• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Investor

yes bedok has been good. I also try one more, super good better than bedok. Also arcade area.

I went to the one at Bedok yesterday morning and they offered me RM244.3,
called Arcade to compare and they offered RM244.2,
another one in Woodlands only offered RM242.5,
JB Wong Ah Fook St displayed RM241.(They can give higher though)

This one at Bedok knows the rate which Arcade offer and highlighted that he can give equal to Arcade or higher if your amount is bigger.
Care to share the super good one which you've found?

money changer or remittance in Arcade? I asked the money changer guy on ground floor and he said to go remittance people on second floor. Remittance seems to have more charges?

Hi Contra, so far I've not tried remittance yet.
For those money changers who also do remittance, they'll give better rate for remittance compared to money change. I think there'll just be a charge of $10 or so.
I didn't use the remittance service because it'll take 3 days for remittance to a foreign bank in Malaysia(eg. UOB, Standard Chartered, HSBC etc).
It'll just take 1 day if you remit to their local banks like EON, Public, Maybank etc.
Moreover, I don't trust any money changer with say SGD 100k remittance in one go. If I split it up to 10 x SGD 10k each time and 3 days to confirm each deposit, that means 10 trips to the money changer and 30 days to complete the SGD 100k :eek::*::*:
For Arcade, I use the service of Money Matters on the 2nd floor right at the end of the alley.

Analytical Professor

Thanks for reminding me about the Hoiio app.... I had totally forgotten about it.

The pfingo app on Android may eat up ur batt tho.... Din test that one yet...

Yeah u right about the iphone contacts syncin with Pfingo...

Thats the problem.... You always have newer tech and newer products.... So the pioneers lose out big time in terms of $$ value and the initial frustration of getting things right.

Tech is an expensive hobby isnt it??

Thanks AP for the Galaxy Tablet test.

I have not decided on getting the Galaxy 10.1 Tablet or iPad2 (since I have already missed the launch and next yr will be the new version)

I like pFingo rates but hated the separate credits for calls and SMS.. Another app to use is Hoiio (both on iOS and Andriod).

As for contacts, on the iPhone it does not have that issue. Again, I am still undecided on next phone. (using the 3Gs now and battery aging )

aangsc

Hi HH, i am a bit confused here, what are you talking about?

Why would a self professed multiple property owner with name of property A of A thinks property A sucks big time, should not appreciate further and its too far in? Property B is absolutely perfect and without faults?

Perhaps , HH saying otherwise so he can accumulated more when people disposed...like some analyst about the stock market.......

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Thanks for sharing abugumgum.

We went on a charter boat the other day at Puteri Harbour, a bit ex but good experience, it costs only 400 RM for a ride out. There are also other rides out including going out on their boat to do fireflies watching. We went from 2nd link area to 1st link and back. My dad even took the helm as he had prior experience, he was so happy.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Perhaps , HH saying otherwise so he can accumulated more when people disposed...like some analyst about the stock market.......

True, i meant no offense to anyone especially HH but it just sort of felt really weird.
On the topic of termites, another learned friend told me that its worse if the land that
the development is built on was former rubber plantations.

Anti-termite works including using sonic and thermal sensors to check on the presence
and is generally expensive. Another learned friend confirmed that most ants will feed on
termites larvae, etc and hence places where ants are aplenty will usually have little termites.

pockaroo

Sorry for the delayed reply ......

Yeah thats right Pfingo does not work in the background.....

Pfingo sells a VOIP (voice over-IP) phone set. It is a dedicated set like a conventional phone with cradle. It just hooks up to your wired/wireless LAN at home. It will also be "ON" so it can be used just like a conventional phone. So won't have issues like the computer based versions. Not sure about prices though. Just checked their website, it says out of stock for now.

http://www.pfingo.com/pf/portal/control/storeservice

avalon74

yeah dude having fun learning it....
Trying to figure out what the hell is seeders and leechers....
BTW does anonymous download work?

