• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Grago

No lah friend, why you thing I post the cat repellant thing, saw you and Cathy's post, remembered I read about it. So thought I would research..... OK.

It's the other post, can sympathise with HH but when see the other posts got a bit annoyed. Under all the skin and bones we are ALL brothers and sisters, right :smile:

Analytical Professor

The cat thing really worked me up cause the household has so many cats. They let the cats roam free n easy a nuisance to all.

Worse one of those cats always pees in my home.

How to shoo it away n prevent it from reenterin?

I dun wanna do cat traps. A bit inhuman

cathylmg

Re: Living in JB - CORPSE kena raped.

Oh dear what is this country coming to? Imagine all these crazy things happening in Nusajaya

Shocking: Girl's corpse stripped and raped
AsiaOne
Fri, Jun 10, 2011
SARAWAK, Malaysia – The body of a 15-year-old girl was stripped of her clothes and raped after it had been buried for three days.

The corpse was found naked, with the deceased’s green shirt, black pants and underwear discarded on the ground beside of the grave.

Corpse dug up and raped
Click on thumbnail to view (Photos: Lianhe Wanbao)

The assailant had replaced the lid of the coffin and then buried it again.

Chinese daily Lianhe Wanbao reported that the corpse was discovered by her family members after they went back to the grave three days after the burial.

RELATED STORIESSnatched body of former Cyprus president found
They were shocked to find the body lying naked outside the coffin. The family hurriedly re-buried her.

According to Lianhe Wanbao, this is the first time such an incident has happened in the area. The case is still under police investigation.

The girl had died of an illness.

Not a solo act

The district chief for the area said the assailant may have other motives for committing this crime.

Lianhe Wanbao reported him as saying that the entire incident looked very organised and was not something that could be executed by one person.

Residents in the area speculated as to what could be the cause of the incident. However, none of the rumours were confirmed as the girl’s family did not accept any interviews.

Is it because of the ritial of some cult?

jasonjst

I notice when I went down to HH to check on the progress of my place, that under the roof bracings there was a sheet of 'tin foil' under the whole roof brace. The roof tiles go over it. Did a google and found that it's called a 'Radiant Barrier' purpose of which is keep out the heat that comes through the roof tiles and therefore heatup the roof space thereby radiating heat down to the upper floors of the house!! My question to fellow bloggers in HH, El, Lf, SP apologise if I missed your development out.. Do you have a similiar 'device' under you roof space ( I know it's in HH properties.... not sure about the others????) if so on very hot days, before you switch on the aircon on the floor upstairs, do you feel its very hot and that the heat is 'coming down' from the roof??? Because if it, Radiant barrier, does what it's suppose to then the upper floors won't feel as if you are being 'cooked in an oven' so to speak..... So it doesn't feel very hot..... Would appreciate all comments and insight to this.

Have not take notice of tin foil thingy . But do notice that in JB the roof beams are all made of wood , unlike Singapore , which are mostly steel . This is bad isnt it ? If kena termites , that's it !
As for heat issue , I find it OK as JB houses got high ceiling and tall windows . You can also add solar tints if you get direct sunlight . But I was kind of regrett it as the dark tints can make the rooms rather dark in early morning or evening. I think curtains still best and nicer too !

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
AP, agree about the dogs. Sometimes dogs are good though, my neighbour dogs would warn us whenever it sees a worker walking around the back lanes.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Bros and sis here:

Just some simple recommendations:
Get an alarm system that is vibration or IR based that will sound when someone breaks the glass if you are concerned about security in the car. Best is still never to leave anything on the front passenger seat. Most thieves know that women
(on the whole) are slightly creatures of convenience and habit. They will likely leave their bags with wallets, keys and important cards together in one convenient package for the thieves/robbers.

Autogate, get something that closes fast and is suitably secured to the ground. Of course determined thieves and robbers can still break in especially ungated/unguarded ones. At least if properly secured, it will be better as a deterrent rather than being an obvious "self pawn" arrangement where the robbers/thieves see that its easy picking. Ladies who always like to complain and dislike the ugliness of the rubber stopper on the ground, please realise that the people who installed this has your safety at heart.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
I changed my leather seats in one of my cars recently to a PVC one, including installation, its only 450 RM. Changed out one of my console switches for the lights and wiper assembly, 390 RM.

Then change out one of the parts in my car as it will vibrate around 110kmph but remains stable once i go beyond it(sometimes when overtaking)

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
I am glad to hear AP, i hope you enjoyed the food at Yews. Its really nice, their mushroom soup too, my wife loves it:smile:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hi Jason no man i dunno any melayu at all.

I am one of those people who never bothered to learn. Seriously .... Not jokin....

English im ok tho......

The problem is when we speak to them if they identify our accent to be Singaporean we usually get screwed.

So you have to FAKE IT.....

Worked for me dude...

Also being humble helped... Ego game la.... Make them feel good they happy.

Thats how i got my electric connection last year before chinese new year in around 3 days time...

What a relief? Imagine CNY and no lights at home? How to stay there? So many days of holidays!

