• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hi LGlab, i am sorry to hear about that, not much in terms of snakes though, its like a once in a bluemoon thing for us. Sulfur you can get easily in Tesco. Giant has some camping stuff too but its mainly Tesco that does it for me. I used to think like that too and brought lots of extreme gear in, all in storage now or sent back to SG. The thing that i use most is the fan based type of fly/insect capture which attracts them through UV light, etc. Also the Mortein type of liquid insect repellant that i used for some of the rooms. Nothing much else actually.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hi Arsenal,
I think you will still need to go down to digi, it helps that on the 3rd floor of Jusco Bukit Indah, there are so many telcos there, even U mobile (new broadband guys)
You can also sign up with some telcos for prepaid type of mobile broadband.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Yes bro, medication in general are cheaper than in SG. Also there is more opportunity for self-medication as controlled items like anti-biotics is readily available over the counter. So dont need to spend monies seeing GP who basically prescribe the same medicine.

Cheers.

Agree, Tesco has a pretty well stocked pharmacy and there is also a small one in Perling side (opposite the 4 seas tim sum place) and a very very well stocked one (stocked with quite a bit of US medicine too) at Sutera area (opposite the Taiwan porride place and near to the Kingston Hotel)

crystal_tiong

Dear doa

Tks for e detailed replied.

LGlab

For medicine, u may buy fr My pharmacy just beside kfc. So far its e cheapest i can find. Rem to be a member to collect points , u can sign up fr web too.
I used to buy in pelangi branch then few weeks ago , i happened to see e branch n start to buy fr bk indah branch , its rm12 cheaper per box for crestor medicine!!!

Dun know y can hv such huge diff.

greddy88

@arsenal:
thanks bro for the encouragement. also realized that recently when i started to think deeper... maybe that's why my folks are 'contented' with their hdb..

@avalon74:
yes, i believe i am.. bought the aviva term plans for saf nsmen.. covered whole family 400k each for like $180 a month in total.
in addition there are a few others.. sometimes i joked (and got scolded by my wife) if i die, they will huat big time. :biggrin:

@nusajaya:
its a mental barrier going into investment.. having lost quite a tidy sum in equities.
but what u said is true.. need to invest otherwise the inflation will eat it away. for my option 3 in the bank.. it is either i lost big (earlier i lost about 50% of my principle), or lose small (3-4% inflation).
moving into property.. the concern i stated earlier.. losing my job.
but anyway, i'm going back to the drawing board to rework my finances.
thanks for your insights! :wink:

@wuqi:
thanks bro. i first read about u in the newspaper article.. was interested but sort of put it aside cos i had other plans then.. well later it didn't work out (bro teck knows).. now i'm revisiting jb again. thanks a lot for the information you provided, and ongoing even now.

and about singaporeans rich... i believe many are probably shells that look good outside. full of debts.
i used to make a mistake of getting a car that almost equivalent to a 3-rm flat (not current price though :biggrin:).. but pocket near empty.
realized it later and lucky i have a good job to buffer. now no more.. once its coe expires, i'll be getting something more practical.

@polarbear:
yeah.. like my pm to u.. if it is convenient to share, your house type (link, cluster, etc) and rental cost for reference, please do..

@lglab:
bro, no fret. u started early. i had my first kid at 34yr old.. u can enjoy your fruits of labor earlier :wink:
also, wife and my parents have not reach elderly stage like yours...my turn will come to fulfill these duties.. so don't envy me.
anyway, hang in there.. rainbow will come eventually after the rain.

LGLab

Dear doa

Tks for e detailed replied.

LGlab

For medicine, u may buy fr My pharmacy just beside kfc. So far its e cheapest i can find. Rem to be a member to collect points , u can sign up fr web too.
I used to buy in pelangi branch then few weeks ago , i happened to see e branch n start to buy fr bk indah branch , its rm12 cheaper per box for crestor medicine!!!

Dun know y can hv such huge diff.

the medicine my father is eating are controlled drugs, they are for parkinson disease and causes hallucination..

therefore i dont know if can get from mypharmacy ..

