• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Workers Party, Puppets/Cowards or the People's party?

Perspective

I think few people observed that it's not so much about how talented Chee was or whether it was right to bring him in. It was how he was pushed up as A-SG in such a short time simply because of a few criterias. That would boost anyone's ego. Also, Chee had ambitions, but he did not effectively create discord between Chiam and the rest of CEC. It was in lieu of his position that gave the CEC a headache. I mean, which party would take on his A-SG by censure? Finally, I think Chiam lost respect of the rest the most when the man he brought in and pushed up with praises and aggressive promoting to CEC, he now wanted the CEC to censure. As a CEC member if I were, I would have been put off with the fickleness and being led by nose. I wouldn't want to be anyone's puppet, less so when the puppetmaster keeps changing direction and wanted me to follow. Then we have Wong, Ling types and the rest is history.

@rmadill0

I guess I might be a bit harsh to push all the blame to Chee for Chiam's exit but I would also not buy into the idea that Chee has played no part in it.

yellowarse

Hi,He did not turn his back on the SDP. When we were forced to leave, our hearts were filled with anguish."

What the SDP website did not make clear was that it wasn't Chee who wanted Chiam out — in fact he tried several times (even going to his house) to persuade Chiam to stay — but slimeball seniors like Wong Hong Toy, Ling How Doong and Cheo Chai Chen who manipulated the ouster.

Interesting insight. It is plausible and certainly not out-of-character for Chee to have done that.

Nice-Gook

Boy,am I am bemused.Every PAP apologist , IB dog and Sylvia Lim supporters got into this bandwagon that Chee betrayed his SG ah?
But what gets quietly buried is the brutal betrayal of Low backstabbing JBJ--,his mentor and WP SG.

Is LKY any holier?....why don't you guys read about Ong Eng Guan.A guy whom lau Lee used to introduce as the future prime minister of Singapore.

Than there is Sylvia defending ISD arbitrary arrests at IBA facing JBJ and Dr.Chee and justifying PAP bankrupting opposition politicians....to add to the circus within WP one of it's election candidate actually came publicly that he voted for PAP ! ...thia bo?

Excuse me folks,I must go and puke somewhere.Writing about politics is nauseating.

Perspective

I guess I might be a bit harsh to push all the blame to Chee for Chiam's exit but I would also not buy into the idea that Chee has played no part in it.

Chee of course was a catalyst, but a catalyst is not a cause. By cause it means you are the sole reason and the one who led the incident.

One thing about Chee is certainly the ambition and desire for office. No one would take up such a high post of a party represented in parliament less than 6 months after joining. In the end, you didn't have enough acumen to carry it.

Nice-Gook

The Workers’ Party was founded by Singapore’s first Chief Minister David Marshall in 1957 and thereafter went into limbo ,sort of speaking......and Marshall left politics in 1963.It was JBJ who took over this 'sick party 'and blew life and ‘revived’ it in the 1970s....and whaen JBJ won the Anson seat in 1981 ; he was first to break PAP monopoly and suffocating grip on local politics.JBJ again won in 1984, thereby denting the PAP’s absolute majority in parliament.In 1988, the Workers’ Party under the astute leadership of JBJ came closest to anybody else to winning a GRC when the trio of Francis Seow, Lee Siew Choh and Mohammed Khalid Baboo won 49.7 percent of the valid votes in Eunos GRC.

A marvel by any standard or measure.Against this back drop that Low Thia Kiang creeped into politics under the patronage of JBJ.And won his first election in 1991.....ridding on a good 20 years of goodwill built on the backbone of JBJ.....and yet !

In his speech on the launch of the Reform Party, JBJ told Singaporeans in no uncertain terms to “go to Low Thia Kiang” if they are “happy with the status quo.”

Why?

Because a vote for WP is a vote for the status quo,--- meaning that nothing will ever change in Singapore as Low Thia Kiang under the chairmanship of Sylvia Lim sued for compliant, non-confrontational and most importantly silent opposition party in our pseudo parliament.

@rmadill0

Because a vote for WP is a vote for the status quo,--- meaning that nothing will ever change in Singapore as Low Thia Kiang under the chairmanship of Sylvia Lim sued for compliant, non-confrontational and most importantly silent opposition party in our pseudo parliament.

Try telling that to the majority of the Aljunied GRC residents. They voted for the WP and did they get status quo? Stop deluding yourself.

Their style is the most acceptable among Singaporeans who wanted more oppositions into the Parliament. The fact that there are 6 elected MPs and 2 NCMPs from WP speaks for itself.

WP haters can go one corner and cry for all I care.

Nice-Gook

Try telling that to the majority of the Aljunied GRC residents. They voted for the WP and did they get status quo? Stop deluding yourself.

