• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Investor

Oh please! Don't come! Please don't come. The causeway traffic is still bearable now. If all come to JB custom will be jam everyday of the week! :P

Don't like that leh, let them come lah. We must help fellow Singaporeans.
Those Singaporeans who are seriously hit by the crisis might plan to cut cost and look for cheaper house, car, food etc.
Johor might become a popular choice to these Singaporeans during crisis ah! With so much combined knowledge about Living in JB from these thread, we must help them :biggrin:

arsenal

Don't like that leh, let them come lah. We must help fellow Singaporeans.
Those Singaporeans who are seriously hit by the crisis might plan to cut cost and look for cheaper house, car, food etc.
Johor might become a popular choice to these Singaporeans during crisis ah! With so much combined knowledge about Living in JB from these thread, we must help them :biggrin:

Merge the 2 countries lah.. Then we don't need to have custom..

Hi Ginfreely

depends on how wide and how deep the crack lines are. one crack will lead to another crack, there is no end. however there are ways to solve cracks. First of all we must understand the nature of cracks and why it happens. It's gonna be a super big thesis so i won't even touch on this part. too long to write easier to talk. Crack lines from inside the house can lead to crack lines outside the house , so crack lines on outside the house also can lead to inside the house.if i see a crack line i will do my very best to stop it right away if it's in Johor.

Wow take out tiles , no guranteed, might crack. I also don't want to do if you don't have spare tiles. very scary. yes you can try to squeeze some boding material and try to keep it holding tehre. in other for 2 materials to bond together there must be some form of adhesion. to have some form of adhesion the surface must be prepared. in your case can try boding material and pray that it works.

give u an eg. for parquet flooring, if it's too hollow, what they do drill a very very small hold and pump bonding material into it using special device so that the bonding can hold the flooring a long period. there fast dry and slow dry.

your tiles to take out really very very hard work, can be done but takes painstaking efforts. it's basically restoration work which is not worth it at all. too expensive.

give you another eg. you want to stick a tape a wall, the wall dusty cannot. must prepare surface , whatever we do must have surface preparation. in your case no choice, have to make do with what you can.

you make me feel so guilty now. i better think of a way to fix all the tiles in my dad's home. done by HDB years ago. tiles also come in different qualities. so dependent on tiles quality, the either crack easily or they don't.

Hi BFF,

Yes the crack lines I saw are the houses in Johor, actually it is in HH, previously saw two terrace units in Golf and both have large cracks inside the house (didn't see any cracks in the HH semi d and clusters though). Think I got mentioned this many many pages ago.

Oic so there is possibility of the tiles breaking, in that case I better don't take the tiles out. I really love this place and have owned it since TOP and have no wish to sell. Basically I treat it like my baby and will do my best to keep it in pristine condition!

Has the bloodbath begun?.. . .? Time will tell.....

But i vividly recall mentioning some time ago that this was gonna happen.

My comments were met with a firm rebuttal.... Thus....

1) was professor neefling us again?

2) all reports in newspapers point to a healthy state of economy...

Time has hopefully proved me right....

Aiyoh, better to be proven wrong for such things.

arsenal

KPJ International Specialist Hospital, Johor Bahru, Malaysia

Nightingale Associates
www.nightingaleassociates.com

Nightingale Associates reveal luxury healthcare facility in Johor Bahru, Malaysia

The southernmost city of the Eurasian mainland, Johor Bahru is a thriving tropical hub which is home to 900,000 residents in the city centre and approximately 2million in the metropolitan area. A key economic centre within Malaysia, the city is soon to be home to a new luxury healthcare development as plans by international practice Nightingale Associates, and locally based firms Healthcare Technical Services and M&R Architects are soon to be presented to the Malaysian Ministry of Health.

Healthcare services continue to develop in terms of technical capacity, innovative design features and commercial services rendered to the final users, and this concept is no different. Two levels of retail facilities including a double-height supermarket will provide leisure outlets and amenity provisions to both patients and visitors and will act as one of three entrances to the main Centres of Excellence.

