• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

cathylmg

Sis cathy n 29ers

May i know wic part of Bedok interchange the money changer is located or any money changer in bedok interchange area offer similar rate?

Its the one at the interchange, opposite the macdonalds and beside bata shoe shop. Just a small simple counter. I think their rates are the best around the east area. No bargaining though.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Agree Euphony, i would also suggest having tea bags in the house and placed around new furniture as it can actually help to soak up toxins in the air and emanating from furniture which sometimes uses certain glue which are poisonous to us such as those containing formaldehyde(common).

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Re: Living in JB - CORPSE kena raped.

Cathylmg, i might know you in real life as some of your quotes are very familiar.

cathylmg

Got a funny situation yesterday, someones maid saw 3 renovation workers doing renovation overstaying/trying to stay overnight in one of the houses undergoing renovation, my neighbours alerted the security guards on duty as it seems these guys even went to talk to the maid.

Yesterday there were 3 separate teams of guards(some on motorbikes) with searchlights, cameras and dogs converging on that house from all directions. It looked surreal, as if a scene from my old army camp.

They didn't find anyone though so likely they may have changed their minds and left but if i was one of the workers, i would definitely not be coming back anytime soon.

From what i understand, the security is still digging through to find their identities and once identified, their contractors and the guys will be banned permanently.

For me my contractors workers stayed in my house until the job was finished. The first day they were not allow in after they have had their dinners and had to sleep by the road side. The next day my huddy went to the residence committee to submit their identity before being issued a pass. Then they will be checked before getting in.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
yeah. me too. Btw, today MPJB is doing crow shooting. I'm glad that I'm not around to see to withness the sorry sight. I'd see them do it in Eunos, terrible! :(

I have done this in SG before but stopped as i felt it was a bit cruel. Crows are the most fillial of birds, you kill one, their young or their old(they take care of their own) will likely starve to death.

Hi Cathylmg, no need to give money as some may think it becomes corruption but you can give some foodstuff(permitted ones) or drinks.

cathylmg

Agree Euphony, i would also suggest having tea bags in the house and placed around new furniture as it can actually help to soak up toxins in the air and emanating from furniture which sometimes uses certain glue which are poisonous to us such as those containing formaldehyde(common).

How about drinking the tea instead. Then it will help soak out the toxins in our body. :biggrin:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Ok. Just to name a few:-

1. Dirty soil sinks and kitchens...
2. The kitchen come with untensils, they use the bowls to soak the socks, use the forks as a scrub.
3. Japanese ladys buys mineral waters to wash their face, then so many bottles just leave around, don't even bother to throw it away...
4. Used condoms under the bed, don't even bother to throw away.... :P

You want more....aiyoh! :biggrin:

Wow, seems you got the really bad ones.
I have 4 tenants, 3 from Singapore, 1 from local (working in SG)
So far, all are good. 1 of them from Singapore is a Malay couple, all of my tenant takes care of our houses too.

Some even spruced up the house, others change new lights, yet some tried to change out the taps but i helped them change for free. I don't provide utensils though but i make sure there is enough water pressure, lights working fine, aircon cold, etc.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
How about drinking the tea instead. Then it will help soak out the toxins in our body. :biggrin:

That would help too but putting teabags into furniture etc would help soak up the toxins. Of course, don't after that, put them into a glass and make tea. Thats direct poisoning.

cathylmg

So far, all are good. 1 of them from Singapore is a Malay couple, all of my tenant takes care of our houses too.

Some even spruced up the house, others change new lights, yet some tried to change out the taps but i helped them change for free. I don't provide utensils though but i make sure there is enough water pressure, lights working fine, aircon cold, etc.

Its was whole block of service apartment in Bugis that I once worked in. The best part is the money. But I did refrain from using anything in hotels or service apartments for a long time...after the experience....

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hi Mr Bean, answers inline:

If take loan, there is additional loan legal fee. I read some of the pages of the forum and noted there is this MOT thingy (but one developer sales guy said that this is actually the stamp duty) and I came across this term MRTA, which I understand is some form of insurance for outstanding loan balance.

d) so is it correct that MOT = stamp duty? - MOT is for the transfer from master title to individual title. e) what is the typical legal fee like if without loan? Any lawyers anyone can recommend? I read that the fees can vary quite a fair bit with different law firms. - Get from the developer if you can.
f) anyone has any opinion of Casa Almyra? - Unless you are referring to bungalows, otherwise don't buy. My neighbours who have units there curses every other day.

