• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Puteri harbour

I agree.... I also heard of some hedge fund managers are buying property in horizon hills for investment. I am confident that both Singapore, locals and expat working in Singapore will start looking at nusajaya once the expats community increase. That why I choose IMPERIA as the well to do will be paid so much that they do not mind the high rental. To the, it is about lifestyle and prestige. As most of the senior guys are mostly with family, that also explain why I go for a 2508sqft 3 BR condo. Between, mine is not or rental. then why I buy? First principle of investment is to understand that Rental value always drive capital values of any assets. If rental is good, property prices will catch up... All the best...

Cheers,
PH

Thanks for you view Bluereff!

My opinion - lets not talk about long term as most of us believe that the fundamentals are strong.

In the shorter, 2-3 year timeframe, my personal view is that that rental prospects should be quite good for developments like Imperia, EL, Impiana, etc. We have already talked about some of the driving factors in Nusajaya itself, such as, Students and Professors at Educity, Legoland Executives, Pinewood Iskandar and the Media Industry ecosystem that they are trying to build along. All of these developments are planned to be completed in the next 1-2 years.

However, if the CIQ at PH gets going in the next 2-3 years and they start services from Raffles Marina and Harbourfront, I can see a strong demand from folks working in Singapore as well. The reason why I am saying is that I work for a large fortune 100 company and have friends and business partners in other companies as well. We get a lot of folks who come to work in Singapore for a 3-5 year assignment. They are not necessarily on expat package. I am noticing an increasing interest from some of them who are interested in living in Iskandar and commuting. Their big concern is security and means of transportation as most of them dont drive. This should be taken care of once there is a supply of premium condominiums and they start the ferry services to CIQ.

This model has worked very well in very high cost cities, such as New York, Mumbai, Tokyo, etc. where commuting into the city is very common. Singapore is equally expensive, or getting there. Once a few desirable residential communities are in place, along with means of transportation, this model should work in Singapore as well. These are my thoughts. Would be great to hear what others think.

IskandarRocks

Went there to EL to visit a friend..then went to show flat..and bought a unit for my retirement needs since its only ready in 2014.and I liked the whole neighbourhood,and the fact that it would be next to the International school. I am not one for Landed units since I dont plan on living there permanently -so a condo works better for me as I will have less to worry about security ect..when its empty for extended periods.Price wise..I think its still very worthwhile.. surprisingly I was told thast most units have been taken up by locals. There's some comfort in that -it must still repreent good value/potential for appreciation if there is strong local demand. Who knows..I m happy to get the unit whatever the outcome. Its basically the same price as that of a good European sedan with a 10 yr life span in Singapore and still represents good value for money.

Thanks Lizzert! Makes sense ..... love that comparison with the good European sedans.

LeMans2011

Is it true that we should try not to drive our conti cars to Malaysia..?
Paisei for some of my simple questions.

Hmmm... i drove a conti cabrio for 1.5 years with no incidence (black color).
In the subsequent year i changed to a conti sedan (white color) - 2 incidences. Incident one - windows got smashed and a bag stolen - still i can attribute this to my own carelessness for leaving a bag at the backseat. Incident two - almost got robbed at fake gunpoint at my regular dinner place "Pearl Restaurant" ie coffee shop opposite Petronas. This time it is really the car that drew the attention.

Conclusion: if you must drive a conti car - avoid white color as it is very eye-catching at night.

Investor

Hi everyone,
Any recommendation for good food around Bukit Indah area or nearby?
Please recommend as I've been there many times already and always ended up in same places like HH clubhouse, EL clubhouse and Jusco's restaurants for meals. Did try out the bittergourd soup outside Giant as recommended by Yonglip. It's a nice but simple meal. Would really like to try out good food anywhere around Bukit Indah or even further. Thanks in advance.

Puteri harbour

Thanks... I think I better keep to my Japanese car when I drive in. Do not want to put my family at risk...
Cheers,
PH
In the subsequent year i changed to a conti sedan (white color) - 2 incidences. Incident one - windows got smashed and a bag stolen - still i can attribute this to my own carelessness for leaving a bag at the backseat. Incident two - almost got robbed at fake gunpoint at my regular dinner place "Pearl Restaurant" ie coffee shop opposite Petronas. This time it is really the car that drew the attention.

Conclusion: if you must drive a conti car - avoid white color as it is very eye-catching at night.

euphony

i drive a conti too. very small perhaps rarer than usual hoping that will escape the muggers radar. i take all precautions too. all the time. 2yrs plus without incidence i hope many more to come.

jasonjst

Hi everyone,
Any recommendation for good food around Bukit Indah area or nearby?
Please recommend as I've been there many times already and always ended up in same places like HH clubhouse, EL clubhouse and Jusco's restaurants for meals. Did try out the bittergourd soup outside Giant as recommended by Yonglip. It's a nice but simple meal. Would really like to try out good food anywhere around Bukit Indah or even further. Thanks in advance.

