• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Discussion(No TCSS) - FTs, Whats Your Take On Them

There is one important difference. Singapore is just a larger boat and the smaller boats bring people from all over to climb aboard this boat. Now the boat is getting overloaded. The Captain says we can in some more because they pay good money. What do we do? If we take in anymore, the boat is going to sink.

sg is not a boat. she's a 3-dimensional island habitat. various species, evolved homo sinkie or otherwise, can stack on top of each other maximising use of limited space. next on the plan is 4-dimensional use of the habitat using time division and phase shift techniques. 1 quarter of the population can be shipped out for 6 months to neighboring johor to idle, and while this unproductive lot is shifted out, many more from outside can take their place and fit right in. it's called over-subscription. sg will show the way to the world that 4-dimensional over-subscription will work. :p

Foreign Talent we need.

Foreign Trash no need.

philipinos, burmese, indian, ah tiong, who are here working as entry level clerical jobs are not needed. the myth of foreigner working hard for less money are BS. They too resign once they find a new job that pay $50 more like any singaporean. Any decent size company HR will tell you foreigners are just as demanding as local. In the recent MOH announce increasement and bonus to healthcare workers, many foreigner nurses are kpkb because their increasement and bonus are at the lower range due to their job performance. instead of showing inprovement, they keep complaining to HR dept that what they received were not as announce by ministar gan.

many burmese are hired a draughtman at $1800 per month but why hire foreigner as draughtperson? Singapore Poly no longer produce draughtperson or foreigner cheaper? how many nursing dipolma gradutes are produce a year, why there always shortage of nursing staff? one of the reason is low pay and long working hours, so many just work a few years then apply to be singapore girl as apparently SIA prefer its flight crew to be CPR trained. Maybe that explain why the standard of SIA girls at the look dept went south over the years.

akunei

There is one important difference. Singapore is just a larger boat and the smaller boats bring people from all over to climb aboard this boat. Now the boat is getting overloaded. The Captain says we can in some more because they pay good money. What do we do? If we take in anymore, the boat is going to sink.

Fook Seng San,

Many years back, our government launched a campaign of 2 is enough. Many years later , it has changed to the more the better. The simple reason could be our population is shrinking and this is hurting our economy. Just take a good look at Japan now.

If you keep on harping on overloading issue, this is a separate matter that need to be tackled on through improvment on infrastructure but not venting your frustration on FT.

in Hong Kong, it is known that the railway handles more commuters than Singapore and the service standard is also higher. This is one area that we can learn from them instead of pushing the public transport woes to FT.

akunei

It is a question of need, not want. We need FT to maintain and drive the economy of Singapore. It is a process that may caused some unhappiness to many people here which is understandable.

Its just like your father rented a room to a stranger and you feel frustrated as to having to queue up to go toilet everyday and having a stranger in your house. You are worried that he may steal your things and stare at your little sister. You dislike the smell of the food that he is cooking and the tone of the voice when he talks on the phone. As time passes by, you even started to dislike the way he looked. Maybe over one or two little incidents you started having arguments with him and u feel like kicking him out of your house.

Very sad....isnt it....?U only see one side of the coin

Fook Seng

eatshitndie said:
as part of the homo sinkie evolution program that will take place at tekong, new immigrants will learn:.

How do you know so much sucking your lobster's legs in Fisherman's Wharf?

Fook Seng

eatshitndie said:
sg is not a boat. she's a 3-dimensional island habitat. various species, evolved homo sinkie or otherwise, can stack on top of each other maximising use of limited space. next on the plan is 4-dimensional use of the habitat using time division and phase shift techniques. 1 quarter of the population can be shipped out for 6 months to neighboring johor to idle, and while this unproductive lot is shifted out, many more from outside can take their place and fit right in. it's called over-subscription. sg will show the way to the world that 4-dimensional over-subscription will work. :p

I have to repeat it again. Act where your mouth is. Move back. Singapore needs you.

Fook Seng

akunei said:
Fook Seng San,

Many years back, our government launched a campaign of 2 is enough. Many years later , it has changed to the more the better. The simple reason could be our population is shrinking and this is hurting our economy. Just take a good look at Japan now.

If you keep on harping on overloading issue, this is a separate matter that need to be tackled on through improvment on infrastructure but not venting your frustration on FT.

Take a look at Singapore. To have a population growth of 26 % in 10 years is not exactly sign of a shrinking population. You must be listening too much to people selling Koyok.

Don't talk about rail infrastructure. Among the newest in the world and yet could not make it to work properly. Don't just think it is a technical problem, a lot more to it.

bushtucker

No it isn't. Stop being so dramatic. The infrastructure is creaking at the moment but once things are sorted out, it will be fine.

A year ago, my server was dying from the load. Now it's running well. All it took was a bit of investment.

I don't see SMRT investing more money and resources in preventive maintenance of trains and railways. Or maybe they need a year to recover or at least iron things out?