The entire complex has been modelled on the concept of ‘the healing hand’, providing the facility with a ‘distinctive, separate identity’ within a ‘dramatic, symbolic and highly efficient [design] in terms of clinical functionality’. In a literal sense, the ‘palm’ of this healing hand encompasses the central atrium and ‘hot core’ elements of the healthcare facility, including the central imaging, endoscopy, pharmacy, theatres, intensive care unit, emergency, restaurant and teaching facilities.

Projecting outwards from the glazed atrium of this central base are five ‘fingers’ with gently convex end facades and rippled roof systems which encompass the six Centres of Excellence: oncology; cardiology; orthopaedics; general and elderly medicine; cosmetic and reconstructive; and women and children. With 400 beds throughout the new hospital complex (which will be completed in two phases beginning mid 2012) the KPJ International Specialist Hospital will cater to the needs of both domestic and international patients, offering high quality healthcare services in a luxurious setting.

would share my experience and see if it helps. My water basin is covered with tiles. I hit and crack coconuts usually at the same spot on the edge of the basin and so one day the tile at the spot became loose. Pried and picked up the loose tile to check the cementing work. It was quite well done with cement spread over the whole bottom of the tile. So it must be cement/concrete is hard but brittle. Frequent hitting would develop micro cracks in cement and eventually the tile would become loose. Bonding glue works fine in DIY repair.

Missed this post earlier, thanks for the info. So you did manage to pry up the loose tile without breaking and use the bonding glue.

arsenal

Hi arsenal

Where is the location of the hospital? They are going to build Near columbia asai isit?

I don't know.. But it must be at Isandkar Regions.. All these infrastructure investment are good news for each and everyone of us regardless of where we stay in JB.. 3 cheers ... hip hip horray!!!

contra

Has the bloodbath begun?.. . .? Time will tell.....

But i vividly recall mentioning some time ago that this was gonna happen.

My comments were met with a firm rebuttal.... Thus....

1) was professor neefling us again?

2) all reports in newspapers point to a healthy state of economy...

Time has hopefully proved me right....

Ya man, I was needling you for needling us, but I also did say if US tanks, we are all in together. Thus I have also been proven true as markets fell together.. but I do not feel any the better for it leh. . . . My company will face cost pressures if revenues fall badly. It means attention on "headcount".......

when do you think is "safe" to jump in share market to make money and any tips on any counter, o learned one?

contra

I went to the one at Bedok yesterday morning and they offered me RM244.3,
called Arcade to compare and they offered RM244.2,
another one in Woodlands only offered RM242.5,
JB Wong Ah Fook St displayed RM241.(They can give higher though)

This one at Bedok knows the rate which Arcade offer and highlighted that he can give equal to Arcade or higher if your amount is bigger.
Care to share the super good one which you've found?

Hi Contra, so far I've not tried remittance yet.
For those money changers who also do remittance, they'll give better rate for remittance compared to money change. I think there'll just be a charge of $10 or so.
I didn't use the remittance service because it'll take 3 days for remittance to a foreign bank in Malaysia(eg. UOB, Standard Chartered, HSBC etc).
It'll just take 1 day if you remit to their local banks like EON, Public, Maybank etc.
Moreover, I don't trust any money changer with say SGD 100k remittance in one go. If I split it up to 10 x SGD 10k each time and 3 days to confirm each deposit, that means 10 trips to the money changer and 30 days to complete the SGD 100k :eek::*::*:
For Arcade, I use the service of Money Matters on the 2nd floor right at the end of the alley.

Hi Investor,

I went to Parkway Parade today. The remittance agent's rate was 2.449 (no charge) while next door the indian-muslim money changer's rate was 2.45.

I did not go with the remittance agent because for my bank, would have been "3 or so" days as she said. Being weekend, did not want to chance it, for a first timer.

Anyway the money changer did not have enough stock of RMs in the morning so I changed all he had. Did not realise they have their regular "stocking" just like a trader (duh me!) So I could not change enough RM to make my intended stopover in JB today for lunch & bank. Had to go office...

It really got me thinking - remittance is probably the physically safest way when moving money cross-border, but there is a risk of remittance cheats.

Not as easy as I thought.....maybe I need to try it to get the confidence. Prefer than carrying such amounts of in cash into JB. ANyone has good success in remitting to a foreign bank like HSBC etc, appreciate recommendation. I have a name from this forum -Sino... any others?

