• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Analytical Professor

I agree termite infestation is a huge problem in Malaysia.

That is why we have the termite warranty wherein they treat the soil by pouring lots of poisons.... The warranty is void the moment you bring something from outside......soil, sand, plants etc

Hopefully the rain would have washed away the poisons to much lower territory.... But sure residue still exists......

So nothing we can do about it right?

No wonder my bittergourd turned out almost white. I asked my mum to throw it. Scary

Now you have really scared me! :o

I think we are built on top of a vast underground system of termite mounds, and in between cities of ant and wasp nests. Contractors routinely pour poison on the ground to try to prevent attacks, but this only succeeds in poisoning the fruit and veg you subsequently try to grow on it.[/I]

Analytical Professor

Nice..... never thought of this idea.....

Must suggest to all my travelling visitors who make my home their home base.

Sometime back had a visitor who stayed with me for 1 month plus. Made me bring him all over Spore to every park, beach, church etc

But gave a sizeable Ang Bao to my kids.

This guy is really good at cooking wild boar, rabbit, goats head (he can rip it apart so well ) etc. My stomach churns at the sight of goats head. Once he served me goats eyes and tongue.... I almost puked while eating it....

Despite that I should have put Cathys idea to good use....

Aiyoh, don't be a stingy son-in-law lah. Afterall their daughter they feed until so big then married to you leh.... :biggrin:

PS: Just make some excuse that you prefer home cook food, make them to cook for you everytime. Don't help them. After a few attempts, they stay far far away from you. :p

Analytical Professor

yeah one in every 3 people will have cancer....

So is this rate race, kiasuism, pushing our kids, property and wealth accumulation all that important?

Or is it important to sit down and relax?

Only one life.... and we dun even know when it will end.... We chase this for a better tomorrow.... Is there a tomorrow? We dun even know?

Sorry being philosophical...

No wonder nowadays I see so many people having cancer. Seems like only these few year also...

Analytical Professor

Nice birds in our Township at Setia Tropika.

The tweeting, chirping is really nice and soothing.

Unfortunately all i can say is there are different sounds so in all probably a variety of birds cause i dunno their names (not a zoology fan)

I wonder where they come from..... Not many trees in and around Setia Tropika

cathylmg

Nice birds in our Township at Setia Tropika.

The tweeting, chirping is really nice and soothing.

Unfortunately all i can say is there are different sounds so in all probably a variety of birds cause i dunno their names (not a zoology fan)

I wonder where they come from..... Not many trees in and around Setia Tropika

So have you found a bird nest in your garden yet? :smile:

cathylmg

yeah one in every 3 people will have cancer....

So is this rate race, kiasuism, pushing our kids, property and wealth accumulation all that important?

Or is it important to sit down and relax?

Only one life.... and we dun even know when it will end.... We chase this for a better tomorrow.... Is there a tomorrow? We dun even know?

Sorry being philosophical...

That is why staying away from they city is better. You get lesser of those if not eliminate completely.

rate race, kiasuism, pushing our kids, property, and wealth accumulation vs sit down and relax. I'd say that both as equally important. Gotta learn to balance it both ways. One for today and one for tomorrows.

cathylmg

There was one a couple of months ago which my maid threw away....

Currently no nests..... But i like the small and cute birds eh....

Not the big ones.... me not a fan of the bigger variety.....

yeah. me too. Btw, today MPJB is doing crow shooting. I'm glad that I'm not around to see to withness the sorry sight. I'd see them do it in Eunos, terrible! :(

cathylmg

I agree termite infestation is a huge problem in Malaysia.

That is why we have the termite warranty wherein they treat the soil by pouring lots of poisons.... The warranty is void the moment you bring something from outside......soil, sand, plants etc

Hopefully the rain would have washed away the poisons to much lower territory.... But sure residue still exists......

So nothing we can do about it right?

No wonder my bittergourd turned out almost white. I asked my mum to throw it. Scary

AP bro, now you make me reconsider whether to grow my own organic food. :(

cathylmg

I have a question here I hope bros and sis here can chip in your views.

A friend of hubby advise us that we should give the guards ang pows on every hari raya and chinese new year as their pay is really low. Do you do this? How much is your budget for each guard?

Thanks in advance for your opinion.

Analytical Professor

Yeah my maid showed me the notice from MBJB.

I wish MBJB was as enterprising with respect to the stray dog menace.

There is a pack of them running around.