Seeders are uploaders/contributors while leechers are downloaders..
Hence it would be better to get torrent where you have a higher seeder nos..

not too sure abt anonymous downloads.. maybe some techic bros here can help..

avalon74

You really love and adore your wife man.....
The world needs more men like you:biggrin:
No lah.. my wife also doing alot of cleaning.. just that I am more used to mopping floor..
just that I broke the mop handle into 2 pieces after 4 hrs of torsional/bending stress.. haha
Changed another handle from the brooms to continue..

arsenal

Lets hope everyone stay cool :smile:.. Forum is for discussion and sharing information. Moreover we are the 1% Singaporeans who come or plan to live in Malaysia for our own reasons.. (be it for a better quality of life, be it tired of our materialistic govt, be it for whatever elite first system....) I just wish all brothers/sisters here stay united and help each other.. and keep this forum going to provide support for other folks who want to join us living here..

Beside HH, EL, Setia Tropica, Leisure Farm, there are also austin height, Adda height and sunibong and so many new development for one to choose from.. I purchase HH because there is a community of Singaporean friends for us to start living with.. and I would say the quality of each new development should become better and better as the price is also getting more and more expensive..

With so many new development.. money will never be enough if we don't stay contented...:smile:

List of Highrise Project in Iskandar Malaysia:

U/C
1) KSL city tower
2) M Tiara
3) Zenith Suite
4) Jentayu Residensi
5) Molek Pine Luxury Condo
6) Palazzio
7) Sky Garden Residence (Setia Tropika)
8) Sky Executive Suite
9) Ujana Executive
10) Hotel Granada
11) Senibong condo, near Kg Senibong (36 storey n 28 storey)
12) Marriot Hotel (Permas Jaya)
13) Puteri Paradise Residence
14) Suria Heights, IJM Land
15) Greenfield Residency
16) Parc Regency Residence
17) Tropez residence

Propose to be build
18) Austin Suite
19) 1 medini, WCT Engineering
20) Lido Boulevard condo
21) Horizon Suite (Horizon hill)
22) Straits View Elita (Permas Jaya)
23) Horizon residence, Bukit Indah
24) Medini square
25) Sky Loft (Bukit Indah), SP Setia
26) Azea condo, (Danga Bay)
27) Almeria, (Puteri Harbor) ,UEM Land
28) D Rich (Bukit Indah), IJM Land
29) D ambience (Permas Jaya), IJM Land
30) Botanica Residences

Hey Checkers, definitely agree. Maybe folks like HH missed my earlier postings (i think he did) and i even ranked developments according to my humble opinion, HH was not the number one...The latest property i shared on was in Nusa Duta, this thread is not centric on any development at all.

Good for you, what developments are you considering? Care to share so that we can all learn?

mika14

Just discovered a good lobang, for Samsung devices, you can get things like Samsung Galaxy tab, Samsung Galaxy Ace for pretty good prices.
You get an additional 6 months of warranty on top of the 1 year. Galaxy tab (wifi only) = RM 1199, Galaxy tab (wifi + sim support) = RM 1599. The Galaxy Ace, i can get at RM 950. This place is good because you can bargain and their boss is quite nice too. :smile:

for samsung galaxy sII smartphone, is it cheaper to get it in JB or in Singapore?
just compare unit price only......

mallow

If you like the morning market, can visit this place that opens only on Saturday around 7am (don't know till what time) ....
Located at car park next to Tan Sri Dato Hj Hassan Yunos Stadium.
http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=1.49572,103.752791&spn=0.009814,0.016512&z=17 Co-ordinates: 1.49474, 103.75170

I think you are referring to Pasar Tani at Larkin. Super place also for cheap plants, but you really need to get there by 7 am for the widest choice, even though they go on till noon. Vegetables and fruit may be cheaper at Kip Mart. A really good place for a Saturday morning's outing if it does not rain. Gets very hot after 9.30.

mallow

[QUOTE HedgeTrader I heard a special pass can be made at Malaysian immigration office. It's pasted on your passport. RM30 per year. After that, no need white card no need chop passport. I think if you go Malaysia often or stay long, worthwhile applying.=Investor;785502]Yup it's MACS, many here have it. Thanks for mentioning.[/QUOTE]

Easy instructions: How to apply for the Malaysian Automated Clearance System (MACS) pass:

http://www.puterim.com/joomla/index...hite-immigration-forms&catid=42:faq&Itemid=56

arsenal

Hi,
I have a questions that hope someone can advise on the legal fees...