LGLab

@arsenal:
thanks bro for the encouragement. also realized that recently when i started to think deeper... maybe that's why my folks are 'contented' with their hdb..

@avalon74:
yes, i believe i am.. bought the aviva term plans for saf nsmen.. covered whole family 400k each for like $180 a month in total.
in addition there are a few others.. sometimes i joked (and got scolded by my wife) if i die, they will huat big time. :biggrin:

@nusajaya:
its a mental barrier going into investment.. having lost quite a tidy sum in equities.
but what u said is true.. need to invest otherwise the inflation will eat it away. for my option 3 in the bank.. it is either i lost big (earlier i lost about 50% of my principle), or lose small (3-4% inflation).
moving into property.. the concern i stated earlier.. losing my job.
but anyway, i'm going back to the drawing board to rework my finances.
thanks for your insights! :wink:

@wuqi:
thanks bro. i first read about u in the newspaper article.. was interested but sort of put it aside cos i had other plans then.. well later it didn't work out (bro teck knows).. now i'm revisiting jb again. thanks a lot for the information you provided, and ongoing even now.

and about singaporeans rich... i believe many are probably shells that look good outside. full of debts.
i used to make a mistake of getting a car that almost equivalent to a 3-rm flat (not current price though :biggrin:).. but pocket near empty.
realized it later and lucky i have a good job to buffer. now no more.. once its coe expires, i'll be getting something more practical.

@polarbear:
yeah.. like my pm to u.. if it is convenient to share, your house type (link, cluster, etc) and rental cost for reference, please do..

@lglab:
bro, no fret. u started early. i had my first kid at 34yr old.. u can enjoy your fruits of labor earlier :wink:
also, wife and my parents have not reach elderly stage like yours...my turn will come to fulfill these duties.. so don't envy me.
anyway, hang in there.. rainbow will come eventually after the rain.

yeah, mine all came at 1 shot.. haha...

DREAMorACTION

To my knowledge, there are two types.

1) purely a sim card for Internet. Cant make call whatsoever
2) voice - with option to subscribe to mobile Internet

Mine is type 2. So shiuld yours be. U don't need to go online to upgrade. U just need to subscribe from your phone.

Hi bro,
I am keen to know if I have a digi prepaid voice sims, can I upgrade it online or via other means to have mobile broadband?

Cheers

DREAMorACTION

There is one pharmacy along the street of HSBC amanah ... Outside Nusa duta. Can widen your search

the medicine my father is eating are controlled drugs, they are for parkinson disease and causes hallucination..

therefore i dont know if can get from mypharmacy ..

DREAMorACTION

My fav pharmacy is d'apotic. they have website

http://www.d-apotic.com/

I use this pharmacy most of the time. When I buy common drugs such as flu etc, I always save about 50% when compared to Sg.

Their pharmacy is quite big. U can call and check if they have the drugs u need ...

I normally use their HQ store right at the city of 1st link

arsenal

Thanks you and dreamaction for the info.

Hi Arsenal,
I think you will still need to go down to digi, it helps that on the 3rd floor of Jusco Bukit Indah, there are so many telcos there, even U mobile (new broadband guys)
You can also sign up with some telcos for prepaid type of mobile broadband.

DREAMorACTION

Welcome bro arsenal

Btw, is it possible to change my user name here? Imagine if it's no longer a dream for me once I have purchased something, yet I'm still calling myself DoA, a bit weird hor?

jasonjst

Welcome bro arsenal

Btw, is it possible to change my user name here? Imagine if it's no longer a dream for me once I have purchased something, yet I'm still calling myself DoA, a bit weird hor?

Dont need lah , you can continue dreaming about the girl next door ! Since ah thiong rejected you already ! haha

crystal_tiong

Dont need lah , you can continue dreaming about the girl next door ! Since ah thiong rejected you already ! haha

Huh, he never express to me before leh. Haha.
Btw, went jb just. They hv blocked e coastal highway fr hh to nusajaya.
I followed one sg uncle car, he exit hh n make illegal u turn to continue e road. So dangerous. Incoming hv big trucks coming. HENG they gave way to me else accident Liao.

Status
Not open for further replies.