• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

contra

While others were thinking, 'Where is AP?' I was wondering, 'Where is Contra?' Haha welcome back :smile:
Thanks for sharing your knowledge about FX and I've learnt a great deal from you, PH, Lastresort, Wuqi, Yonglip and others who contributed in just the last 2-3 pages :wink:

Just like you, I didn't bet on rental yield(Lastresort should know that thru our PM :smile:) I was only betting on capital appreciation since last year.

But you might have mistaken that I'm betting on appreciation of ringgit. I know nothing about FX and factors which affect it so I've never bet on ringgit.
My bets are almost just the same as you guys, the bullish and ambitious ones here, other than some points which I didn't see but you guys did.
So thanks everyone for sharing your knowledge.

Hi bro Investor,

Has been a bit crazy these days at work with the volatile economic environment and the budget period in corporate-land. Decided to take a break in JB to escape the madness & to get to know the different areas of JB a bit more intimately. It did me a whole lot of good (but not so for my waist :smile:.

My weekend in JB;

I dropped by JB last weekend to visit the Persada Home Fair. Only one floor and not as many vendors as I was expecting. So next time must go for the big one in October. Anyway was good to see the vendors to set my own expectations on what to expect to buy, vendor contacts & brochures and prices as well, in prep for my house next year.

Stayed the weekend in Mutiara Hotel in Taman Abad (Century) near KSL. I enjoyed Mutiara more than Thistle. Got a good deal in Agoda which has two double beds and breakfast for MYR240 only. Mutiara is in the middle of all the bustle . Prefer this area to the city centre. Seems to be the 'in' hotel in town with its Saturday weddings & high tea and Sunday brunches. By the way I have never seen so many car wash concentrated in one place and only MYR8!.

The Japanese restaurant in Crystal Crown nearby is the best & authentic. Clientele mainly Japanese - did not realise there are so many of them working and staying in JB.

(Hi bro lastresort,
you should visit this restaurant for the waitresses all around your age, ....er, I mean the reasonable-priced good food :smile:

Before I went to JB, I did some research and planned to eat at Cheelicous (that sis Skippy was referring to) and also Giani Tratorria (also on the following website). http://gowhere.woohoo.com.my/1700/cheelicious/

Unfortunately I ran out of stomach space because on Sunday I went to Jusco Tebrau. I love the Jusco layout (same as Bukit Indah) and shop tennants mix than KSL.

So if anyone can give a food review on the Cheelicous and Gianni Trat or others, pls let us know.

In the meantime thanks to the stronger SGD, the meals tasted a whole lot nicer and fresher (as the ingredients & air always are indeed in JB, vs Spore).

contra

Hi friends,

I could not believe my eyes when I noticed that in just 2 days, 12 pages have sped past. That makes it 6 pages a day. Is insane.

In the old days (just a year ago), lucky to be 2 pages per day .... esp more when AP was on a roll (by the way, where is he? hope he is ok)

This is how a market gets started and goes beyond a tipping point and takes a life of its own onwards.

(If only the Chinese did not mess with the number 4, we would be maybe 60+ in the House-Investment list already)....

contra

Thanks for asking Jason, it is my personal feeling that the prices are creeping north.

To tell you the truth, we had put in the deposit for our house last Sunday but we are still keeping our fingers crossed that the deal would be sealed soon – as the owner is out of town and wouldn’t be back till tomorrow to sign the option form. We are praying hard that he will not renege on the sale, lured by a higher offer from other people.

We have seen Nusa Duta but we preferred HH more because the feel is different. For the price we are going to pay for a ND semi-d, we can get only a terrace in HH: ( I am not saying that ND is not good, so please don’t shoot me for it (different strokes for different folks, I guess) haha.

Hi Odyssey,

Welcome! The contract has been finally sealed?

Actually for the longest time I could not explain the 'feel' of Horizon Hills. I just left it at 'chi'.
Then just a few months back, I realised what that x-factor is that gave the 'feel'.