Fook Seng

akunei said:

Yes very sad. You only see one side of the coin - the overall GDP but not the well being of its citizens. But it is understandable, ministers' bonuses are measured against GDP.

I asked a question once. What was Singapore trying to develop when we embarked on this liberal immigration
policy - a population that has a distinct Singaporean character or a large hotel with guests coming in and out, some staying longer, some shorter but all doing their own thing oblivious of the others around them. Now I know the answer.

Liquigas

In the small little company that I work, there a Pinoy receptionist, two PRCs admin staff and another Pinoy doing higher level job. The IT staff used to be a Pinoy but was replaced recently by an Indian. The manager is Malaysian. Now all these positions surely can be filled with locals, right?

ZorrorroZ

In the small little company that I work, there a Pinoy receptionist, two PRCs admin staff and another Pinoy doing higher level job. The IT staff used to be a Pinoy but was replaced recently by an Indian. The manager is Malaysian. Now all these positions surely can be filled with locals, right?

my company has 4 singaporean directors, 1 singaporean manager (me) and 9 foreign staff (3 pinoy and 6 PRC). I am quitting end this month... so another 1 singaporean less.

crackhead

my company has 4 singaporean directors, 1 singaporean manager (me) and 9 foreign staff (3 pinoy and 6 PRC). I am quitting end this month... so another 1 singaporean less.

don't sound right...what type business you guys in? how did your bosses get the quota for the FT with so little locals?

Fook Seng

crackhead said:
don't sound right...what type business you guys in? how did your bosses get the quota for the FT with so little locals?

We should all ask the Govt but it would be futile because it will not give their reasons for approval or rejection.

Char_Azn

In the small little company that I work, there a Pinoy receptionist, tEther wo PRCs admin staff and another Pinoy doing higher level job. The IT staff used to be a Pinoy but was replaced recently by an Indian. The manager is Malaysian. Now all these positions surely can be filled with locals, right?

There is a difference between availability and the right person for the job. The IT insanitary it's a tight market, always have been. I've been in this line so many years, the one thing that haven't changed is the number of ft in the industry. I was competing with ft for jobs since before locals were complaining about ft. And the thing is, finding an it job is still never difficult simply because there are still more jobs then available workforce. I see many off my peers changing jobs every year yet never had an issue with lack of opportunity. I am sure other jobs are similar. We all know there's a chronic shortage of workers in industry like construction, healthcare, etc

It is a question of need, not want. We need FT to maintain and drive the economy of Singapore. It is a process that may caused some unhappiness to many people here which is understandable.

Its just like your father rented a room to a stranger and you feel frustrated as to having to queue up to go toilet everyday and having a stranger in your house. You are worried that he may steal your things and stare at your little sister. You dislike the smell of the food that he is cooking and the tone of the voice when he talks on the phone. As time passes by, you even started to dislike the way he looked. Maybe over one or two little incidents you started having arguments with him and u feel like kicking him out of your house.

A father that uses his brains will not rent out his spare rooms to a stranger knowing that it'll only cause many inconveniences to his family members.. The money from the rent may be good but the happiness and privacy for his children will comes first for a father with a common sense..

The PAP is like a father with no brains and is only interested in raking profits at the expense of the privacy and personal happiness of his children..

Very sad isnt it..??? You and the PAP only see one side of the coin..

Char_Azn

A father that uses his brains will not rent out his spare rooms to a stranger knowing that it'll only cause many inconveniences to his family members.. The money from the rent may be good but the happiness and privacy for his children will comes first for a father with a common sense..

The PAP is like a father with no brains and is only interested in raking profits at the expense of the privacy and personal happiness of his children..

Very sad isnt it..??? You and the PAP only see one side of the coin..
The father is bringing more income to ensure the entire family have a better future. The loser of a son should learn something call tolerance and patience. Its obvious that this kind of loser son will never succeed in life. Its the dads job to whack some sense into him

Armoney

If they are highly educated or have specialized skills, they are likely to bring a lot of value to our economy.

Raiders

The father is bringing more income to ensure the entire family have a better future. The loser of a son should learn something call tolerance and patience. Its obvious that this kind of loser son will never succeed in life. Its the dads job to whack some sense into him

There was no need for the father to bring in the extra income as the son is brining in enough bacon to feed the family. But because the father is greedy and wants to fatten his pocket, therefore opening the main gate of the house to the unwelcome tenant. The father and it's blind supporters need to get their head checked.

Spock

I've said my piece many times over. We are all immigrants. The only difference is the date of arrival.

What right do the earlier arrivals have to condemn later arrivals when they were in exactly the same boat a generation or two ago?

09-08-1965. SG became independent. The inhabitants attain the right to decide their own destiny and when they want to stop becoming an immigrant nation and which immigrants to let in. End of story.

The only issue right now is the 60-40 split on the decision. Civil war will settle it.