong, Japan or Australia.”

However, the NWC said that at the end of the day, it has to ensure that the recommendations are sustainable and balanced.

Still, all these wage increase recommendations by NWC for low-wage workers may be academic as long as companies are allowed to massively import cheap foreign workers to do the work. Even if companies do not give any increments to the foreign workers, the foreign workers are “locked in” since they have to work to clear their debts. Also, they can’t change employer on work permit. Two years later, companies will simply let go of their current batch of foreign workers and another batch from the third world countries will be more than happy to come and fill the place. No wage increase is needed cause if our locals don’t want to work so cheaply, cheap foreign workers will.

Sperminator

If the basic salary is SGD 1,000 a month, and there is a minimum wage increase of SGD 50, isn't this just a compensation to Inflation Rate of SGP? What difference does that make?

B

Baluku

50 bucks beri fast gone.

go shopping one time already gone.

peasants sibeh charm.

while MIWs get millions payraise.

they only get pitiful 50 dollars.

compare and contrast the difference.

this is how pap works.

wMulew

50 for someone earning 1000 is 5%. Will U complain if your boss give U a 5% increment?

50 bucks beri fast gone.

go shopping one time already gone.

peasants sibeh charm.

while MIWs get millions payraise.

they only get pitiful 50 dollars.

compare and contrast the difference.

this is how pap works.

$50 can pay for SIX bypass operations at $8 each and still have spare change to buy a drink.

Fook Seng

Si bei cham. Not even matching inflation of 5.4 %. Is this government interested in correcting income inequality? Is there sincerity?

KNN PAP . Just pass the law wage min $5/hour. Many work in hawker/NTUC/Mcdonal/KFC................less than $4/hr.

wMulew

wrong...50 less 20% CPF = 40 niah...

If U want to factor in CPF. $1000 * 80% = 800

40/800 * 100% = 5%

And on top of that

($1000 + $50) * 115%(add employer CPF contribution) = $1207.50
1000 * 115%(add employer CPF contribution) = $1150

Actual increase = 1207.50 - 1150 = $57.50 and not $50

1. hahaha!
2. out of its own admission.
3. so without the words from some professor who is also the dad-in-law of an elite sheep.
4. the nwc sees no urgency to do anything!
5. come on.
6. such establishment is some toothless & totally useless thing.
7. trying making it some statutory & mandatory thing!

50 dollar sap sap water lah. If I am the employee, i rather worry about the money in the CPF. Can they withdraw or not? KNN, HC play bacarrat keep losing and Mr KFC president cannot question wor.

Really disgraceful.. What can a $50 do nowadays?

Its just like throwing crumbs to the peasants..

Pappies think maybe peasant can try their luck at pappies' SINKAPOOR POOLS. 50 dollar lucky can buy 25 big and 25 small. If lucky hit 1st price, got over 100K wor.

Got this old cleaner Uncle at my workplace.. His pay only $750 after CPF deduction.. Told me that half of his pay spent on transport fares to work.. Sometimes I would buy him lunch because he would always bring bread from home to eat during his break time.. Pity these kind of low wage workers.. They really suffer due to the Govt's cheebye policies..

Don't look a gift horse in the mouth. The amount is immaterial. It's the thought that counts.