Agreed, be humble here, hard to learn melayu but i am slowly picking up. I am glad you were in time.

Recently though someone said to me, You Singaporeans are an insensitive lot as you have never been overseas and thus not as sensitive to others feelings.

You should not be eating anything with pork at all, i know its hard for Singaporeans like you to understand business in MY.

He meant well i guess as we were still in the midst of preparing the biz and wanted to attract all races. Yet he didn't know that we had removed all instances of animals that may offend and even the wanton noodles were actually ordered by his wife's workers without going through us.

My wife was a bit pissed off as was i but we just kept smiling, having worked in the states, EU, Japan/Korea, maybe i am still not sensitive or experienced enough like him. Then again, i am only 34 so still need experts like him to teach me. :smile:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Had problems with the roofing recently, the inclement weather was making all the roofs leak, luckily all minor ones. The contractor we used was HH's own and we had to pay as the defect period was over. He overcharged one of my friends so i covered the excess payment for him but luckily he didn't overcharge another one. He told us we were lucky as he charged us 300 plus per house. Had to pay him $1400 in total. I asked how come, it is because every visit to fix a roof is usually 500-1000 plus.

Also, he shared with us some houses outside of HH were damaged by the heavy rain that their developers had to retile them.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Yalor. But with more Singaporeans going across, bring with us our attitudes and our way of life, these things has got to change somehow.....starting from ourselves....

Agreed Cathylmg, we need to leave our attitudes behind sometimes.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Wow bro AP, you are really civic minded. I wished more people would be like you. I am sure if that guy knows, he will be touched.

Many people though, don't look rich. Many times whenever i go with older friends and family, EVERYONE of the agents ignore me. Like totally ignoring my presence or questions.

I guess as i still look young plus i am plump, young + plump = Most people think rich man's son.
Even one time i passed by a sea of agents, none pass me their flyers, instead stuffing my dad/neighbour with flyers.

Its always easy to discount people who are young but there are people who are capable of pulling their own weight too. (Forgive the pun)
Not all plump/fat people are dumb as well. I get this a lot too as many times, those prata shops (both in SG/JB) will always shortchange me for some reason. When i asked them for the correct change, they even challenged me but in the
end had to pay me back everytime.

euphony

I don't know whether a survey has been done in Singapore but apparently Radon gas which is naturally occuring is also a contributing factor to Cancer. A decade back or so there were high incidences of cancer in certain parts of UK or in Scotland and tests were carried out and it was discovered that Radon gas which is natural occuring was most likely cause because of where the cancers were occuring. It can apparently seep into house from under the foundations of buildings ... gas being permeable. :eek:
So more buildings and therefore more piling works into the ground would probably release more gas then would be the normal cause of escape.
Life style is also another factor.... the constant stress of 'keeping up appearance' and chasing money, position and status are also factors though maybe not be conciously acknowledge ....
So I would think a laid back lifestyle i.e. not rushing around and worrying too much about 'things' may not be too bad. Mind you I said "laid back" not lazy lay abouts... those need a swift kick on the backside to let them know there are 'NO free lunches' Everyone contributes however they can, even if it's at a slower pace.

dun want to talk about this since I talk about it all the time to my students as part of their syllabus. There is a lot of scare mongering pertaining to carcinogens. It seems there are a lot of things that are. In fact they are, though this requires continuous and prolonged exposure most likely coupled with yes stress and environment and hereditary genetics. We just live as healthy as we can and as stress free as we can and moderate our food choices and intake so that our stealth machinery in the body can take care of the rest. Tending to our plants, being in good company and living our lives it JB I think its as good as it gets. =)

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
I am kind of lucky, got good neighbours. Received some pahang peanuts the other day and dumplings too. Yum.

Then i have a neighbour who has good bananas/plants in his other house, will always share the fruits with us.

euphony

The cat thing really worked me up cause the household has so many cats. They let the cats roam free n easy a nuisance to all.

Worse one of those cats always pees in my home.

How to shoo it away n prevent it from reenterin?

I dun wanna do cat traps. A bit inhuman

need precinct residents to take action especially if the cats are not neutered they will reproduce and over run the whole area...

Narmi

I always change at bedok. Their rates are the best around town but there will be no bargaining.

Sis cathy n 29ers

May i know wic part of Bedok interchange the money changer is located or any money changer in bedok interchange area offer similar rate?

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Got a funny situation yesterday, someones maid saw 3 renovation workers doing renovation overstaying/trying to stay overnight in one of the houses undergoing renovation, my neighbours alerted the security guards on duty as it seems these guys even went to talk to the maid.

Yesterday there were 3 separate teams of guards(some on motorbikes) with searchlights, cameras and dogs converging on that house from all directions. It looked surreal, as if a scene from my old army camp.

They didn't find anyone though so likely they may have changed their minds and left but if i was one of the workers, i would definitely not be coming back anytime soon.

From what i understand, the security is still digging through to find their identities and once identified, their contractors and the guys will be banned permanently.

Status
Not open for further replies.