Stamp duty - 2 types, one from the bank(usually can be waived), the other for the state
MRTA - Avoid unless required, banks ones usually quite high. There are some types of offerings that give you back some of the money (capital sum) at the end of the day if no claims.

Apologies if the questions have been asked before, but the forum is too long running beyond 300 pages, and I can't seem to do intelligent search to highlight the relevant pages for reading again.
So far, most of the people I met - agents and developer sales - are not very professional in that they are not very knowledgeable in all aspects of the housing purchase process. So after they explain to me and I aks specific questions, the info gets added on instead of them explaining to me all at one go, which means their original explanation has jarring gaps.

My heartfelt thanks in advance.[/QUOTE]

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Re: Living in JB - CORPSE kena raped.

Wah. Makes ganjiong liao...:biggrin: who are you huh?

I am wondering as well sometimes but some of your quotes are really familiar or maybe just because we think on very similar wavelenghts. :smile:

cathylmg

Seems like Singaporeans are still best right?

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Problems that can be settled by money....is not a problem! - This one as well, definitely agree. I always shared this quote with my family/friends.

Analytical Professor

Ok here is the news.

Jam building up at both links at the moment.

Im in tho. I heeded cathys advice n got in quickly.

I chose link two.

Finger printing goin on

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Seems like Singaporeans are still best right?

Actually best is the local one, he is not from JB though but one of the other states. Gives me my rental ahead of time, fixes the house, spray WD40, etc. Buys food for us, buy gifts for us whenever he is overseas. Makes me glad i got them good mattresses and one of my tenants i put in king sized beds. The minimum bed size depending on the room type ranges from super single to king.

Ok. Just to name a few:-

1. Dirty soil sinks and kitchens...
2. The kitchen come with untensils, they use the bowls to soak the socks, use the forks as a scrub.
3. Japanese ladys buys mineral waters to wash their face, then so many bottles just leave around, don't even bother to throw it away...
4. Used condoms under the bed, don't even bother to throw away.... :P

You want more....aiyoh! :biggrin:

Haha remind me of what some people tell me why they don't dare to use the towel and pillow in hotel, got to bring their own...they don't know what other people have used the towel for (as rag) and pillow (for their feet)...

jasonjst

Agreed, be humble here, hard to learn melayu but i am slowly picking up. I am glad you were in time.

Recently though someone said to me, You Singaporeans are an insensitive lot as you have never been overseas and thus not as sensitive to others feelings.

You should not be eating anything with pork at all, i know its hard for Singaporeans like you to understand business in MY.

He meant well i guess as we were still in the midst of preparing the biz and wanted to attract all races. Yet he didn't know that we had removed all instances of animals that may offend and even the wanton noodles were actually ordered by his wife's workers without going through us.

My wife was a bit pissed off as was i but we just kept smiling, having worked in the states, EU, Japan/Korea, maybe i am still not sensitive or experienced enough like him. Then again, i am only 34 so still need experts like him to teach me. :smile:

Hi Wuqi ,
Your wife in some kind of eatery biz? Where is it located , would like to patronized her shop leh .

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Ok here is the news.

Jam building up at both links at the moment.

Im in tho. I heeded cathys advice n got in quickly.

I chose link two.

Finger printing goin on

Wow, i got in before 4pm, need to help a bro as he will be coming in for golfing this weekend. I didn't need to finger print though. So far never needed as i have MACS. My family too.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Haha remind me of what some people tell me why they don't dare to use the towel and pillow in hotel, got to bring their own...they don't know what other people have used the towel for (as rag) and pillow (for their feet)...

Erm, scary thought, i spent 4-5 years of my life in hotels as i needed to travel alot. The only comforting thing is, at least with white towels, i know they are bleached every time they go into the wash. So at least its clean to a certain extent.

Status
Not open for further replies.