I just went to see the lawyer this afternoon and I am told I need to pay for

1: Sales and Purchase Agreement which includes Stamp duty...
2: Application for FIC and State Authority Approval.. (the standard 11K++)
3: Security Documentation which add up to another $11K

which includes:
entry and withdrawal of private Caveat -350 + 6491
facilities Agreement - stamp duty -3K
transport, search for land registry etc...

Can anyone advise me on item 3? I am told developer will absorb legal fee.. Am I suppose to pay for item 3?

Thank very much for your advise..

abugumgum

I think you are referring to Pasar Tani at Larkin. Super place also for cheap plants, but you really need to get there by 7 am for the widest choice, even though they go on till noon. Vegetables and fruit may be cheaper at Kip Mart. A really good place for a Saturday morning's outing if it does not rain. Gets very hot after 9.30.

Thank you Mallow for the info.

Found this place by chance when I made a wrong turn while trying to find an alternative way to car wash. :smile:
Yes, the prices are not lowest, we go there for the morning market buzz and the satay (take away for afternoon party) yum yum.

abugumgum

for samsung galaxy sII smartphone, is it cheaper to get it in JB or in Singapore?
just compare unit price only......

I have not tried to find the best prices but as an indication, the list price is RM 2099 and in Sgp $999

It can get tricky when buying stuff like this, better check the accessories, warranty and the OS installed, power adapter etc.

In Sgp, there are people that wants to sell their telco set for some bucks, the pricing are negotiable. Can just google it. :smile:

abugumgum

It is if one has to always be the early adopter.

I have already skipped iPad and iPad2, relying on my trusty iPhone 3Gs.

Just like the PC and laptop upgrade cycle, the newer OS and software just make it frustrating for users to the point that you just have to get the new hardware. :smile:

The recently launched MacBook Air are also tempting .... no end.

Thats the problem.... You always have newer tech and newer products.... So the pioneers lose out big time in terms of $$ value and the initial frustration of getting things right.

Tech is an expensive hobby isnt it??

Analytical Professor

Actually i am a die hard Android Supporter....

Hence i got the Galaxy Tab 3G n Wifi....

I din bite for the Iphone 3g, 3gs, 4g and dun think i am gonna bite the iphone 5 as and when it comes...

I am pretty pleased with the Galaxy Tab.

Then how come the decision to go for Ipad? The new Galaxy 10.0 does not come with 3g. I dunno whats the point of not adding the 3g bit?

So i got the Ipad.... Bigger spreen, sharper pics and nicer apps.....

Cant help spending money downloading stuff man.....

Downloaded the Oxford Grammar and Punctuation, and then the Oxford Advanced Learners Dict while sitting in a bar at Emerald Hill last night.... But then the App store did not allow me to download the Dict saying that it was more than 20MB and therefore must use wi-fi. So the download resumed automatically at home..

Not sure how much i am gonna use these apps.... But its easier than lugging around dictionaries and grammar books... What with kids around? Handy anytime.....

The Android apps are not that great yet.

However Android is destined to be the market leader relegating iOS to second place.

One of the main reason i liked the Galaxy tablet is that with 3G, it also serves as a phone and thereby has Video Calling. This enables me to call the home camera and check...

It is if one has to always be the early adopter.

I have already skipped iPad and iPad2, relying on my trusty iPhone 3Gs.

Just like the PC and laptop upgrade cycle, the newer OS and software just make it frustrating for users to the point that you just have to get the new hardware. :smile:

The recently launched MacBook Air are also tempting .... no end.

Status
Not open for further replies.