Their style is the most acceptable among Singaporeans who wanted more oppositions into the Parliament. The fact that there are 6 elected MPs and 2 NCMPs from WP speaks for itself.

WP haters can go one corner and cry for all I care.

Har,we have a statistics freak here meh.Okie dokie,you see Suharto's "festival of democracy" always won him his elections .So did Sadam Hussein .Fair and square har?

And 40% voted against PAP in GE 2011.....that should be 39 opposition MPs out of our 87 MPs in our parliament.So you are extremely pleased with 6 MPs as opposition just because they are with WP?

WP or SDP,heck I care not too much.....but if WP hoots that their 6 represents the entire 40% of disenchanted lot than we better cry.

The system is such that, even if WP averaged 40% all over Singapore, there's neither legal claim nor obligation to represent that 40%, only in those constituencies that they actually won above 50%. Reverse example is, George Yeo and his team also scored above 40% in Aljunied GRC, but the one that scored above 50% was LTK and his team and they won and represent the GRC. The party with more than half of the seats in Parliament forms Government and they represent Singapore on national and international levels except for constituency matters in constituencies won by opposition.

Keep harping on the percentage to representation ratio is in vain in whatever system. In non-constituency nationwide PE, TT could win Presidency by just 35%. Why don't you go and hound TCB for having given him 34% or TJS for having given him 25% that they're useless in any presidential matters after you gave them your votes?

There's no such thing as perfect political system. When the side you supports loses, blaming your side or blaming the system leads nowhere unless you're prepared for and have the manpower for uprising. Even in US system, George Bush Jr. got below 50% popular votes but above 50% electoral college votes, he could become President. Such is the US system. Al Gore fought hard for the electoral vote count but once it was there, he conceded defeat. That's gentleman. That's democracy. Not after losing, blame people, blame system, blame earth and heaven.

Nice-Gook

Yipeee,I was kind of expecting some idiot to rebut my post on number crunching and sure enough one walked right in .....don't fools tread where angels fear?

I don't blame him,he must have thought all this % crunching must be quite straightforward and not some quantum mathematics,which actually is physics.Let us not burden their brain too much hor.

Okie,let's crunch some numbers here.....sort of statistics for dummies.Majority wins that's the rule of democracy,right?Than can 75% vote 14% Malays to eat pork?....or 89% of Chinese and Malays vote Indians to eat beef?Hey,pork and beef are perfectly legal meat mah.So what's the beef here?(pun intended)

This is where minority/majority tyranny kicks in.Rephrased you simply cannot act suka suka just because you are numerically superior even vote wise.That's what the spirit of a parliament system is all about...where ideas clashes.Parliament is not where winners take all neither is a presidential system where the senate provides the check and balance.Whereas as in Singapore where 30% to 40% of disenchanted voters were continuously denied a voice in the parliament for the past 50 years; in the name of democracy....Than something is seriously wrong with the system.The system PAP devised.The system which Sylvia Lim is happy with the status quo.

You cannot just throw some simple arithmetic and say that's how people voted.Because that exactly what Marcos,Suharto and Saddam Hussein also said too.

liongsum

But why has the public been led to believe he is a psycho or good for nothing? He doesnt seem to be painted well in the Opposition.

Many heartland uncles and aunties do not like JBJ. They trembled when he goaded the establishment to name the (your) enemies.

psy83

Surely a delusion. Heartland aunties and uncles far outnumber the online community.

Singapore has one of the highest internet penetration in the world... But by Voicing out, I would say that the online community did have a more larger responsibility for the voicing out, Since taking note that MSM does not talk about issues that put PAP in negative light.. I dont mean that those online voted for opposition and off-line people voted for PAP. There is more intelliengt talking online then off-line where the aunties/uncles tend to be kiasi talking about politics on the street.

You cannot just throw some simple arithmetic and say that's how people voted.Because that exactly what Marcos,Suharto and Saddam Hussein also said too.

You cannot just throw in a few names of tyrants into the equation. Singapore system is nothing like Philippines, Indonesia and Iraq.

Nice-Gook

Oh yah,Singapore is nothing like Indonesia,Iraq or Philippines.Their oppositions were real.

Here our Sylvia Lim is delighted with the status quo under the patronage of PAP.

Oh yah,Singapore is nothing like Indonesia,Iraq or Philippines.Their oppositions were real.

Here our Sylvia Lim is delighted with the status quo under the patronage of PAP.

Be patient. The status quo has been moved from 2(3) up to 6(9). Impatience and making noise don't accelerate but impede.

Nice-Gook

Be patient ?....have I not heard that before ?

Yah,it was Lau Lee...and fifty years had already escaped us--weren't we patient !...Had PAP outsourced it's propaganda unit to WP?