1) Simple food : can try craypot rice at Old Place , behind Habbis Roti Prata ( Habbis Roti itself is nice too -24hrs )
2) Tang Shi Fu - Masters in herbal soup , stew pork ... at Sutera Mall
3) Tim Sum at Chow Yuen , along Bestari just opposite Best Mart
4) Seafood at Orang Asli village , after languna golf course.
0r seafoods behind the Station 1 if you dont wish to drive so far.
5) Sutera Mall got quite a number of shophouse you should try one by one , starting with the Japanese , Korea , Taiwanese , Malacca chicken rice ( no need to go malacca liao )
6) Tun Aminah Area - got one very nice Bak Kuk Teh / Fish Head Curry
same row got one XO roast meat / duck - will update address here cant remember address even though I go so often.
7) Once a while you can try those so so food at Old Town / Ah Koon along bestari
8) Oh yes , even Subway sandwhich is now available at Sutera Mall .
9) You can also try Taste Buds , operate by real Ang Moh boss , quite high std . price was real cheap last time , but not anymore , sad.
10) You should also try Five Star chicken rice along bestari , probably the cheapest kampong chicken rice in JB ! But quality is very good.
11) Korea food : Bestari along RHB bank , this one is good if you love Korea food , operate by the real Korean family .
12) More to come ... haha ... you wont run out of idea eating in JB lah!

Oh yes , good and cheap breakfast is harder to find lah , those ppls open very late.
But if you try Sutera Mall , quite a number of shop now open as early at 8am. Can have breakfast set with toast , eggs , coffee .@Ah Hong, very std one. Something more heavy can go for Pontian Wanton Noodles , Nasi lemak . Take your time finish your b/f and zoom down to 2nd link , reach office around 10.30 am ,tell boss you meet a client at JB for b/f, but dont do it everyday , otherwise y get fired, haha .

On the side note : Got a shophouse at Bestari Height , same row as the RHB bank , need to go for rental at 2.8K ground flr and 1.2K 1st flr , please help to hunt for tentants if you got friend wanting to start a biz . Many thanks .
Good idea if you can use 1st flr as a SOHO , save you rental to stay in a apartment.

LeMans2011

i drive a conti too. very small perhaps rarer than usual hoping that will escape the muggers radar. i take all precautions too. all the time. 2yrs plus without incidence i hope many more to come.

Hmmm... be alert... your car does attract attention and don't ask me how i know :biggrin:
As what one bro suggested, pay for a second hand proton or MYVI for local commute is ze best

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Re: To Wuqi advise needed

Hi Danteakc, we will need to do something in that case, i am so sorry to hear about this. I will bring it up to their management as soon as i can.

Pardon me as i am still working round the clock the past couple of days, wife just had some medical issues and our maid just left as well. Boss isn't giving me any slack even though i am truly BSBH. Just had a heated disagreement this morning so still working on his reports.

Accuracy versus timeliness, always a fine line to tread.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Bro Danteakc, i have dropped you a quick PM with what to do and whose name to use. If need be, i will provide you with more names and their contact details as well. You will not be alone.

Guys, thanks for all your PMs, i need to catch a breather the next couple of days as i need to focus on my job 24 hours a day for this week.
Apologies, all PMs will be responded to.

arsenal

Wuqi, take care..

Read the following also make me boil.. Ungracious Greenhead CEO gracious company?

"

Well done SMRT staff max shareholder profit by refuse 10yo boy short of 20c to board
A man is criticising SMRT staff for refusing to lend his son 20 cents to get home.

Mr Chen's ten-year-old son had attended an extra-curricular activity on 5 October and had tried to take the MRT home from Newton to Yishun at about 8pm in the evening.

The boy discovered he was unable to pass through the MRT gantry gates as his ez-link card contained less than $3 in value.

The boy tried to top up his ez-link card with the $2 he had but found that he could not as the minimum top up amount seems to be $5.

Mr Chen (hypno-therapist) explained, "My son tried to ask the station staff for help and they asked him to buy a $2.20 single trip ticket. But he was short of 20 cents and could not do so."

At a loss of what to do, the boy called his father for help.

"My son was panicking over the phone, but I was on a working trip in Malaysia, and my wife was in a meeting at the time."

Mr Chen asked his son to borrow 20 cents from the station staff to get home, but the boy only managed to do so with great difficulty.

Mr Chen explained that the station staff had reminded his son many times to "remember to return the money".

He feels that the MRT staff could do better as they seem to lack the compassion to help a little boy get home.