It is the respect for the natural topography of the land by the developer. They preserved it when all others would have cut down all the trees and flattened the land; as it is much easier to construct on flat bare land. This is a kind of 'chi' for me.

You are right, at the time I could get a semi-d in ND for similar price than HH Hills terrace. But decided to go for latter. (There are other factors in decision making like the Chinese and International Schools in HH that can help preserve resale values and I also would like to golf when got more time in retirement). I am looking fwd to it very much. Lucky you for being there already.

Puteri harbour

Agree.... Sad that the education has fail to teach the right value system over the years. Fortunately, the new education minister realise this and hopefully he can change things over the next 10 years.

I am a person that does not leave things to chance. I prefer to my kids simple value from young. It start with simple things like call people and saying good morning and good night and asking whether people already have their dinner. And of course having dinner together as a family. This is some of the things that my parent taught us. Me and my siblings are very close and I know that everyOne of them are filial desPite me being the eldest.

Let's us change the world. Rich is not equal to no value system. It is parent today that lead to subsequent generations of unfilial descendants. It is a vicious cycle.....

Hope the above is helpful.....

Cheers,
PH
Yah that's also why it's mostly the poorer people from poorer countries who are more filial than those from developed countries.
It's sad that as our world is progressing economically, we're experiencing a regression in human values and social ethic.

I better teach my future children to just be contented, live simply, ask for less, give more, cherish family etc instead of pressuring them to be competitive from young with Cambridge English tuition, some increase intelligence course, Piano, Ballet, Math tuition, nian nian kao di yi (year year no. one in class) :eek:
But to achieve that, I think I have to start teaching myself to be contented first :p

ShawnLow

ODYSSEY said:
We have seen Nusa Duta and HH only. We decided that the whole place is just too big to cover all. So, we decided to just home in on HH for its feel of spaciousness.

Can try BH few unit left

ShawnLow

yonglip said:
The one bedders are actually bigger units that were partitioned into smaller units..When they launched it, the bigger units were overly expensive, so they have to chop the units up to sell cheaper. I think holiday plaza dying a slow death with KSL city around...for some bros here who are just 2nd linkers, wont know the history of holiday plaza. i suspect the only thing they know is bukit indah/horizon hills/tesco/jusco. haha.

In any case, looking forward to the completion of KSL city resort so that can make use of my 14 days free stay.

cheers.

I also wan to use it~lol~hope everyting will be awesome

ShawnLow

contra said:
Hi bro Investor,

Has been a bit crazy these days at work with the volatile economic environment and the budget period in corporate-land. Decided to take a break in JB to escape the madness & to get to know the different areas of JB a bit more intimately. It did me a whole lot of good (but not so for my waist :smile:.

My weekend in JB;

I dropped by JB last weekend to visit the Persada Home Fair. Only one floor and not as many vendors as I was expecting. So next time must go for the big one in October. Anyway was good to see the vendors to set my own expectations on what to expect to buy, vendor contacts & brochures and prices as well, in prep for my house next year.

Stayed the weekend in Mutiara Hotel in Taman Abad (Century) near KSL. I enjoyed Mutiara more than Thistle. Got a good deal in Agoda which has two double beds and breakfast for MYR240 only. Mutiara is in the middle of all the bustle . Prefer this area to the city centre. Seems to be the 'in' hotel in town with its Saturday weddings & high tea and Sunday brunches. By the way I have never seen so many car wash concentrated in one place and only MYR8!.

The Japanese restaurant in Crystal Crown nearby is the best & authentic. Clientele mainly Japanese - did not realise there are so many of them working and staying in JB.

(Hi bro lastresort,
you should visit this restaurant for the waitresses all around your age, ....er, I mean the reasonable-priced good food :smile:

Before I went to JB, I did some research and planned to eat at Cheelicous (that sis Skippy was referring to) and also Giani Tratorria (also on the following website). http://gowhere.woohoo.com.my/1700/cheelicious/

Unfortunately I ran out of stomach space because on Sunday I went to Jusco Tebrau. I love the Jusco layout (same as Bukit Indah) and shop tennants mix than KSL.