Is the Bedok one remitter or money changer only?

contra

Thanks Investor

Yes i'm fussy, sometimes i wished i didn't know so much. dat's why it took me such a super long time to settle a place in HH. I basically choose the hills because of locaton and what the developer promised and also mainly because it's progressive payment. when i found out how the house look like, i breathe a hugh sigh of relief. why? because less problems for roof. the roof designs at the Hills meant that i have less problems, i'm prepared for problems, but i rather have a little less problem and think of a solution. I'm going to think of a way how to fix the back part of the house roof. though it's not built yet i'm only preparing myself for it.

I miss going there seeing the golf course and less concrete jungle. :smile:

Hi BFF,

you have caused quite a stir :smile: ... good to see your good intentions and no malice intended although easily misunderstood earlier... everyone got their own circumstances on where they buy where they did, so we respect that. Eg. when I started looking, I was budgeting around the Golf terraces but all sold out and so were the EL Phase 7 (subsale price was then above RM700k). Thus I bought into Hills as my preference has always been HH for the interesting varieties of terrain that ties in with the flow of the golf game (not sure if that is a 'qi' effect but it just felt right to me), and I like personal-defined space..

Nevertheless I was worried about the roof design of the Hills as it was not conventional in the sense roof tilings were not obvious & maybe even non-existent...and I did not know where the rainwater will flow off into. Thus I read your comment with surprise that you being fussy about roofs find it good? Could you elaborate more?

contra

BFF, Nicely written up. I' ve got a couple of SD at the Golf precint in HH and appreciate the frank assessment. I know what to expect. I would rather hear the truth though it's quite disturbing. Please do not take to heart the comments made, I know your assessment is meant well though initially when I read it and the subsequent comments I must say I was taken aback. However on contemplating your comments I realize you are after all sharing and in a sense looking after "US" if I maybe so bold to put it........ I would like to say Thank you.

Hi Grago & all HH fans,
I think we need to find a way to collectively bring issues to the Developer, otherwise it will always be 'divide and conquer'. Maybe some kind of facebook page. When my place is ready, I will be on...

abugumgum

Tesco Promo

5th -7th August 2011

Save RM10 when you spend more than RM100
Download the voucher at http://www.tesco.com.my/

WebBanner_05082011.jpg

Investor

Hi Investor,

It really got me thinking - remittance is probably the physically safest way when moving money cross-border, but there is a risk of remittance cheats.

Not as easy as I thought.....maybe I need to try it to get the confidence. Prefer than carrying such amounts of in cash into JB. ANyone has good success in remitting to a foreign bank like HSBC etc, appreciate recommendation. I have a name from this forum -Sino... any others?

Is the Bedok one remitter or money changer only?

Hi Contra,
The one at Bedok is just a money changer.
For a more secure remittance, you can try this company http://www.moneyworld.com.sg
Their rates are not the best but they're more established and thus safer as compared to other money changers.

Grago

Thanks! now to get the HH sales & marketing & maintenance & management people to join...
Had a quick look at the Facebook link. There seems to be a need to be concern about the quality of the construction and workmanship. No matter what the cost of the property is, attention should be paid to the quality of work!
The noise video clip seems to be from the {'Coastal Highway' project!} I just had a look on my laptop and got a much clearer view. It's the exit/entrance going towards the clubhouse. Correct me if I'm wrong.... Probably this can be brought up to HH management. Probably trying to 'bring in' the project in time for the inaugural opening date of Dec'2012.

arsenal

Hi Contra,
The one at Bedok is just a money changer.
For a more secure remittance, you can try this company http://www.moneyworld.com.sg
Their rates are not the best but they're more established and thus safer as compared to other money changers.

I am using moneyworld currently.. their rate is definitely not that good, but the company is owned by ex-minister Lim Hwee Hua's husband with the backing of Temasek..

contra

I am using moneyworld currently.. their rate is definitely not that good, but the company is owned by ex-minister Lim Hwee Hua's husband with the backing of Temasek..

Thanks Investor & Arsenal. Will go check them out next week...

Status
Not open for further replies.