"My son no longer dares to come home himself and panicks when there is less than $5 value left in his ez-link card," said Mr Chen.

SMRT is investigating the incident.

Source: Lianhe Wanbao, 6 November 2011. Click here for the Chinese report.
Yesterday*09:55 PM #2

Investor

1) Simple food : can try craypot rice at Old Place , behind Habbis Roti Prata ( Habbis Roti itself is nice too -24hrs )
2) Tang Shi Fu - Masters in herbal soup , strew pork ... at Sutera Mall
3) Tim Sum at Chow Yuen , along Bestari just opposite Best Mart
4) Seafood at Orang Asli village , after languna golf course.
5) Sutera Mall got quite a number of shophouse you should try one by one , starting with the Japanese , Korea , Taiwanese , Malacca chicken rice ( no need to go malacca liao )
6) Tun Aminah Area - got one very nice Bak Kuk Teh / Fish Head Curry
same row got one XO roast meat / duck - will update address here cant remember address even though I go so often.
7) Once a while you can try those so so food at Old Town / Ah Koon along bestari
8) Oh yes , even Subway sandwhich is now available at Sutera Mall .
9) You can also try Taste Buds , operate by real Ang Moh boss , quite high std . price was real cheap last time , but not anymore , sad.
10) You should also try Five Star chicken rice along bestari , probably the cheapest kampong chicken rice in JB ! But quality is very good.
11) Korea food : Bestari along RHB bank , this one is good if you love Korea food , operate by the real Korean family .
12) More to come ... haha ... you wont run out of idea eating in JB lah!

Oh yes , good and cheap breakfast is harder to find lah , those ppls open very late.
But if you try Sutera Mall , quite a number of shop now open as early at 8am. Can have breakfast set with toast , eggs , coffee .@Ah Hong, very std one. Something more heavy can go for Potian Wanton Noodles , Nasi lemak . Take your time finish your b/f and zoom down to 2nd link , reach office around 10.30 am ,tell boss you meet a client at JB for b/f, but dont do it everyday , otherwise y get fired, haha .

On the side note : Got a shophouse at Bestari Height , same row as the RHB bank , need to go for rental at 2.8K ground flr and 1.2K 1st flr , please help to hunt for tentants if you got friend wanting to start a biz . Many thanks .
Good idea if you can use 1st flr as a SOHO , save you rental to stay in a apartment.

Thank you so much for sharing such a long list Jason :biggrin: You must be the makan guru of JB lah :wink:

Investor

Hmmm... be alert... your car does attract attention and don't ask me how i know :biggrin:
As what one bro suggested, pay for a second hand proton or MYVI for local commute is ze best

Myvi is too small in size leh. Might kanna force to a stop by thugs. Better drive a cheap yet muscular ride.

iamapseudoneem

Hi Mattl02138. Didn't notice anyone reply to you yet so I thought I'd chip in.
A pretty decent site that has updates on developments including floorplans is http://thissit.com/Default.aspx
It doesn't have all the developments out there but it has amassed quite a set and you can make some comparisons at least.
Hope it helps!

Hello, new to the forum, a big thank you to everyone for the wealth of information!

i am working abroad and is thinking of buying a semi-d or cluster for my parents/investment. tried to contact HH and SPSetia sales people and can't seem to get good information through email/internet. I have narrowed down my choices to HH, Cascadia and EL.

I am wondering if anyone has the floor plans for the 2-1/2 The Golf Semi-D, the new 2 and 3 story clusters at The Hills and the new launches at Eco Cascadia? Gamuda is horrible about updating their website and replying emails.

Can't find anything online regarding these few prohects, I want to do my research before my trip back this December so I can decided quickly. Hope some of you big bosses can help out. Posting the scans of the plans would be appreciated and I am sure others would love to see it too.

Please let me know if anyone has any leads or information on locating the floor plans, my parents can't help much as they are IT-noobs and can't travel around in JB easily. Many thanks in advance!

mattl02138

Thanks, iamapseudoneem! I know about that thisisit.com website, but unfortunately it doesn't have that 2-3 projects I want. I basically narrowed down my options to the HH The Hills clusters, The Golf 2 1/2 semi-D, LF Bayou Creek Semi-d (if the new interchange is happening).

From reading the posts, it sounds like a few forum members booked or at least look at the show units recently..was hoping that they have the floorplans handy to be shared. Again, HH sucks at their website and they never even return my emails! Guess walk-in business is too good!

Eco-Cascadia is a wild card for me, need to see the surrounding areas and the concept in person, the trailers and renderings online are too good to be true, Malaysian lakes and waterfalls are not crystal clear, that is for sure :wink:

Status
Not open for further replies.