So if anyone can give a food review on the Cheelicous and Gianni Trat or others, pls let us know.

In the meantime thanks to the stronger SGD, the meals tasted a whole lot nicer and fresher (as the ingredients & air always are indeed in JB, vs Spore).

Cheelicious is a must go place if u love cheese. Their cheese is good especially the cheese spaggatte as well as their cheese cake. Give it a try n u wont forget! 8/10 for me!

KittyMeow

Go see imperia in PH. Same pricing but way better finishing and better high end amenities already under construction ler.

I went there once on a weekend , the Mall is built around the very old taman , road leading in and out are all jam pack , how the residents there can tahan ? Wont it be worst if the condos are all fully built ?
I feel more comfortable shoping at our side of the taman leh , since everything you see there can be found here also mah .

fairies

Thanks... What you all thInk about ledang heights? Is it freehold?

Cheers and many thanks in advance.
PH

Hi PH ... Ledang Heights is freehold. It's a love it or hate it thingy. When I first shopped around for a house, LH appeared to me quite scary, due to its 'eery' feel. So few houses scattered in such a huge area, and only a handful actually live there, while the rest only come during weekends. At night it was frighteningly quiet and little bit dark. Roads, park, trees, etc appeared rundown, as compared to its immediate neighbour, East Ledang. Plus stories I heard and read about burglary cases. But I think it's just me & wifey, and our love for nature and space. After giving it long thought, we opted for the nature and decided that we can live with the less than desired rundown environment. Price was another factor. 1.3 mil and I got a 2 storey bungalow on a 10000 sqf land. For the same amount, I can only get a semi-D @ EL with not much land left for swimming pool nor gardening.

Again it's either you'll fall for it or you'll loathe it. Not many houses left for sale by EUM, but you can still drop in the showroom and ask the reception for a list of available houses and get one of their salespeople to drive you around. You may also look around for pieces of land on sale by owners.

SeriAustinian

Just random thoughts:

I seriously don't mind looking for a JB/Ipoh/KL wife next time if my generation of Singapore girls have so high expectations. My simple criteria for future wife is someone who doesn't mind living in JB, and someone who can cook! :biggrin:

Aargh! Thot of introducing my Ipoh sis-in-law to u...stil in Form 6 (can KIV 1st). Since me n wifey shifting to JB in future, dun think she will mind relocating too. However, regarding the cooking part...(scratch head). Mayb get my mom-in-law n wife to put her through "Hell's Kitchen" 1st...Hahaha!!! Catch up soon...

checkers

Hi bro Investor,

Thanks for the recommendation. If the clientele is mainly Japanese, the food will not be 'far off' ... that's one of the criterion when looking for good Japanese restaurants ...will try that one :wink:

kennyc

Bro Wuqi,

All those you've mentioned is a completely different lifestyle from what they are having right now... i'm not sure if they will like it... but i know my mom doesnt play mahjong, my dad doesnt fish, my parents dont cycle, they are totally unfamilar with jb roads. Ask them go shopping centre they also dont buy anything. Gardening sounds great...but mine is an intermediate unit hence cant offer them gardening hobby..... i will be busy wif my job, so might not have all the time in the world to bring them ard....

my parents like go walk walk...lim kopi...take things slow.... they have a thing for Chinatown as they met there and grew up there.... for them to travel there from bukit indah.... it will be too tiring for them....

Hopefully i will be able to have a higher income in the future, then my wife can be full time housewife and bring my parents ard....

hey tutucake.... u can consider getting a malaysia car and a malaysian driver tat can fetch ur parents in and out to sin... MY car and drivers are quite reasonability priced... another alternative...

abugumgum

Good suggestion.

