• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

World Cup 2010 Forecastology

I believe US can fight back :)
Michael Bradley, the coach's son has just scored for USA to make the score 2-2.
The moral of the story is that if you want your son in the team, make sure he can score important goals.
Are you listening Fergie? (who had his son in the Man Utd team many years ago)
Of course, the moral of this story is meant for everyone.

... The moral of the story is that if you want your son in the team, make sure he can score important goals. ...
applied 2 son-in-law oso ... ask maladona ...

Excerpts from Dutch camp

"People who know me know that I concentrate on my team and I don't make adjustments based on our rivals. We have to play the way we know how and make the most of our chances.'' - Van Marwijk, Netherlands coach

I like :D:D:D:D

"Tomorrow we are going to win, we know they (Japan) are a strong side and the last time we faced them, they made us work hard, especially in the first half. But lots of players eat sushi in our team and we hope we will have them for dinner tomorrow.'' - Dirk kuyt

Dunno what type of sushi Kuyt talking about, LOL :D:D:D:D

Tomorrow we are going to win, we know they (Japan) are a strong side and the last time we faced them, they made us work hard, especially in the first half. But lots of players eat sushi in our team and we hope we will have them for dinner tomorrow.'' - Dirk kuyt

Hope he eats sushi, whatever type, not his words. :D

Anyway, think you can postpone your swimming lesson. England's opening 20 minutes versus Algeria is worst than Germany versus Slovenia just now.

they shld field matthias,rudi voller and klinsmann,never expect Duetschland to miss penalty,kns,sia suay!:rolleyes:

tis german team is nowhere near dose a decade + yrs ago ...

cunt score fr set pieces ... cunt score fr penalty ...

ah beckenbauer wil cum out n thunder oredi ...

but tink dey wil qualify 2 nex round ...

Alamak, i thought can give England another chance, piangz, faltered again. Capello said the ball is unpredictable, why he sent Crouch? why still no Joe Cole? wah lau eh.....
-_-"""

After the Germany-Serbia massacre, herd breathed a collective sigh of relief that they mostly stayed out of the USA-Solvenia and Engaland-Algeria matches. The new gospel being spoken in whisphers is: BUY CONTRARIAN.

If you are an old leathery odds hunter like me, you will know that contrarian streaks come and go. While improbable, they are not impossible. When it happens, the value bets will swing to the favourites for a short period of time.

Tomorrow might therefore be a golden opportunnity for Orange fans to buy their team at sexy odds. Will give a more detailed assessment during the mid day market update.

Incidentallly for those new to odds hunting, noon is an important time to do an assessment. This is because the European markets are still sleeping. The bet patterns will therefore mostly reflect the sentiment of Singapore punters.
Unlike the global stock markets, the European markets don't start biz at 4 pm. The market usually starts to come alive at around 2 pm.

For this world cup, another important time is 1730 to 1830 when Pools starts to "close the books". This refers to the process of reducing the risk exposure to a match that is acceptable to the risk parameters set for a match. This will usually take the form of giving sweetheart odds to entice punters to buy the positions that are not wanted. Here 1730 to 1830 is a rough guide and it depends on the bet flow for the day. If the bet flow is tilted to one side (due to herd stampeding), they will start to close earlier. On days like yesterday when the bet flow was slow, they might not even need to do anything as risk exposure is already what they wanted.

The odds in the 1 hour leading up to the match are what odds hunters call dead odds or center odds. The quote is right in the center as they have just balanced the books and do not want to take in any additional large positions that will mess up the risk exposure going into the match.

"Tomorrow we are going to win, we know they (Japan) are a strong side and the last time we faced them, they made us work hard, especially in the first half. But lots of players eat sushi in our team and we hope we will have them for dinner tomorrow.'' - Dirk kuyt

Japan played a defensive game against Cameroon. The expectations are they will adopt a similar strategy against Netherlands.

Kuyt's suhsi remarks are part of the mind game to tell Japan that Netherlands will be playing a strong attacking game, which makes sense given the paper disparity between the 2 sides.

Interesting question - Why is Kuyt hinting at what Netherlands will do given that it is the expected strategy for Netherlands? Is there a secret plan B?

My hypothesis - Netherlands is trying to set Japan up. They will start off the match slow and PRETEND to be off form like the recent favorite teams. Their plan is to hope Japan will take the bait and launch an attack. This will open up the Japanese defence for Netherlands to strike back via a quick counter attack. If it works, we should see a quick goal in the first half of the match.

If Japan doesn't take the bait after the first 10-20 mins, Netherlands will then launch an all out attack and try to overcome Japan by brute force.

My hypothesis - Netherlands is trying to set Japan up. They will start off the match slow and PRETEND to be off form like the recent favorite teams. Their plan is to hope Japan will take the bait and launch an attack. This will open up the Japanese defence for Netherlands to strike back via a quick counter attack. If it works, we should see a quick goal in the first half of the match.

If Japan doesn't take the bait after the first 10-20 mins, Netherlands will then launch an all out attack and try to overcome Japan by brute force.

LOL, i like you, up your points tonight, just gave to jw5 :p:p:p

It is true there is such a thing called 'continental form'.

Asia & Americas (especially S. America) have played well so far. Europe & Africa kenasai.

Europe in the pits. Other than false dawns shown by Germans & Dutch in their first game, almost every European bigwigs have suffered here in S. Africa. Germany(0-1), Spain(0-1), England (0-0), Portugal (0-0), Italy & France no need even to comment.

Host continent Africa not far behind.
Once a refreshing breeze of fresh air, now Algeria, S Africa, Nigeria & Cameroon are jaded & lethargic.

On the other hand :-
Asia's Japan, N & S.Korea have shown guts & fight.

S America - Argie, Brazil & Uruguay all done well.

N America - Mexico, USA also doing fine.

Interesting World Cup so far ......

Today is the day for redemption, we will play a good match against Japan tonight!!!! :D:D:D:D

2-0 is enough for me :P

I can't BELIEVE I actually woke up at 3 am
to watch that sorry-half-farked performance!
Not a single player out there ( yes, you too Big-mouth Rooney)
performed at even half their ability!
Just an absolutely disgraceful from performance
from Capello's so-called Golden Generation!
Perhaps all of them need a Golden Showers from me!!:mad:
England so far has no attacking edge,
worse on the pitch than those French Frogs!!:eek:
And i swear if Capello picks Heskey for the next game agst Slovenia,
i gonna throw my bottle of Jim Beam at the TV set.