Not advisable to leave the kids un attended...

yeah. me too. Btw, today MPJB is doing crow shooting. I'm glad that I'm not around to see to withness the sorry sight. I'd see them do it in Eunos, terrible! :(

Analytical Professor

I am definitely against stray dogs. I am ok with dogs who have responsible owners....

And for irresponsible owners i have no sympathy.....

In fact i am looking at natural ways to shoo away dogs from around my place.... I had posted on this in the other forum.

I am also currently annoyed with one of my neighbours who lives pretty far from where i do. She has so many cats (lost count) and just lets them roam the roads.....

What do i do? I dun wanna advise her... Calling MBJB wont help i guess cause they love cats too?

Analytical Professor

I used to buy drinks for the guards at my precint earlier..... Bottles of coke/mirinda and give away like Santa... They used to love it.

sometimes on hot days i even drove down to buy teh o ice limau for them......

But now i stopped. Why? Cause they change ever so often... I have seen banglas/nepalis/indians/malays/indonesians manning the guard post.

If you wanna be charitable you can do it though.

I have a question here I hope bros and sis here can chip in your views.

A friend of hubby advise us that we should give the guards ang pows on every hari raya and chinese new year as their pay is really low. Do you do this? How much is your budget for each guard?

Thanks in advance for your opinion.

cathylmg

I used to buy drinks for the guards at my precint earlier..... Bottles of coke/mirinda and give away like Santa... They used to love it.

sometimes on hot days i even drove down to buy teh o ice limau for them......

But now i stopped. Why? Cause they change ever so often... I have seen banglas/nepalis/indians/malays/indonesians manning the guard post.

If you wanna be charitable you can do it though.

Is it because of their low pay or is it because they are just moved around by their bosses so as to prevent.....

I'm just making a guess... :smile:

Analytical Professor

Your one easy to take care.... Give it couple of rounds of watering i think most of the poisons should sink deep into the earth already.

Plus the heavy downpours could have washed them away already la..... So i dun think you need to worry.

Moreoever what we grow is much more safer than what the cultivators give us. They use all kinds of poisons including banned poisons...

they even wax food to keep it from getting attacked by insects and for preservation purposes.

They dye our foods as well....

AP bro, now you make me reconsider whether to grow my own organic food. :(

cathylmg

I am definitely against stray dogs. I am ok with dogs who have responsible owners....

And for irresponsible owners i have no sympathy.....

In fact i am looking at natural ways to shoo away dogs from around my place.... I had posted on this in the other forum.

I am also currently annoyed with one of my neighbours who lives pretty far from where i do. She has so many cats (lost count) and just lets them roam the roads.....

What do i do? I dun wanna advise her... Calling MBJB wont help i guess cause they love cats too?

Is there something like a SPCA over there? I heard someone said have but didn't go and find out about it....

Analytical Professor

I dun think they have anywhere to go... He he... Considering their skills....

They are moved around so as not to get familiar with a particular precint..... Cause as you know our Setia Tropika is really really well secured.... No theft can occur without conniving with the guards....

Hence they are the weakest link in the security apparatus.

Is it because of their low pay or is it because they are just moved around by their bosses so as to prevent.....

I'm just making a guess... :smile:

cathylmg

I dun think they have anywhere to go... He he... Considering their skills....

They are moved around so as not to get familiar with a particular precint..... Cause as you know our Setia Tropika is really really well secured.... No theft can occur without conniving with the guards....

Hence they are the weakest link in the security apparatus.

If that is the case, and I have to comment that they are really doing a good job now, then what will happen when the residence committe takes over the security guard? Will there be rountine changes of the guards too? If yes then to where?

Analytical Professor

yeah my original batch was the best. There was a Singaporean Malay guy in charge and they were doing a great job....

Recently they are doing an OK job as well.... In between was utter nonsense.....

Yes i think they plan to have routine changes for the moments.

I think Cathy your precint is not complete yet right? I still see a lot of construction activity in Caranday? So i guess you may get more than the minimum 2 years free security plus maintenance.

In my case my free 2 years is coming to an end this november..... I called up the RC to check whats happening... They said i will be getting atleast another 2 years free since the precint only now nearing completion.... Which means handover plus 2 years free for new batch of owners yet to come

Same applies to you.

when RC handover to local residents..... thats the worst part.... It depends on the deal with the security agencies. you can request them to change guards every few months....

Depends on the collective widom of the committee

If that is the case, and I have to comment that they are really doing a good job now, then what will happen when the residence committe takes over the security guard? Will there be rountine changes of the guards too? If yes then to where?

Status
Not open for further replies.