What is the pay like for a MY Driver? The MY car can be registered in your name?

hey tutucake.... u can consider getting a malaysia car and a malaysian driver tat can fetch ur parents in and out to sin... MY car and drivers are quite reasonability priced... another alternative...

Grago

Agree.... Sad that the education has fail to teach the right value system over the years. Fortunately, the new education minister realise this and hopefully he can change things over the next 10 years. I am a person that does not leave things to chance. I prefer to my kids simple value from young. It start with simple things like call people and saying good morning and good night and asking whether people already have their dinner. And of course having dinner together as a family. This is some of the things that my parent taught us. Me and my siblings are very close and I know that everyOne of them are filial desPite me being the eldest. Let's us change the world. Rich is not equal to no value system. It is parent today that lead to subsequent generations of unfilial descendants. It is a vicious cycle.....Hope the above is helpful.....Cheers,PH
Agree with you Bro. Children are like 'blank canvas' where Parents are the artists who decide how 'rich' and 'vibrant' the 'works'( child ) turns out to be. Spend time with them and ' point' out the things you want them to take on and you will be surprised and rewarded many times over. Neglect or fail them and you reap what you sow or in their case fail to teach them....

Grago

Hi bro Investor,Has been a bit crazy these days at work with the volatile economic environment and the budget period in corporate-land. Decided to take a break in JB to escape the madness & to get to know the different areas of JB a bit more intimately. It did me a whole lot of good (but not so for my waist :smile:.My weekend in JB;I dropped by JB last weekend to visit the Persada Home Fair. Only one floor and not as many vendors as I was expecting. So next time must go for the big one in October. Anyway was good to see the vendors to set my own expectations on what to expect to buy, vendor contacts & brochures and prices as well, in prep for my house next year.Stayed the weekend in Mutiara Hotel in Taman Abad (Century) near KSL. I enjoyed Mutiara more than Thistle. Got a good deal in Agoda which has two double beds and breakfast for MYR240 only. Mutiara is in the middle of all the bustle . Prefer this area to the city centre. Seems to be the 'in' hotel in town with its Saturday weddings & high tea and Sunday brunches. By the way I have never seen so many car wash concentrated in one place and only MYR8!. The Japanese restaurant in Crystal Crown nearby is the best & authentic. Clientele mainly Japanese - did not realise there are so many of them working and staying in JB. (Hi bro lastresort, you should visit this restaurant for the waitresses all around your age, ....er, I mean the reasonable-priced good food :smile:Before I went to JB, I did some research and planned to eat at Cheelicous (that sis Skippy was referring to) and also Giani Tratorria (also on the following website). http://gowhere.woohoo.com.my/1700/cheelicious/Unfortunately I ran out of stomach space because on Sunday I went to Jusco Tebrau. I love the Jusco layout (same as Bukit Indah) and shop tennants mix than KSL. So if anyone can give a food review on the Cheelicous and Gianni Trat or others, pls let us know. In the meantime thanks to the stronger SGD, the meals tasted a whole lot nicer and fresher (as the ingredients & air always are indeed in JB, vs Spore).
Hello Contra

Glad to see you back, thought you MIA....:wink: looks like AP is..... You are right about the food..... Need to walk it off around the Malls before the next sitting. :smile: else very soon have to shop for new wardrobe :0

kennyc

I am also one of your kind. Just to keep some inform( thou, I might b the only ignorant one. For the two days I stayed in LF, I uses my iPhone to read n post few messages in thus forum, today got a call from singtel informing me that my bill will b 500 plus fr that two days as I hv no plan (not sure wat plan they r talking about) so beware .

quite many places in LF is now wifi ready, even Serai club in BWV is wifi ready, .... we set our phone to stop all data services once it goes into roaming. And we have a malaysia prepaid card which we used to make calls, sms and stuff, it is really a lot cheaper then using SG phone. The top up card also has those plan that is for both data and voice call. RM15 per topcard if i remember correctly from Maxi. S$500 for 2 days is maddness!!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.